Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time - Flies By

• 17-02-2016 10:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,458 ✭✭✭

Just noticing some accounts on here from the late 90's and early 00's and got me thinking.. wtf, some of them will have been registered on boards for 20 years soon enough.

I was very young back in them times but I do remember them fairly well i.e. the dark times of dial up internet etc.

Also, thinking back to times like 2008 - feels like only 2 or 3 years ago but it's feckin' 8 years ago now!! Madness..

Anyone else not realise how quick time has gone by until they sit back and try think about it?

I remember being a kid and in September Christmas would feel a lifetime away, these days I look at 2-3 years and I say to myself that it will fly by, and it usually does.

Obviously time is all relative and there is still instances in life where you think it's taking an eternity!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

It's like water in the bathroom sink. The closer it gets to the plughole, the faster it spins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,877 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I tried to time flies. But the little b******s were too quick for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

The theory is quite simple.

I'm 47. A year is nothing to me. It's just a 40/7th of my life so far.

To my 10 year old daughter it's a whole TENTH of her life!

So to her a year seems forever.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Not for me for some reason. Time runs at the same speed as it always did and a year is a bloody long time.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

It's continuously been feeling faster every year for me.

I have no clue where the last year went?!?!

What did I even do?!?!

*checks down the back of the sofa* If I left it anywhere, it's gotta be down there! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,828 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

The dark days of dial up Internet... The immeasurable suffering caused by dial up, so many families torn apart over how long someone may spend on the internet and how it may affect another persons ability to use the phone. Try tellin' that ti young people of t'day and they won't believe ye.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Stinjy

I agree! Time has definitely sped up since I've left college. Like I say to someone that I did something last year and when I actually think about it I realise it was about 5 years ago. Madness really. I think there's a fast forward button somewhere !

chops018 wrote: »
    Anyone else not realise how quick time has gone by until they sit back and try think about it?

I remember being a kid and in September Christmas would feel a lifetime away, these days I look at 2-3 years and I say to myself that it will fly by, and it usually does.

Obviously time is all relative and there is still instances in life where you think it's taking an eternity!

You might find this interesting OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

nullzero wrote: »
    The dark days of dial up Internet... The immeasurable suffering caused by dial up, so many families torn apart over how long someone may spend on the internet and how it may affect another persons ability to use the phone. Try tellin' that ti young people of t'day and they won't believe ye.

lol! I was around way before even TV so dial up was a sheer miracle.. and it stopped nasty incoming calls too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Takes my breath away how little time is left of my life...so precious..

It seems like both to me; if I just think of it really quickly, 2008 only seems like 4/5 years ago maybe but then if i *really* think about it, I can acknowledge that 7-8 years have passed since then. This *is* a topic that crosses my mind a lot though - I feel my mind rejecting the thought that the year 1990-something/2000-and-somethinhg was x years ago. 2007 being 9 years ago is the most mind-boggling to me! It will be 2030 before we know it and then we'll *really* be in the future :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

My wife used to see a massage therapist who was also into some of that new-agey stuff. She was convinced that time was speeding up. Not appearing to go faster, literally that days and months and years were getting shorter. She put forward a number of theories for this - the earth was spinning faster, the earth was orbiting the sun faster. Or that time itself was just moving faster (like a tape on fast-forward).

Obviously I explained that if the rotation or orbit of the earth had changed we would have noticed pretty much straight away, and even if "time" was on "fast-forward", we wouldn't notice any difference in the passage of time because we are part of space time, rather than being outside looking in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

The 4 weeks before Cheltenham still seem to take an eternity to pass :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

If time is going to fast then you should go space travelling. Time moves slower in space, and the faster you travel. Thanks Einstein!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Is this the new maths they're giving out about on another thread?

It's extraordinary how fast time flies. And, for the first time in my life since my university days, money is not the most important thing. The health of your children and partner put everything else into second place. One sick child changes everything and makes you far more grateful for all the things you have taken for granted. Time is also much, much more precious not least because you don't have simple things like a few hours extra in bed.

I just watched One Million Dubliners last night (the documentary about Glasnevin cemetery). It started off and continued to be very, very interesting. The philosophies of the man in the crematorium and other workers about death were disturbing, even if they spoke the truth. I suspect it will get more uncomfortable for me as I get older. As my 82-year-old father put it the other day "You need a lot more courage these days."

Above all else, what a hugely, hugely tragic ending for a documentary. You felt like you knew Shane Mac Thomáis. Death really does give perspective on everything. Utterly final. And life, if we're all just worm food at the end? It seems increasingly as pointless as Sisyphus being condemned to eternity to push that rock up a hill only to watch it roll down each time (with apologies to Camus's positivity).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Technically a 40/7th of your life would be 8 years, 8 months or so - so no wonder that seams like a while to your daughter.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Menas wrote: »
    If time is going to fast then you should go space travelling. Time moves slower in space, and the faster you travel. Thanks Einstein!

Only looks like that to outsiders - to you, the traveller it's business as usual unfortunately:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Only looks like that to outsiders - to you, the traveller it's business as usual unfortunately:mad:

Its all relative!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I think someone on here used that analogy before (may have been you) and it really explained it quite succinctly to me and it makes total sense.

I remember when I was younger all the things you'd look forward to would drag their way to you (trips to see Liverpool play, summer holidays, Xmas), now, I've experienced it all, there's no real excitement left for anything as it's all been done before.
    As well as that my schedule is packed solid too, work has milestones on projects that come thick and fast, every working day is jammed packed. After work is spent doing some for of activity and most of the weekend is too. This means the time actually does fly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Fleawuss wrote: »
    Is this the new maths they're giving out about on another thread?
    Technically a 40/7th of your life would be 8 years, 8 months or so - so no wonder that seams like a while to your daughter.:D

Ah Poo!:mad:

There's me, in my advancing years trying to impart my experiance & wisdom gained over almost half a centuary to the kids.

And what do the little fcuckers do?

Nitpick the whole job with their wherewithal & their finery.

Feckers the lot 'o ye'.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Slydice wrote: »
    It's continuously been feeling faster every year for me.

I have no clue where the last year went?!?!

What did I even do?!?!

*checks down the back of the sofa* If I left it anywhere, it's gotta be down there! :)

15 years dude... Fifteen years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

This reminds me of a chat I had lately with a mate about Conor McGregor. McGregor mentioned he started training seriously in 2006 or thereabouts. I thought to myself, ****, look at how far this guy has come and what he has achieved in so short a time. He's now king of the hill in his sport. My mate just goes - yeah but that's 10 years ago now dude! The guy was a pimply kid back then too. In 2006! Which is like only yesterday for everyone else too right???

Mind blown.