Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bulletproof Born to Run Workshop?

• 20-02-2016 8:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭

Anyone have any experience with this? 300 yoyos is fairly saucy...but it is over 2 days

I had heard of one of the coaches before though, Paul Tierney, who does seem to be the real deal
    http://www.the42.ie/paul-tierney-lakeland-100-2235913-Jul2015/

http://www.eventbee.com/v/ausphysioltd/event?eid=180341202

BTR BULLETPROOF RUNNER WORKSHOP:

Learn about the 'software' and 'hardware' problems that are affecting your running skill and how to apply the appropriate running drills needed to fix them.
    The idea that running is a skill (which can be improved) is the foundation of the BTR coaching system. By adjusting the three fundamental 'micro-skills' of POSTURE, RHYTHM and RELAXATION we can dramatically influence the 'macro-skill' of running, creating a 'better' runner by improving the biomechanics associated with improved efficiency and reduced risk of injury.

Running Faster and Further - learn how to apply the forgotten science of elasticity and the lost art of the 'recovery run' to your training and begin to unlock your full potential for speed and endurance
    Once the fundamentals of running technique have been mastered it is time to develop the runner's physiological capacity for running faster and/or further.
    Running faster requires running specific strength development ie training the neuromuscular system to cope with the increased forces and reduced contact times associated with increased running speeds. This type of strength training is based on developing the elasticity and reactive ability of the neuromuscular system and should be the foundation of all running specific strength programs.
    Running further requires a specific approach to metabolic conditioning that is based on increasing the mitochondrial density of the running muscles and improving the function of the physiological systems that maintain the delivery of glucose and oxygen to the mitochondria during prolonged endurance running.
    Running Pain Free - learn what causes the five most notoriously stubborn chronic running pains and how to prevent them and manage them if they occur.
    Chronic musculoskeletal pain is invariably caused by an 'energy crisis' in the neuromuscular system. An 'energy crisis' occurs when muscles become 'over- worked' due to poor technique and overtraining or when muscles become 'under-energised' due to a lack of recovery or inadequate nutrition. The most common manifestation of an energy crisis in runners is the formation of focal points of tenderness or 'trigger points' in the muscles most involved in the running action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

frebel wrote: »
    Anyone have any experience with this? 300 yoyos is fairly saucy...but it is over 2 days

I had heard of one of the coaches before though, Paul Tierney, who does seem to be the real deal

Learn about the 'software' and 'hardware' problems that are affecting your running skill and how to apply the appropriate running drills needed to fix them.
    The idea that running is a skill (which can be improved) is the foundation of the BTR coaching system. By adjusting the three fundamental 'micro-skills' of POSTURE, RHYTHM and RELAXATION we can dramatically influence the 'macro-skill' of running, creating a 'better' runner by improving the biomechanics associated with improved efficiency and reduced risk of injury.

Running Faster and Further - learn how to apply the forgotten science of elasticity and the lost art of the 'recovery run' to your training and begin to unlock your full potential for speed and endurance
    Once the fundamentals of running technique have been mastered it is time to develop the runner's physiological capacity for running faster and/or further.
    Running faster requires running specific strength development ie training the neuromuscular system to cope with the increased forces and reduced contact times associated with increased running speeds. This type of strength training is based on developing the elasticity and reactive ability of the neuromuscular system and should be the foundation of all running specific strength programs.
    Running further requires a specific approach to metabolic conditioning that is based on increasing the mitochondrial density of the running muscles and improving the function of the physiological systems that maintain the delivery of glucose and oxygen to the mitochondria during prolonged endurance running.
    Running Pain Free - learn what causes the five most notoriously stubborn chronic running pains and how to prevent them and manage them if they occur.
    Chronic musculoskeletal pain is invariably caused by an 'energy crisis' in the neuromuscular system. An 'energy crisis' occurs when muscles become 'over- worked' due to poor technique and overtraining or when muscles become 'under-energised' due to a lack of recovery or inadequate nutrition. The most common manifestation of an energy crisis in runners is the formation of focal points of tenderness or 'trigger points' in the muscles most involved in the running action.

