Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stop the Press: Woman robs €15 shoes

• 14-02-2016 12:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭

Was looking at Irishindependent.ie. Second headline today (Sunday @ 00.41) was this:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/pensioner-with-very-poor-memory-attempted-to-exchange-penneys-shoes-for-cash-34451030.html

Pensioner with 'very poor memory' attempted to exchange Penneys shoes for cash

A pensioner who tried to exchange a pair of shoes for cash has claimed she has "a very poor memory" of the incident.

Doreen McManus (67) claimed she suffers from memory lapses and can't remember why she behaved in such a manner.

Judge David McHugh fined McManus €100.

The defendant, of Sallowood View, Santry Avenue in Ballymun, admitted before Blanchardstown District Court to making gain or causing loss by deception.

The incident took place at Penneys in Blanchardstown on July 18 last year.

Garda Brian Coughlan said McManus picked up a pair of shoes, worth €15, from a shelf and tried to exchange them at the till.

She was stopped by security staff and was arrested.

The court heard McManus has 13 previous convictions, but hasn't been in trouble since 2003.

Defence solicitor Terence Hanahoe said McManus is a separated woman with two grown-up children.

Care

Mr Hanahoe said she is in receipt of a pension and also helps to care for her brother who has special needs.

Mr Hanahoe said McManus doesn't know why she did what she did, saying she has "a very poor memory" of the day.

He also said McManus has been attending a doctor due to memory lapses concerns.

Mr Hanahoe asked the judge to be lenient, saying McManus hasn't been in trouble for a long time.

So this is the second biggest news story of the day on the irish independent website - first was the rugby. Am i missing something? Some woman getting fined for trying to con Pennys out of €15? Is it a slow news day or something? Last time i looked there was an election on and this is deemed more important???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Lady had form.

But everyone deserves a second etc. chance. She got it. So what's the story now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Think it's just the courts section - I would be surprised if it made page one of the print version.
    I don't understand why tiny little incidents like this make the court pages though. The headline makes it seem as though she just brought back a pair of shoes previously bought, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭chuky_r_law

Azalea wrote: »
    Think it's just the courts section - I would be surprised if it made page one of the print version.
    I don't understand why tiny little incidents like this make the court pages though.

second story on the main page. it is part of the courts section, but where is the national interest? i can imagine it would get a mention in my local rag. probably buried somewhere in the middle of the paper.

but here is is ont he front page with a picture of this 'criminal'. unbelievable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭squadro

Ah sure Gerald kean can defend her or maybe Barry Egan can give her fab shoes an auld mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭buried

Is it a slow news day or something? Last time i looked there was an election on and this is deemed more important???

That's exactly why this story is on the front of that rag. Anything to deflect away from the fact our political system is an utter bad joke

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,402 ✭✭✭✭unkel

She had 13 previous convictions. Anyone convicted of a crime should have a chance to redeem themselves, get a suspended sentence and thus not go to prison. Anyone with 2 convictions should go to prison for a bit, with 3 convictions for a lot longer, and anybody with more than 3 convictions should remain in prison until they die.

Implement this system and you will see crime drop to near zero levels overnight...

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭chuky_r_law

unkel wrote: »
    She had 13 previous convictions. Anyone convicted of a crime should have a chance to redeem themselves, get a suspended sentence and thus not go to prison. Anyone with 2 convictions should go to prison for a bit, with 3 convictions for a lot longer, and anybody with more than 3 convictions should remain in prison until they die.

Implement this system and you will see crime drop to near zero levels overnight...

haven't they inroduced this 3 strike rule elsewhere and it has done feck all to crime stats? and would you be happy seeing this woman in prison for life for trying to nick 15 quid. surely she, and the rest of the people convicted under this 3 strikes system you want to introduce, would be too much of a burden for the state to bear. where would they put them for instance? there isnt enough prison space in this country. and where would we put the water protesters and those who dont pay their tv licences? you haven't really thought this through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

anybody with more than 3 convictions should remain in prison until they die.
    Ah here. It should surely depend on what the convictions are for also.

It was 12 or 13 years since her last conviction and she was attending a doctor for occurrences of memory loss. I'm not saying she is an angel but I think this deserves consideration of the mitigating circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

squadro wrote: »
    Ah sure Gerald kean can defend her or maybe Barry Egan can give her fab shoes an auld mention.

The bitterness is eyewatering in this one, Ted...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

Nope.

That 'three strikes then life' sentencing has been around for ages in parts of the US and is widely considered an utter failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I wouldn't try to con Penneys. She obviously bit off more than she could shoe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,495 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

squadro wrote: »

Ray D'Arcy might give her a mention in between boasting about his daughter,his father and his wife,Jenny !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Yes, that didn't result in the US having the highest prison population per capita by a massive margin at all.