Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need a loan of an Angle Grinder.

• 11-02-2016 4:03pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Being serious.
    Sons single speed locked to railings "near Dundrum" shall we say. I'm in Stillorgan.
    A small Abus d lock is holding it to railings. Oiled it. Tried spare keys etc. Slight movement from one side ie. bar moving halfway out of lock, according to him.
    Ideas? Could rent a battery grinder, such a thing?
    Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Most of the hire places will do battery angle grinders. Another option could be to put your car jack in to it and extend it for it to bend the lock and hope the lock mechanism breaks.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Heard of the car jack. And heard that there's the possibility of it, the lock, flying when it snaps.
    Dangerous?
    Thanks anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

Go tell the local guards?

I've heard that they'll help once you convince them the bike is yours and you won't get arrested for attacking a bike-rank with an angle-grinder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Planet X wrote: »
    Heard of the car jack. And heard that there's the possibility of it, the lock, flying when it snaps.
    Dangerous?
    Thanks anyway.

Yes wear goggles...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭qb123

Just go to local hardware shop and buy a hacksaw with spare blades. Probably cost €10 - €15 and a bit of elbow grease.

Should be grand. Local hire place, portable grinder about €30 for four hours. Have it booked for Saturday assuming the scallies don't have it away before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

I'm not a criminal but...if I we're I would definitely be in the market for a cordless rebar cutter.
    <iframe width="420" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/5OShxcGiJYg&quot; frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭youtheman

Would a battery operated grinder also get a lock/chain off a wheel clamp?. Maybe one should carry it in the boot of one's car !.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

youtheman wrote: »
    Would a battery operated grinder also get a lock/chain off a wheel clamp?. Maybe one should carry it in the boot of one's car !.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/3112670.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,902 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I used a car jack before, do it slowly and you'll be grand takes seconds

For sure?
    I'll have a look at the jack this evening. No harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭youtheman

ford2600 wrote: »

That's a big 'f*ck off' engine driven unit. I was wondering if the likes of this would do http://www.ie.screwfix.com/hitachi-g18dsl-l4-4-angle-grinder-18v-bare.html .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

qb123 wrote: »
    Just go to local hardware shop and buy a hacksaw with spare blades. Probably cost €10 - €15 and a bit of elbow grease.

Yep, a hacksaw will should get you through a u-lock. Have had to resort to this a few times over the years when keys have been lost or worse, snapped off in the lock.
    It's only when you try to remove a lock for a genuine reason that you realise how little protection they really give you if somebody is at all determined/prepared in trying to steal your bike.
    Portable angle grinders and bolt-cutters have also made things a lot more difficult.
    Best to have keys with you as some form of evidence/argument to teh lock is yours if gards or helpful do-gooders ask any questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭mugsymugsy

Happened to me once at a train station. Went in asked did they have anything they had some bolt cutters. Tried cutting the d lock no joy. Then went back in and asked could I use them as a sledge hammer they said we are not saying no but not advising it.... I then proceeding to give the lock a couple of smashes and lock came away. No one said anything to me as I smashed a lock from a bike in broad daylight by a busy rail station! Best of luck op!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

MOD VOICE: I think the OP is solved, lets not have a thread on the best and easiest ways to rob a bike. Would recommend telling the local Gardai. Sin e.