Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russian slurry tyres

• 04-02-2016 8:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭

Anyone on here know how to convert Russian tyres sizes into regular sizes? We have a belmac tanker with 1300×530-533 tyres that are coming to the end and I was hoping to get a series with ordinary tractor grips and reckon they're 23s but not sure. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Anyone on here know how to convert Russian tyres sizes into regular sizes? We have a belmac tanker with 1300×530-533 tyres that are coming to the end and I was hoping to get a series with ordinary tractor grips and reckon they're 23s but not sure. Cheers.

I think they are 21", so good luck finding a tractor tyre to fit

http://tatratruck.co/trucks/kraz.html

https://www.donedeal.ie/manurespreaders-for-sale/pair-of-russian-wheels/11324885

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I have a tanker that was converted to 18x26 combine wheels. The centre of the combine rims were cut out and the centre of the original tanker wheels were cut to fit the combine wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Replaced one lately with a new rim and secondhand tyre ,will see what size in am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭tractorporn

I have seen some 23.1 continental tyres on donedeal that came off a combine so was hoping that something like that might suit.

Stupid question I know but are the measurements taken on the wheel rim or on the diameter of the wheel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭cjpm

cjpm wrote: »

New rim and good secondhand tyre €300

cjpm wrote: »

I think so. The rims are 22.5 and having done a bit of research today more of the manufactures seem to be using these rims. Will just need to find a decent set of second hands to go on her, hoping to put 580s on her or wider if I can. Im not sure what the rim can carry yet.

You might need a rim with an offset centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

The Russian tyres can be got but are actually a few quid dearer than a replacement rim and new tyre to fit it.I'll check size in the morning.

There €750 afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

td5man wrote: »
    There €750 afaik.

Yeah something around that. I got the replacement on a new rim slightly cheaper.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

td5man wrote: »
    There €750 afaik.

Jasus, better go tidy up any bits of H iron and L iron lying around the gaff:eek:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote:
    Jasus, better go tidy up any bits of H iron and L iron lying around the gaff

Yeah a set of new BLKs 580/65-22.5 are around 2200, I found out today. I nearly pooed myself!! Will be extra extra careful from now on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

Yeah a set of new BLKs 580/65-22.5 are around 2200, I found out today. I nearly pooed myself!! Will be extra extra careful from now on!

You would buy a tank for a bit more!

My thoughts exactly have found a few second hand so hopefully I'll pick up a set cheap enough!

Will be extra extra careful from now on!

Well wasn't careful enough! One of the tyres on the tanker blew while going with a load last night! Serious hardship.

Anyone know where you can pick up a set of 22.5s on 8 stud rims second hand around the Midlands?? Pat Hinch wants 1100 for two Russian tyres the old lad nearly fainted!!

Well wasn't careful enough! One of the tyres on the tanker blew while going with a load last night! Serious hardship.

Anyone know where you can pick up a set of 22.5s on 8 stud rims second hand around the Midlands?? Pat Hinch wants 1100 for two Russian tyres the old lad nearly fainted!!

Did you get sorted yet?

blue5000 wrote: »
    Did you get sorted yet?

Not really cant find anything local, there's a lad in Ballinamore has a set of 8 studs for 500 so I am hoping to get up there sat for a gawk.

One on silage pit here, but needs wall welded. Did you try Abbey in Nenagh/Toomevara?

blue5000 wrote:
    One on silage pit here, but needs wall welded. Did you try Abbey in Nenagh/Toomevara?

No never thought of them will give them a shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭390kid

There's a man in Leitrim specialises in second hand kit and seems to do a few of dem conversions. He might have something if ur not too far away to take a look

390kid wrote: »
    There's a man in Leitrim specialises in second hand kit and seems to do a few of dem conversions. He might have something if ur not too far away to take a look

Thats where we are headed this weekend hopefully!

390kid wrote:

Went to that fella in Leitrim today and picked up a set of tractor grip tyres and rims for decent money. Although he had a set of Trelleborg 700s that were nearly bought.

He recommended to put on the tyres with the grips backwards. What's the thinking behind this? Do many lads turn the tyres round for their tankers?

Went to that fella in Leitrim today and picked up a set of tractor grip tyres and rims for decent money. Although he had a set of Trelleborg 700s that were nearly bought.

He recommended to put on the tyres with the grips backwards. What's the thinking behind this? Do many lads turn the tyres round for their tankers?

Ye I hear he's very keen arite and a bully selection of stuff to. I think there turned around for grip as far as I know

390kid wrote:
    Ye I hear he's very keen arite and a bully selection of stuff to. I think there turned around for grip as far as I know

Serious selection of stuff and fairly alright to deal with. Had a choice of tanker wheels for us from 1000 to 400. Yeah I heard it's for grip but was wondering the thinking behind it. I read somewhere that you turn them because they're being pulled as opposed to doing the pulling?

Ye there's probably logic in that to when you think of the lugs turning into the ground