Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eircoach

• 15-02-2016 9:06am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭

This is prob more Dublin related

How come nearly every near miss or close encounter i have with a vehicle on the city roads is a blue speeding eircoach.
    Seeing as they have wifi on board i wonder would the company have gps tracking showing the buses speed.
    Matthews are almost as bad.Dublin bus is 50/50.

Im going to consider cycling in the middle of bus lanes for revenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

drdeadlift wrote: »
    This is prob more Dublin related

How come nearly every near miss or close encounter i have with a vehicle on the city roads is a blue speeding eircoach.
    Seeing as they have wifi on board i wonder would the company have gps tracking showing the buses speed.
    Matthews are almost as bad.Dublin bus is 50/50.

Im going to consider cycling in the middle of bus lanes for revenge.

If you are having constant near misses with coaches and buses then you should be doing this as a matter of course and not for revenge..

I am guessing you may be talking about Whitehall/Drumcondra area as you mention Matthews. Where are these incidents happening??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,624 ✭✭✭Macy0161

When my commute was the Rock Road, the vast majority of "too close for comfort" passes were aircoaches. Now I'm on the N11 it's more Wexford Bus. Order for me is AirCoach -> Wexford Bus -> Other Private operators -> BE. Dublin Bus I've always found ok tbh.

The only option is to take the lane, particularly when you're on the inside of static traffic.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,085 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Revenge?
    I know how you feel. I'm on the N11 for the last 20 years. It's nasty but revenge.
    You wont win anything.
    You have to accept it. It can be tight but you wont "shoulder" a bus out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭nak

Make a complaint to the company - I lodged complaints with Bus Eireann and Dublin Bus in the past and they were taken seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Koobcam

Trouble with bus lanes is when you stick a cycling lane on top of it, there isn't enough room for the bus to pass. If the driver wants to get anywhere fast, they have to stick their wheels in the bus lane rather than the lane of traffic. I generally try to stay as far away from buses and other tall and long vehicles as possible. If there's a bus coming behind me while I'm on my bike and the road ahead is looking too narrow for the both of us, I'll just over out so there isn't space for them to pass and move over again when there's a properly wide bus lane for them to use. Let's face it, we're stuck with badly designed cycling infrastructure and just have to make the best of it-and you're never going to win an argument with a bus, you'll just end up dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yep, Aircoach I've always found to be the worst for it; drivers pass too close and too fast.

Interestingly I've been doing more driving into work out of necessity for the past couple of weeks. This has involved a lot of time on the N11 where the aircoach operates and I've noticed this isn't limited to cyclists. In general they seem to be more aggressive and pushy around all traffic, quick lane changes, tailgating, etc. I imagine the drivers are probably under some kind of bonus/incentive scheme to stick to the timetables, which is what causes them to take more risks.

My experience with these guys is that cycling in the middle of the bus lane won't help that much. They'll still do a squeeze overtake at the earliest opportunity. Where DB & BE will hold off behind you until there's a proper gap. Though at least if you're in the middle of the lane you still then have the extra safety space on your left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I had a Wexford coach pass within touching distance on the N11 flyover and then pull in right on top of me as we both approached the red light. Got the fright of my life. I moved in front of the driver, looked back at him and got a finger pointing in the direction of the cycle path.

Wrote to the company and highlighted the behaviour and that it wasn't for their drivers to police the roads, and that they might want to brush up on mandatory cycle lane changes.

No reply.

Would be nice to highlight this thread to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

nak wrote: »
    Make a complaint to the company - I lodged complaints with Bus Eireann and Dublin Bus in the past and they were taken seriously.

I did this with Aircoach a couple of years ago when passed inappropriately on Strand road coming up to one of the mini roundabouts. When I passed the bus later near Eastlink he coincidentally washed the windows as I went past.

