Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why did the Irish fall out of love with Hector?

• 06-02-2016 12:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭

Why did the Irish fall out of love with Hector O'Heochagáin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Did we?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

That suggests we loved him in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Zaph wrote: »

i thought he was decent enough on TG4 in the early days with his travel show.

anything after than was fairly muck...that morning show on 2fm fcuk me the drivel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

He kept talking basically. His T na G stuff was good though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Because he thinks Tommy Tiernan is funny

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Because he was one of the most irritating people ever to be foisted upon us?

What do I win? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Rahoo Rahoo. He's an idiot.

the horse-racing adverts did it for me

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HxQKso_BCRE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

jetsonx wrote: »
    Nice try, Hector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Where is he at now ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

He reminded me of a wasp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

jetsonx wrote: »

He let in a goal by that Achilles fella in the 1990 world cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭Agent_47

Who is Hector?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,720 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Over exposure. When he was the odd ball you could tune into for half an hour on TG$ he could raise a chuckle. Then he got onto RTE and it was too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Tis too annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

"Keep her lit!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

He let himself gooooooooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Ok, I'm just going to come right out and say it. It's because he was and still is...a Grade 'A' prize winning wanker.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Stealthfins

I thought Brad Pitt sorted Hector out.

Google Brad Pitt hector

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

arayess wrote: »
    i thought he was decent enough on TG4 in the early days with his travel show.

l

Exactly. Really enjoyed that show.
    He was grand in those small doses but then he became ubiquitous and with that, people found out he was a bit of a knob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Yeah the TnG travel show was very good. He's got that easy, talkative patter which is great for someone continually dealing with strangers/foreigners on a tv show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

There's a "Sober Society" in NUIG these days - I saw a "Tweet" from them the last day promoting one of their events: A dance class at 6am with Hector.
    I don't drink, but if anything could drive me to it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

He just seems like a wànker. Simple as that really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

This reminds of the clip they're playing the radio ad for Zoolander 2; "Are you really asking me why I killed Justin Bieber?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

The Savage Eye making fun of Hector is really a case of the pot calling the kettle black. Both terminally unfunny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

realies wrote: »
    Where is he at now ?

He was the first of the gang to die.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

First of the gang with a gun in his hand, first to do time ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Beacause he's a spastic. Next!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I've always thought Hector was a class name since I read the whole Trojan Horse Myth as a kid

He ****ing ruined that.

I've always thought Hector was a class name since I read the whole Trojan Horse Myth as a kid

He ****ing ruined that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Zaph wrote: »

Wish I could thank this post more than once. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

He seemed like good enough entertainment back in the day on TG4. But, like most Irish things or people that seem to have an appeal of sorts, he was shoved down our throats- whether on the radio, tv, or advertising - until collectively we were all sick of the sight of him.

Turns out his charming shtick is palatable in fixed minute doses, but if it's laid on thick across every available medium in the land, well, then you just want to punch him in the face, really. Don't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Fluffy Cat 88

His "soldiers of the dawn" drivel used to drive me feckin mad!

Loved him in "Amu san Aise" on TG4 years ago though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Mycro

I thought Hector was very good on the morning radio show and I really enjoyed it. In contrast, the muppets who replaced him drive me mad they're so childish. I just can't listen to them, so I'm on another channel for breakfast now. Bring back Hector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Tá sé great craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

I think giving Ajax the sword that he used to kill himself was bad enough.But the last straw for most Irish people was starting a fight with Achilles.

.But the last straw for most Irish people was starting a fight with Achilles.

There was a pair of them in it :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's this "rural rascal" persona that he does. A few other people try it too. "Look at how Irish I am, bejaysus the shpuds and the turf and the quirky sayings that only me Mammy ever says".

It's not funny unless you're from the bog. Even then I'm sure it gets old quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

seamus wrote: »
    It's this "rural rascal" persona that he does. A few other people try it too. "Look at how Irish I am, bejaysus the shpuds and the turf and the quirky sayings that only me Mammy ever says".

It's not funny unless you're from the bog. Even then I'm sure it gets old quickly.

At least its somewhat genuine, i'd take Hector over the likes of Jennifer Maguire any day of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

glasso wrote: »
    the horse-racing adverts did it for me

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HxQKso_BCRE

No, that was hilair-he walked into the restaurant on the racecourse and said something like "Boys oh boys, I'm so hungry, I could ate a horse", we all fell around, ROFL etc.--ye see, he was on a racecourse, and there was horses there, d'ye see/ D'ye get it, like..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

When he started doing those horse racing ads I said to myself enough is enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    Rahoo Rahoo. He's an idiot.

What was that Rahoo Rahoo thing about?

Is that a Meath thing or something?