Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

grass measuring 2016

• 14-02-2016 5:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭

Anyone measuring yet?
    Gr of 9 here the last two weeks, the chicory looks to be doing double what grass is atm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Farm cover 980
    No Gr. Been month since did last cover
    23% grazed to date ( small bit of damage done, nothing major)
    50% calved in 1st 14 days
    No silage
    4 kg meal
    11kg grass
    Scc 215

Weighing heifers this morning before they go to grass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Farm cover 980
    No Gr. Been month since did last cover
    23% grazed to date ( small bit of damage done, nothing major)
    50% calved in 1st 14 days
    No silage
    4 kg meal
    11kg grass
    Scc 215

Weighing heifers this morning before they go to grass

Are.u able to leave them out full time or do you bring them in when grass is grazed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Milked out wrote: »
    Are.u able to leave them out full time or do you bring them in when grass is grazed?

Out full time the last 5 days. Used up all my good quality bales snd only had dry cow silage left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

You dairy lads aren't the only ones that can get cows out early!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭degetme

Lads afc standing at 440. Would ye pull the plug tomorrow? I've a high demand next spring. Three highest covers are 1100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

degetme wrote: »
    Lads afc standing at 440. Would ye pull the plug tomorrow? I've a high demand next spring. Three highest covers are 1100.

Definitely pull the plug.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Definitely pull the plug.

would I get an opening cover of 900 come 7th feb?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

would I get an opening cover of 900 come 7th feb?

You would be doing well to get to 900. Have to average growth of 5/ day from now until February, never get more than 3 over winter here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

You could well do it,
    We grew 740 kgs from 1st November to 1st Feb last year but I have loads of reseed. I hope I do it this year. Best paddocks grew 16/day

You could well do it,
    We grew 740 kgs from 1st November to 1st Feb last year but I have loads of reseed. I hope I do it this year. Best paddocks grew 16/day

What ye close at this year? Expecting opening cover?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

What ye close at this year? Expecting opening cover?

400 :(:(
    Hoping 1100
    Don't know what to expect tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

All cows off the milking block now cover only 500 usually would graze till end of November and close with a higher cover . First paddock closed 20 th sept as we would be alot further north than most Irish farms can expect feck all winter growth but will be stocked alot lower next