Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Black and Decker Workmate ?

• 15-02-2016 1:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭

I bought mine in the early eighties. I could about use a fresh one now.

Trouble is, the reviews all seem to be saying the contemporary models aren't worth a light? Thin tin? I've even heard of them being delivered in a load of bits. Instructions for fitting them together being a nightmare?!

I'd like one in the same style as my original. The Dual Height one. I'd like it to come ready to use. Quality more important that cost.

Any whispers ....? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,096 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I have one, (B&D single height) it is essentially clutter but occasionally useful as a spare surface when everywhere else is covered in 'stuff'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Aah, see; I'm so used to working with mine now. I used it as a general work bench cum vicey thingy. I'm also used to the step up. With a single level, I'd find my leg sort of stepping air. Or trying to get my knee up to where it just won't go any more :(

Am I missing something here? Or is all Eire jealously clutching their older Workmates to their chests? I can't seem to find a sniff of one on the usual, second hand gear sites. I'd as soon buy an old one, second hand, as a new one that'd collapse on me.

I want it for using my power tools. Had to chop a length or re bar into ten bits, the other day. 9" grinder. It's the crouching on the ground. Can barely breathe! Wears me out.

At my stage in the game, tools are bought to take the work out of a job. Why pump sparse and tired muscled limbs, when ye can press a button?! And just standing there beats crouching. Believe me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Bosch? I have a 'Chequered' history with them. When all's said and done though? I'm happy with my Zanussi washing machine. And I have, personally, came down on the side of Hitachi power tools.

WM825 looks like the baby, for me. I just wonder about the quality of it? Though it won't need to last any where as long as my original. I, sure as hell won't! :D

See how the Bosch baby would leave my left leg flailing around, still? The WM's step certainly helps. It's something I look for now.

I'm also ~ sorry, but; Just a teentsy bit wary of that ground level kick and trip bar. On the floor level, right where ye feet are, on the Bosch :confused:

Just my personal observations, from stuff on my computer screen.

Still like to hear from active users :)

Sorry .....

515Ep3GMilL._SX300_.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

i have that one as well about ten years old and still fresh as a daisy. I had to get another one recently and its not worth a shoite. It does the job but i cant see it lasting 2 years working, very tinny and weakly made. Had to put it together meself with no instructions. Its made by blackspur, but i didnt want to go paying 150 euro for a brand name when all i have its a months work for it.

kupus wrote: »
    i have that one as well about ten years old and still fresh as a daisy.

Oh well, that's it then! Off to Woodies I shall go, at the end of the month :)

Blackspur? The Lidl of the tool world :rolleyes: Saying that though, I do have a rake of their " Four Tier Black Heavy Duty Plastic Strong Shelf Units " and I can't recommend those too highly!

Cheap as chips. Light as a feather. But, they do a damn fine job in my work room. I have four of them now. Get some more, presently.

Cheers for the input lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

LIDL have a generic-brand workmate this week for 14.99
    http://www.lidl.ie/en/Offers.htm?id=718

Just FYI. I'm not recommending. Or dissing.

Dear god; Ye couldn't make it up, could ye? " Pro Quality " at under €15.00!

How would ye fancy one of their power saw blades, spinning inches from ye nads? I mean; Nothing's gonna come off, is it? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Stigura wrote: »
    Dear god; Ye couldn't make it up, could ye? " Pro Quality " at under €15.00!

How would ye fancy one of their power saw blades, spinning inches from ye nads? I mean; Nothing's gonna come off, is it? :eek:

The saw blades aren't too bad. got an 80t for my mitre saw and it works fine, it's a tungsten tip blade with a CE mark made in Germany so it has to meet the same standards as a Bosch or other one.

The 'workmate' is a different story, I got one for the craic and you get €15 worth.. grand for cutting a bit of wood on but so is a deckchair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

I have one of the "newer" generation workmates (albeit 10 years old at this stage), not a patch on the models from the 70s but can be improved with a little DIY. After a few year's use, wear and tear had taken their toll so I had to replace the top on mine. I used the rubbish particle board as templates to make new ones from some marine ply scrap I had lying around (doubling up the thickness near the clamping edges). A few of the original spot welds had failed and had to be re-welded also but the finisheed job was far sturdier than when new. I'd still love to get my hands on an original though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Have a dargan tools one for the last 15 years. It's been outdoors for the last 8 months and it's still A1 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Stigura wrote: »
    Oh well, that's it then! Off to Woodies I shall go, at the end of the month :)

Blackspur? The Lidl of the tool world :rolleyes: Saying that though, I do have a rake of their " Four Tier Black Heavy Duty Plastic Strong Shelf Units " and I can't recommend those too highly!

Cheap as chips. Light as a feather. But, they do a damn fine job in my work room. I have four of them now. Get some more, presently.

Cheers for the input lads.

You'll pay more in Woodies than any other general hardware outlet.:)

I have one of the "newer" generation workmates (albeit 10 years old at this stage), not a patch on the models from the 70s .......... I'd still love to get my hands on an original though!

Exactly what I've been picking up :( Though, I'd say ten years or so of light, indoor use will about do me now. Hence I'm not being Too picky.

The originals are dead mans shed material now, it seems :(

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Have a dargan tools one for the last 15 years. It's been outdoors for the last 8 months and it's still A1 :)

Found the site. Couldn't find any benches ...

You'll pay more in Woodies than any other general hardware outlet.:)

Of which there three, in town. None stocking any sort of bench.

Looks like I'll just have to pay that €30.00 taxi fare, for the privilege of being ripped off at Woodies, Leitrim.

Thanks, Lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

you could buy online at screwfix.ie if they have any. www.ie.screwfix.com/tools/storage-workbenches/workbenches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

Pics of my modded one... Also when one of the rubber feet got lost I fitted a levelling foot for uneven floors (just a bolt with head ground down and nut welded to foot).