Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feb 27th Forum meetup

• 09-02-2016 2:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭

Hi guys. I bumped into one or two of you at the weekend and we talked about having another forum meetup so.....let's see if there's interest!

For anyone who has yet to come to one, they can be great fun. You don't have to be out, or go anywhere you don't want to! We meet in a general pub for a pint and a chat! People are free to come for whatever part of the night and for as long as they want.

I know for myself it can be a great opportunity to meet other guys and girls in similiar positions!

Anyway, I'm all for one in for Feb. given it's still relatively early. Anyone any ideas? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭playedalive

Hey,

Brilliant idea to keep these going Ash. It's been well over a year since I've been to one and would be cool to meet up with others for a few drinks and chat.

On the back of what Ash has said, I cannot stress how thankful I am for these meetups. It definitely helped me to normalise everything in a nice casual way. So, out, not out, female, male, you get what I am, pop along. :)

Are you thinking end of feb Friday or Sat 26th/27th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I cant do February. March would suit me.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭El Diablo Blanco

I cannot stress how thankful I am for these meetups. It definitely helped me to normalise everything in a nice casual way.

Just recently out, myself, so this is exactly what I'm after. Definitely up for a meetup if one's in the works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Ash885

Great stuff! Always nice to have new people come. And of course bring a friend or three if you can and all. Anyone else any interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Tony91

Sounds great, depends on the date for me tho. Any date in mind?

I went to my first meetup just before Xmas and had a great night. Highly recommend it guys and gurls :)

If it were the 26th of Feb., I'd be there. March is a little bit of a hectic month for me so I couldn't commit to anything at the minute, but if someone else were to then plough on ahead. I'd rather it go on with a successful number than just to suit me!

So shall we do a vote. Saturday 26th Feb would suit me perfectly. Since it's end of month and payday for those in employment, it could work. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Uberbeamerman

I'd definitely be up for another one alright, Feb 26th would suit as well

I cant make Saturday 27th but if it suits everyone else go ahead

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

I cant make Saturday 27th but if it suits everyone else go ahead

After seeing this, double checked and saw that 27th feb is indeed a Saturday. Would a Saturday be best for all? :)

Saturday's fine for me, yeah :)

So how about getting a list going just to get an idea of numbers for Saturday Feb 27th:

1. playedalive

2. El Diablo Blanco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Tony91

I'll be in Dublin this Saturday alright, I'm not sure if I'll make it to Sweetmans tho as I have something already planned. I'll be out that night tho and hopefully see you guys for a pint at some point.

1. playedalive
    2. El Diablo Blanco
    3. Ash885 + friend (hopefully!)

That's grand Tony. Most likely end up in Panti and the George anyway so give me a message if thats where you're ending up too!

Come on guys and gals, it'll be a fun night! ^^'

Hope it goes well

Terry Pratchet

Still time for people to sign up. And even if you don't, feel free to come anyway! Just gives me an idea how many scarves I have to place on chairs to keep them free!

Guys, gals of all ages!

Is this still going ahead, guys? Is there a time/place set?

Guys I am sick in bed so not a chance I'll make it tonight. I'm really sorry :(. Hopefully we can do this in march

Sorry to hear that - get well soon

Ah that's a shame! Well I'm up in Dublin for the night anyway. Suppose will head in for a few pints with mates in that case. All welcome though. But thibk it's just you and me El 😂

March sometime?

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Well, feck! I just got wind of this tonight after the fact.
    Always the last to know these things. Anyways, if ye all decide to have a meetup sometime in March before or after Paddy's day, that'd be awesome. I haven't been to the George in over a year and I've yet to see the caberet in Pantibar.
    Time to keep a closer eye on this forum!

March sometime?

Maybe start on this asap, so people can plan around it and get momentum behind a date.

Ash885 wrote: »
    Maybe start on this asap, so people can plan around it and get momentum behind a date.

March 26th?

Terry Pratchet

March 26th?

Looks like end of March is out for me as I'll be away but do go ahead. Hopefully sometime this year I'll make an appearance. I'll keep an eye on the forum. :)

Sorry I couldn't make it, I was looking forward to going but was struck down with the flu :/ Might be in Dublin next weekend if anyone's about?

Do you mean the 5th or the 12th?

Terry Pratchet

Do you mean the 5th or the 12th?

5th, just said I'd mention it if anyone was about