Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking for Something Quickish, Under 6k and... Petrol

• 08-02-2016 9:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭

Hey all,

So it is starting to look like I might need to buy a car quicker than I was expecting. I had been holding out for a nice 1.8 MX5 (NB) or something else that might be a bit quicker and bigger (along the lines of a nice Subaru Legacy B4 RSK). However, it now looks like I won't be able to hold off much longer so I'm looking for suggestions for something nice.

Ideally, I am looking for something sporty or at least quick-ish. The budget is a maximum of 6k and I am leaning towards petrol as I will only have a 40 mile round trip every day.

Finally, because I need the car in a hurry and want to have some assurances I would prefer to go with a dealer, which is probably going to be the main hurdle. I might consider going private if the car was known to people on here or part of a owners club or something but because I will need the car for work and I don't have a whole lot of time to get it fully checked out right now, a dealer is probably the best bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Quickish petrol. Why not subaru impress wrx.

I own one ( it's for sale right now) for over 3 years and it's brilliant when it comes to power and living on day to day Base. Very reliable too if you get the right one. On top of that boxer engine sound which is orgazmic. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

E90 320i?
    6K should get you a MK5 GTI too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Honda S2000 but as you want it for an everyday car maybe you are looking for something a little softer to live with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Mk5 GTi is a good call if you need a bit of practicality. You'd get a nice late mk1 TT too if practicality isn't a thing. A friend is selling this, not many about but €6k would definitely lift it and it's a great car http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/10553010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Astra opc and focus St would be good choice too. Still practical cars.

Mx5 is awesome op, but be prepared to love with two seats.
    In a way it's blessing as you won't need to give spins home to people as there is only space for your girlfriend/boyfriend :pac:
    And a curse when you actually need that extra 2 seats and you will need to do few runs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭farna_boy

Thanks for all the replies!

Had a quick look for insurance for the WRX but it seems a bit high.

I'd love an s2000 as well but I'm not sure if I would get one for 6k. Even at that do you have to drive it hard to get the performance out of it or is it still fast at lower rpm?

I have been keeping an eye out for an Astra OPC or even the Focus ST but I don't think there are any around right now. I actually hadn't thought of the Golf at all so might look a bit more into that but I wonder what the insurance would be like.

I would really love an MX5 but as ye said I am wondering about the practicality of only having two seats so I am just trying to see if there is anything else out there right now that could keep me ticking over til the right one comes along.

Actually took a few cars for a spin over the weekend, including an E90 320i which was surprisingly nippy. It's definitely on the short list at the moment and the insurance seems grand too.

Took a Volvo S60 2l Turbo out as well but it didn't seem as fast as I would have thought looking at the specs. Not sure if it was just that one though or if they are all like that.

Took out a 03 Saab 9-3 t for a spin as well and felt very nice but I'd say it was the worst state I have ever seen a car in. For a start, it was covered in mold when I got in, but didn't mind that so much as that could probably be cleaned. Actually felt quite comfortable and faster than the E90 but I only took it for a short spin. Then I started noticing things. When I first tried the electric windows, none of them worked but on the way back all of them except the drivers window worked. I'm fairly sure the heater didn't work either but it was only a short spin so maybe it was warming up or something. When I got back though I tried to put it into reverse and the gear knob and all the surrounding paneling came off in my hand! Managed to put it back together (mostly) and tried to get out only to realise the driver door didn't open from the inside. Salesman eventually let me out, but didn't seem the slightest bit phased by any of it so I'm not sure I'll go back to them.

If I thought I could find a clean 9-3 2l t or even a nice 9-3 2l T I would be very tempted, but does anyone know if the build quality in all Saabs these days are like the one above or was it just this one?

Mk5 GTi is a good call if you need a bit of practicality. You'd get a nice late mk1 TT too if practicality isn't a thing. A friend is selling this, not many about but €6k would definitely lift it and it's a great car http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/10553010

That Legacy is gorgeous. I didn't think there were any in Ireland. Don't know how I managed to miss that one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

If you're genuine, it's worth a call, he knows he's pushing his luck at that money, he said he'd be happy to see €6k from it.

Meticulously maintained, had a bottom end rebuild last year aswell as a full timing kit and clutch kit, new oxygen sensors and a full suspension overhaul, all with genuine Subaru parts. Has upgraded STI struts, brakes and exhaust.

280bhp, 4wd and tax isn't too sticky being just a 2.0 Insurance is handy as it's not a popular skanger model.

More than a little tempted myself.

If you're genuine, it's worth a call, he knows he's pushing his luck at that money, he said he'd be happy to see €6k from it.

Meticulously maintained, had a bottom end rebuild last year aswell as a full timing kit and clutch kit, new oxygen sensors and a full suspension overhaul, all with genuine Subaru parts. Has upgraded STI struts, brakes and exhaust.

280bhp, 4wd and tax isn't too sticky being just a 2.0 Insurance is handy as it's not a popular skanger model.

More than a little tempted myself.

Yeah it's definitely got me thinking. I had a look last night for an online quote for insurance and it seems that the insurance companies are now aware of them as I wasn't able to get an online quote from anyone. That or maybe they won't quote me just because it's a Japanese import. Might try ringing someone later out of interest.

Anyone have any info on the Saabs? In particular their build quality?