Not to be harsh but it sounds like a crock to me. A lot of big words without saying much at all. Really overselling it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

Join a running club for a fraction of the price and get 3 pairs of runners with the change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭frebel

Yeah, fair call from both of ye....was looking for mobility classes online and stumbled on this ... the more I read it, the more it seems to be over complicating simple stuff ... not sure how they'd get 2 days out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

The training logs on here are free. Pick a good one or two and read it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭demfad

Yeah, fair call from both of ye....was looking for mobility classes online and stumbled on this ... the more I read it, the more it seems to be over complicating simple stuff ... not sure how they'd get 2 days out of it

You cant really evaluate it by reading a blurb. I'd agree with a lot of what the blurb said BTW, but you need to read testimonials or talk to individuals who have done the course, especially at that price (which was why you posted here I guess).

What exactly is it you're looking for?

I would consider ringing the course organiser and having a chat. His achievements are significant. There are also courses and classes down in Wicklow on natural movement that a few here have done and recommended I believe if its more convenient for you. http://www.championseverywhere.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,180 ✭✭✭✭event

Werent they in Star wars?

1. Pop his name into athlinks.com and you will see that he has run a 2:48 marathon before he started on the longer stuff.
    2. He has years of S&C, good diet,proper sleep,recovery behind him from GAA.
    3. Clearly a dedicated person if he is able to train at both sports to a good level.
    4. The race he won had 300 in the race.
    5. If your target is marathon or under there is nothing to suggest he is better than your local good club runner. Perhaps he can help you with the longer stuff.
    6. 300 euro is a lot of money. Would probably get you 6 months individual training plans from a sub 2:20 guy.
    7. There is no substitute for hard work. There are no short cuts not that this guy or OP is suggesting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Enduro

rom wrote: »
    4. The race he won had 300 in the race.

The race he won is the most prestigous trail ultra in the UK. It was an extremely impressive result, to say the least. The race has a limit of 300 entrants and sells out in minutes. It's massively oversubscribed.

Paul is someone I've raced with and against many times over the years. I don't know too much about the course being given, but what I do know is that
    (1) He is the real deal
    (2) He is boardsie :)
    (3) people he works with include Rob Heffernan's S&C coach, and a medal winning member of the Irish Cross country team.

Enduro wrote: »
    The race he won is the most prestigous trail ultra in the UK. It was an extremely impressive result, to say the least. The race has a limit of 300 entrants and sells out in minutes. It's massively oversubscribed.

Paul is someone I've raced with and against many times over the years. I don't know too much about the course being given, but what I do know is that
    (1) He is the real deal
    (3) people he works with include Rob Heffernan's S&C coach, and a medal winning member of the Irish Cross country team.

I've only raced against him a couple of times and never spoken to him in person but I'd echo that. Ive noticed and followed his achievements and am aware of the people in his network and you don't win the race you mentioned without excellent preparation, training and knowledge.
    he seems to be an excellent communicator too, which is key.

The course seems to be part of an international based course and the OP could look for testimonials and perhaps would o well to have a chat with the man himself to see whats on offer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Needwerk Errors

Might look into this for Sparta. Hoping to be the first ever barefoot finisher and this sort of workshop could help.

(1) He is the real deal
    Ok hands up I was wrong about the race. Talk about an Endursement :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Hemerodrome

rom wrote: »
    6. 300 euro is a lot of money. Would probably get you 6 months individual training plans from a sub 2:20 guy.

What does being a sub 2.20 runner have to do with coaching abilities? Being fast means they figured out how to get the best out of their talents, that doesn't necessarily translate into an ability to help other runners get the best out of their's. It's also quite likely they had a coach to do that, a coach who wasn't them. Across all sports, there is no automatic connection between personal performance and coaching performance. I'd pay 300 quid for a proven coach before I'd pay it for a proven runner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

(1) He is the real deal

It still reads like a bit of a piss take. There is no point in throwing in lot of big words and complicated phrases just to impress people, that is my issue with it, it could mislead beginner runners into paying for something they might not need.