I complained via email about the close and dangerous overtaking (not about the getting wet bit!) and got a call back from the operations manager who knew the drivers name and said he would have a word with him. It was a very civilized conversation but it appears that Aircoach are by far the worst when it comes to this type of behavior.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭gizmo555

nak wrote: »

Wouldn't it be better to make a complaint (and keep making complaints, if it keeps happening) to the Gardaí?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,624 ✭✭✭Macy0161

seamus wrote: »
    Interestingly I've been doing more driving into work out of necessity for the past couple of weeks. This has involved a lot of time on the N11 where the aircoach operates and I've noticed this isn't limited to cyclists. In general they seem to be more aggressive and pushy around all traffic, quick lane changes, tailgating, etc.
    I'd agree with this too - both Aircoach and Wexford Bus, it's not just cyclists. They're pretty wreckless with cars too - for example if they come up behind a Dublin Bus stopped (like at the top of Mount Merrion), they'll force their way in on top of cars without much regard for any road users. They're the same the right out on the N11 around Kilmac in the mornings too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

gizmo555 wrote: »
    Wouldn't it be better to make a complaint (and keep making complaints, if it keeps happening) to the Gardaí?
    In theory, but the odds of it going very far with the Gardai are quite small. Unless it's a very serious incident, the Garda may not bother chasing up the operator for the name of the driver, or it might not come up for weeks, etc.

At least if you make the complaint directly to the company, one would hope the driver will hear about the complaint within 24 hours and at the very least will be aware that his behaviour is being highlighted.

If the same driver is continually having people complain about him, the company will eventually have to do something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

Take the word revenge with a pinch of salt :)

Have been cycling in the city for about 15 years.I was on the way to the gym last Saturday and both on the way there and back i had to near passes with eircoach buses.
    It wasnt that they were too close but the speed they were moving at left for no errors on my behalf.

seamus wrote: »
    In theory, but the odds of it going very far with the Gardai are quite small. Unless it's a very serious incident, the Garda may not bother chasing up the operator for the name of the driver, or it might not come up for weeks, etc.

At least if you make the complaint directly to the company, one would hope the driver will hear about the complaint within 24 hours and at the very least will be aware that his behaviour is being highlighted.

If I was as concerned about it as the OP - justifably - is, I'd be inclined to complain to the Gardaí every time, and let the company know I'd made the complaint. You can be sure the company would not want to be the subject of repeated formal complaints to the Gardaí and it would certainly encourage them to take effective steps to sort out the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,065 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

drdeadlift wrote: »
    ... i wonder would the company have gps tracking showing the buses speed....
    They do - the position of each coach is displayed (or at least it used to be) on a screen at the stand in the airport. (If a driver diverts off the official route, the supervisor can be aware of it. I don't think it displays actual speed).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭C3PO

I actually rang Aircoach last week to complain about one of their coaches on the Rock Road which passed me at speed literally within inches ... frightened the life out of me!!
    I was assured that somebody would come back to me ... surprise ... surprise ... nobody has!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

From my experience, the Gardai do not care. On two separate occasion the Gardai in my local station told me that if I have not been hit, then there's nothing they can do. When a motorist assaulted me, the Gardai said that as I am not injured, they won't take it any further... :eek:

I had an incredibly scary experience with Aircoach on the rock road back in 2013, and another with DB about 2014 (forget the times). I emailed Aircoach explaining what had happened, that I am incredibly visible and I am very tired of their buses passing too fast and too close. The first customer service rep apologised on behalf of the company and escalated the complaint to the manager who sent me the following;

Good Afternoon Xavier,

Thank you for your email received on Tuesday 17th September 2013 .

May I , on behalf of Aircoach , extend an apology to you for the road traffic incident which you encountered on Tuesday evening , 17th September 2013 at approx 18.30 , as you cycled southbound along Rock Road , Booterstown .

This is normally a heavily trafficked and busy road , in both directions , at that time of day and your presence would have been clearly visible , given that you were wearing a hi-viz coat and your pedal cycle was equipped with lights .

