Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oscar win for Irish short film Stutterer

• 01-03-2016 6:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭

Benjamin Cleary, who wrote, directed and edited the film, accepted the award with producers Serena Armitage and Shan Christopher Ogilvie, and director of photography Michael Paleodimos.

The foursome were the only Irish nominees to take home Oscar glory following a record number of nominations this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Punkyblip

Brilliant, great to see Irish talent shining through.

It's nice, but in recent years there is a tendency in the news here to view the Oscars almost entirely through the prism of Ireland. As in "there were 2 Irish nominees for Oscars, one for best handling of a boom during a live panel show and one for best washing of the lead actors clothes". Nothing wrong with giving the Irish angle, but not as the beginning, middle and end...and tacking on a "oh and best film was such and such".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

If that was the ending they screwed it up.Who got hit with the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Don't forget Irish Oscar winner Brie Larsson! The news really playing that up as an Irish Oscar win. She won Best Actress. Sure the movie has Irish roots and productions but claiming that award as Irish in anyway is pathetic and the exact type of thing we'd give out about if the British did it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

kneemos wrote: »

It really seemed like that was going to happen didn't it?

Would have been a terrible ending but I did expect it at one point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

Caught this last night on RTE. Nicely done, but I too expected the tragic ending as is often the way with Irish short films!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

Edit: D'oh

Why was he wearing a tan jacket when hit by the car?He had a black shirt on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Watch it on the RTE Player instead :)

maudgonner wrote: »
    Watch it on the RTE Player instead :)

All I see is a News report.What am I missing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

No offense to the OP, but that youtube version is not the genuine film. It has been edited (and not for the better IMO).

I know the ads on the RTE player are a pain in the hole, but watching it there will mean good viewing figures and more likelihood of RTE supporting short films in the future. A bogus youtube link is not going to reward the people who made this at all.

Here's a link to the RTE site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

Ah, sucked in by ****ty link, off to RTE player with me

Having watched the proper version on RTE player (people really do have too much time on their hands making "fake" versions of things), I really liked it. Shows the inner turmoil well, I particularly liked the inner voices getting louder and less and less positive the closer he got.

Well done to all on the Oscar win, hopefully a launchpad for all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭AlexisM

Had to laugh when one of the guys was asked where he would keep the oscar - 'in the 'aul pair's gaff'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,707 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Mod:

I removed the video from the OP as it allegedly contain spoilers. OP can PM me to clarify the contents of the video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

I caught this on TV the other night and thought it was brilliant, watch it on RTE Player...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 soundcrowd

biko wrote: »

Not cool nor funny. A stammer is an awful affliction. I'd expect better from a mod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,782 ✭✭✭SmallTeapot

maudgonner wrote: »
    No offense to the OP, but that youtube version is not the genuine film. It has been edited (and not for the better IMO).

I know the ads on the RTE player are a pain in the hole, but watching it there will mean good viewing figures and more likelihood of RTE supporting short films in the future. A bogus youtube link is not going to reward the people who made this at all.

Here's a link to the RTE site.

Thanks for the link...just watched it there, and thought it was excellent. Fair play to Benjamin Cleary :D

soundcrowd wrote: »
    Not cool nor funny. A stammer is an awful affliction. I'd expect better from a mod.

Actually Paul Boross who wrote the song suffered from a stammer so he's allowed write a comedy song about it if he wants and it's not offensive at all.

It's like someone in a wheelchair making jokes about their disability or Sacha Baron Cohen pretending to be a black person...... oh wait, forget that last example.

AlexisM wrote: »
    Had to laugh when one of the guys was asked where he would keep the oscar - 'in the 'aul pair's gaff'.

The lads with the hipster beards?

It sounds exactly like what a guy with a hipster beard would say.

How on earth is someone saying "auld pair's gaff?" something a hipster would say rather than something anyone else would say?

They had hipster beards alright but that makes no sense what you've said.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    How on earth is someone saying "auld pair's gaff?" something a hipster would say rather than something anyone else would say?

They had hipster beards alright but that makes no sense what you've said.

Ach.

Beards.

I just know they wouldn't say "our parents house". Call it intuition. Not one of my friends would ever say "the auld pairs gaff", but then again they don't...try so very hard...

Which one of them surfs in Clare?

Ach.

Beards.

I just know they wouldn't say "our parents house". Call it intuition. Not one of my friends would ever say "the auld pairs gaff", but then again they don't...try so very hard...

Which one of them surfs in Clare?

And they won an Oscar too. Sure all the hipsters are doing that.

I get it. You don't like beards. But you're really stretching to tie in every single thing he said to how he looks.

Aul pair's gaff was a common phrase among the southsiders long before hipster was a word.

It'll be a phrase long after you've got another word to use to describe people you don't like for boring reasons, don't worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Ah so what, they're excited.

They'd just won an Oscar. Have you ever one won one?

murpho999 wrote: »

Also only one of them is Irish. People seem to think they're brothers or something.

murpho999 wrote: »

3 actually, 2 for my work with the Coens and 1 for the True Romance score.

I used to be a hipster, but winning the Oscars meant that ended, you can't be both.

3 actually, 2 for my work with the Coens and 1 for the True Romance score.

I used to be a hipster, but winning the Oscars meant that ended, you can't be both.

Does a hipster display his Oscars?Bet he does.

He wears them on a necklace or turns them into a bike lock for his fixie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 soundcrowd

Actually Paul Boross who wrote the song suffered from a stammer so he's allowed write a comedy song about it if he wants and it's not offensive at all.
    Well I've a stammer and remember being offended by that song. Some people can be a bit more sensitive I appreciate but it wasn't nice hearing it when I was a kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

Really don't get tbe hype about this at all. I know it's not a popular opinion, but it was very average. And predictable.

It's all about the feels man.

Scriptwise it's really well put together.

He doesn't labour points, allows the audience to make the connections themselves without spoonfeeding them. Also it's well performed and shot.

Good solid shorts aren't that common even though you'd think they should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

it was good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

Scriptwise it's really well put together.

He doesn't labour points, allows the audience to make the connections themselves without spoonfeeding them. Also it's well performed and shot.

Good solid shorts aren't that common even though you'd think they should be.
    I appreciate your opinion, but deserving of an Oscar? I don't believe so.

I kept waiting for it to get better.

Still, great for Ireland.

I appreciate your opinion, but deserving of an Oscar? I don't believe so.

I kept waiting for it to get better.

Still, great for Ireland.

Not sure if it deserves an Oscar myself but then again the Oscars pick some odd shorts sometimes. The thing is though - have you seen a better short in the past two years? They're thin on the ground.

I think for instance it's far far better than this Irish short which was nominated for an Oscar a few years back (ignore the Youtube title - it was only nominated):

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

After watching the short film I think you're right, that was a bit intensive and I'd like to apologise to stutterers.

Well I've a stammer and remember being offended by that song. Some people can be a bit more sensitive I appreciate but it wasn't nice hearing it when I was a kid.

I was just seeing if you'd change your tune if you thought the guy who wrote it had a stutter. He didn't as far as I'm aware - I can't imagine anyone who wrote a song like that has experienced stuttering.