As the old saying goes, if you can't explain it using simple language, you don't understand it well enough. This for example:

That's a long and pointlessly convoluted way of saying your muscles get sore if you do too much, too soon. The rest is just grammatical fluff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Enduro

pconn062 wrote: »
    It still reads like a bit of a piss take. There is no point in throwing in lot of big words and complicated phrases just to impress people, that is my issue with it, it could mislead beginner runners into paying for something they might not need.

As the old saying goes, if you can't explain it using simple language, you don't understand it well enough.

Like I said, I didn't know too much about the course. Hence I haven't commented on the course itself. I do know about Paul though, and I'm more than happy to say that he is the real deal.

I've done a little bit of reading around to make this reply, and the course looks pretty interesting to me. I suspect that beginner runners are more likely to get more out of it, as they are far less likely to have ingrained bad habits/running (That's just a personal opinion and no more). I do agree that the description would be better if it was rewritten in straighforward non-jargoned language.

The course seems to have been created by a guy called Lee Saxby who is headcoach with Vivobarefoot amongst other things. Testimonials from his site HERE.

He appears to be a leading expert in barefoot running and seems to have informed and trained current Irish based natural movement coaches.

I wouldn't have that much issue with the scientific language. If for e.g you claim to be able to show someone how to avert or manage chronic muscle pain then you first need to be able to demonstrate that you understand why, where and how the pain manifests itself not just THAT it manifests itself.
    The potential client is presumably looking for biomechanical expertise to improve their running. Not unreasonable for such a business to ham that a little, provided they can back it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

demfad wrote: »
    I wouldn't have that much issue with the scientific language. If for e.g you claim to be able to show someone how to avert or manage chronic muscle pain then you first need to be able to demonstrate that you understand why, where and how the pain manifests itself not just THAT it manifests itself.
    The potential client is presumably looking for biomechanical expertise to improve their running. Not unreasonable for such a business to ham that a little, provided they can back it up.

But that synopsis basically reads like an intro to a science based running manual

To summarize:

- Running drills
    - Plyometrics (not sure how this is a lost art mind you as it is a key component to many runners training)
    - Recovery run - Making sure you are keeping easy days easy
    - Strength and conditioning
    - Aerobic development
    - 5 most common beginner injuries
    - Overtraining

Suddenly this convoluted paragraph reads like most running explanation websites or manuals. How these are achieved? no indication is given however to do any of these topics full justice would require a bit more than a weekend workshop.

My advise to the OP would be to try and find someone who has done the course before and get feedback. This course could be good but from the convoluted description of what is effectively the generic basics to running there is really no information given on the courses unique selling price other than the price tag.

But that synopsis basically reads like an intro to a science based running manual

To summarize:

- Running drills
    - Plyometrics (not sure how this is a lost art mind you as it is a key component to many runners training)
    - Recovery run - Making sure you are keeping easy days easy
    - Strength and conditioning
    - Aerobic development
    - 5 most common beginner injuries
    - Overtraining

Suddenly this convoluted paragraph reads like most running explanation websites or manuals. How these are achieved? no indication is given however to do any of these topics full justice would require a bit more than a weekend workshop.

My advise to the OP would be to try and find someone who has done the course before and get feedback. This course could be good but from the convoluted description of what is effectively the generic basics to running there is really no information given on the courses unique selling price other than the price tag.

It has been suggested already to the OP both to seek these testimonials and to talk to Paul Tierney who is giving the course in Cork.
    Again I don't have much problem with the language for the reasons I've already stated. I wouldn't necessarily agree that your conventional summary is consistant with what would take place in that course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭jfh

any feedback on this course?