We will bring this matter and your safety concerns to the attention of the Aircoach driver , who , in this instance , would be very familiar with many and similar road circumstances and situations , with cyclists and coach / bus traffic sharing limited road lane / cycle lane availability while overtaking ---- the coach driver involved , will wish that his apology is extended to you .

We wish to thank you for contacting Aircoach in this regard ; we are sorry to have caused some concern and we wish to reassure you that Aircoach drivers are always conscious of the necessity to remain aware of cyclist and pedestrian traffic proceeding in close proximity to bus / coach traffic .

Your message is important and we wish to thank you for your positive observations and recommendations .

With Thanks and Kind Regards ,

Joe Blogs,

Customer Services Manager ,

From my experience, the Gardai do not care. On two separate occasion the Gardai in my local station told me that if I have not been hit, then there's nothing they can do. When a motorist assaulted me, the Gardai said that as I am not injured, they won't take it any further... :eek:

I wouldn't necessarily disagree with you as far as the Gardaí are concerned, but one would hope the bus company would take it more seriously if they are the subject of repeated formal complaints to the Gardaí.

Maybe get onto the Road Safety Authority too? They have a role in the licencing of Road Passenger Operators.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Wouldn't it be better again to have a helmetcam, and be able to show the video to the Gardai?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I had an aircoach tailgating me coming along the N11 this week. It was an uncomfortable experience to say the least.

I am not even sure he realised the stupidity of his actions. I was heading townwards and on the bus lane, hitting 50+kmph, I could feel the bus behind me and when I looked around he had slammed on his brakes as he approached (sudden deceleration relative to me) and his front bumper was less than 12 inches away from me, he kept it up for a few seconds. I had nowhere to go, so I indicated out and waved him backwards, which to be fair he responded too, and backed off. I just can't understand what he was thinking. he would have been pulling in, before the next traffic lights and we would never see each other again but if I had a flat or had to emergency brake, he would have been straight over me, best I could have hoped for was that I fell towards the footpad.

Wexford coaches are still by far the worst on average, Aircoach second worst, saved by a few decent and respectable drivers, with BE being generally good bar the 133 and DB being the most considerate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

The world needs more commuter-cam warriors and disgruntled internet posters. ( There's never enough sarky ones, though :pac:).

Dublin Bus has a few keen riders among its ranks, at A4/ A3. Perhaps that's the way to for private coaches? Cycling Ireland and some forward thinking LBS could give discounts for drivers to start riding..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

Even driving I find aircoach terrible. I hate being in a car near them. I had a little chuckle seeing one pulled in by the guards on the m1 a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

I take Wexford Buses a lot, and there's one driver I know is pretty temperamental and doesn't really give a fiddlers about the rules of the road. Counted about 10 broken red lights or dodgy amber gambles on one trip to Dublin. The rest are excellent in my experience.

RainyDay wrote: »
    Wouldn't it be better again to have a helmetcam, and be able to show the video to the Gardai?

Absolutely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Puggy

I normally use Gilette Fusion. But lately I've discovered Aircoach and Matthews, the closest shave a man can get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭dermabrasion

I was on the AirCoach coming around trinity onto Nassau street. There was pedestrian on the left side of the road where there was railings protecting the Luas works. The Air Coach took a narrow arc at the apex of the corner and pinned the pedestrian back into the railings. I held my breath in anticipation of hearing the screams of him being crushed by the bus. I don't know how he did not, to this day.
    Bus driver looked bemused when I told him he nearly killed someone. I am expecting to read on boards or stickey bottle that there has been a fatality caused by these company's reckless attitude to everyone else.
    As far as revenge, I just get out of their way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

Cant comment on eircoach close passing but there sound lads for getting the bike around the country used them a few times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,317 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

Tackled an Aircoach driver for almost squeezing me off the road in College Green a few years ago. He was adamant that he could go as close to the kerb as he wanted to unless there was a marked cycle lane. Bizarre!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭dermabrasion

Boycott them. And if you feel strongly, let friends know why you have arrived at that decision. It the only way companies give a crap.