Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is There Much Of A Price Difference Between Big & Small Fertiliser Bags?

• 27-02-2016 11:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭

We have a very old Lely spreader (pretty similar to this http://www.carlsmithllc.org/uploads/3/4/3/4/34344477/1262249_orig.jpg). It wouldn't be big enough to hold a full big bag I don't think (600kg?) But I'm wondering am I losing out on a few quid by not buying large bags? I'm sure if it came to it I could find a way to siphon the fertiliser out of the big ones and not spill any:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

mikefoxo wrote: »
    We have a very old Lely spreader (pretty similar to this http://www.carlsmithllc.org/uploads/3/4/3/4/34344477/1262249_orig.jpg). It wouldn't be big enough to hold a full big bag I don't think (600kg?) But I'm wondering am I losing out on a few quid by not buying large bags? I'm sure if it came to it I could find a way to siphon the fertiliser out of the big ones and not spill any:P
    Just cut a hole in the side of the bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I don't actually think there's a price difference anymore .
    Wasn't there a yoke posted here lately that screws into the big bag and has a valve to stop /start letting the fert go . Sorry I have no link

td5man wrote: »
    Just cut a hole in the side of the bag.

How is the plasterer meant to use the bag for sand again if ye boys are ruining them !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Bullocks wrote: »
    How is the plasterer meant to use the bag for sand again if ye boys are ruining them !

We'll empty a few with a bucket someday we've nothing else to do.

td5man wrote: »
    We'll empty a few with a bucket someday we've nothing else to do.
    Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Always about the plasterers :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

From what I remember there's about 15 quid a tonne difference

ganmo wrote: »
    From what I remember there's about 15 quid a tonne difference

Was thinking there had to be with the bags and all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

mikefoxo wrote: »

No difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

Bought small ones last year for a bit I had rented to save bringing out a loader. Absolutely no price difference. I did have to order them in advance though cos the merchant does not stock any great quantity of them at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,804 ✭✭✭kk.man

Doctors don't come cheap.. Neither does back pain....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

About 325kg

kk.man wrote: »
    Doctors don't come cheap.. Neither does back pain....

I was going to say alright that the big saving is not having to lug bags over the side of the spreader

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

I was going to say alright that the big saving is not having to lug bags over the side of the spreader

True, but if you don't have a loader, buckets can be a slower job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Saw a 2016 pricelist for fert recently in local coop branch. Quoted in €/tonne. No difference if in big bags or small. Only cash collect or credit and delivery had different prices. Heard of a few lads cancelling full artic loads after hearing of merchant 15 miles away was doing better deals.
    Coop made no effort to hold the customer by dropping price. New management and new motto here. Take it or leave it.

Saw a 2016 pricelist for fert recently in local coop branch. Quoted in €/tonne. No difference if in big bags or small. Only cash collect or credit and delivery had different prices. Heard of a few lads cancelling full artic loads after hearing of merchant 15 miles away was doing better deals.
    Coop made no effort to hold the customer by dropping price. New management and new motto here. Take it or leave it.

Ah sure they'll go far