Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New silage pit being built

• 04-02-2016 1:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭

Hi all.
    I'm new to the farming side of boards but I'm looking for some advice if anyone can help. I live in meath and my patents have asked me to ask this question. They're house is surrounded by farm land which has never ever been a problem as the farmer that owned it was a lovely man but very recently he sold the lad to a large land owner in the area. The new farmer out of no where last weekend came down and cut 2 very large trees right at the driveway to my parents house as they were on his land both trees over 100 years old and never gave any info this was going to happen. He has now said he cut them down as he is going to build a large silage pit and they were in his way. The area he wants to build the silage pit will be less than 150metres for my parents house. Just wondering is that allowed so close to they're house as they are not happy and he doesn't care. Thanks for any advice you can give

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

Ebr sniper wrote:
    Hi all. I'm new to the farming side of boards but I'm looking for some advice if anyone can help. I live in meath and my patents have asked me to ask this question. They're house is surrounded by farm land which has never ever been a problem as the farmer that owned it was a lovely man but very recently he sold the lad to a large land owner in the area. The new farmer out of no where last weekend came down and cut 2 very large trees right at the driveway to my parents house as they were on his land both trees over 100 years old and never gave any info this was going to happen. He has now said he cut them down as he is going to build a large silage pit and they were in his way. The area he wants to build the silage pit will be less than 150metres for my parents house. Just wondering is that allowed so close to they're house as they are not happy and he doesn't care. Thanks for any advice you can give

If the trees were on his property then he's done nothing wrong.
    Why are they worried about the silage pit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

Not sure what the requisite distance must be from a dwelling for planning permission to become necessary- 25m, 30m, 100m.? Also may be required if the proposed development is over a certain sq.m. in size. Look into it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭ABlur

It has to be at least 100m away from a dwelling. He will probably have to apply for planning permission as effluent storage required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

If there's room to put it elswhere that isn't as close to a house it wouldn't kill him to put it there . Is there a farm yard beside the house already ?
    Cutting down two big trees is an offence if he hadn't got a felling licence for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭Ebr sniper

Bullocks wrote: »
    If there's room to put it elswhere that isn't as close to a house it wouldn't kill him to put it there . Is there a farm yard beside the house already ?
    Cutting down two big trees is an offence if he hadn't got a felling licence for it

It's a field well over 30arces in size but only one entrance from the road which is the gateway alongside our driveway. No licence to cut down the tree plus he trespassed into our garden to cut down large limbs off the tree and has just left them there saying "I'll move them when I get the chance"! The entire weekend he blocked our house driveway with a teleported, tractor and trailer or his jeep depending on who was coming and going and this is becoming his thing now! he left the tractor blocking the driveway as he went down the field checking fences for over 2 hours meaning my parents couldn't get out and when he finally came back he said why couldn't one of my parents (both in they're late 70's) come down the field to ask him to move it! His reason for putting the silage pit beside the house is "convenience or else he'd have to put another entrance in further down the road" Both parents have been WAY to nice to him so far but if it keeps going this way I shall be reporting him for trespassing, damaging our lawn and hedge where the tree fell plus blocking out driveway for stupid amounts of time and having an illegal teleporter on the road. All very petty I know but he's forced our hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Ebr sniper wrote: »
    It's a field well over 30arces in size but only one entrance from the road which is the gateway alongside our driveway. No licence to cut down the tree plus he trespassed into our garden to cut down large limbs off the tree and has just left them there saying "I'll move them when I get the chance"! The entire weekend he blocked our house driveway with a teleported, tractor and trailer or his jeep depending on who was coming and going and this is becoming his thing now! he left the tractor blocking the driveway as he went down the field checking fences for over 2 hours meaning my parents couldn't get out and when he finally came back he said why couldn't one of my parents (both in they're late 70's) come down the field to ask him to move it! His reason for putting the silage pit beside the house is "convenience or else he'd have to put another entrance in further down the road" Both parents have been WAY to nice to him so far but if it keeps going this way I shall be reporting him for trespassing, damaging our lawn and hedge where the tree fell plus blocking out driveway for stupid amounts of time and having an illegal teleporter on the road. All very petty I know but he's forced our hand

He sounds a bit arrogant . I don't understand why he is putting a silage pit in a field if there are no sheds close by to feed it into during the winter , maybe he has ?
    There is no excuse for blocking someones driveway like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,868 ✭✭✭Ten Pin

Regarding no licence for tree felling, you should notify Gardai, County Council and An Taisce. At the very least it may soften his cough and hopefully not make matters worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,126 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Hi all.
    I'm new to the farming side of boards but I'm looking for some advice if anyone can help. I live in meath and my patents have asked me to ask this question. They're house is surrounded by farm land which has never ever been a problem as the farmer that owned it was a lovely man but very recently he sold the lad to a large land owner in the area. The new farmer out of no where last weekend came down and cut 2 very large trees right at the driveway to my parents house as they were on his land both trees over 100 years old and never gave any info this was going to happen. He has now said he cut them down as he is going to build a large silage pit and they were in his way. The area he wants to build the silage pit will be less than 150metres for my parents house. Just wondering is that allowed so close to they're house as they are not happy and he doesn't care. Thanks for any advice you can give
    Any building has to be at least 150 meteres from a private well, county council inspector stepped out were I am planning to build here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

With the trees sound like they are close to the road so he could legally cut them without a licence under the Roads Act if dangerous and pretty easy to say that they were rotten etc if 100 years plus so thats a non starter.

Less than 100 m requires planning permission and in your case over that so far enough away.

Using your driveway is a big issue.

The other thing is putting in another entrance may or may not require planning permission for the farmer concerned in your case it depends on width of road and its classification so existing entrance for him really is more convienent

the devlopment may or may not require pl permission depends on scale. As sounds like it will happen and you are not happy best to discuss with a solicitor who will advise you.

Guy sounds like an idiot by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

he left the tractor blocking the driveway as he went down the field checking fences for over 2 hours meaning my parents couldn't get out and when he finally came back he said why couldn't one of my parents (both in they're late 70's) come down the field to ask him to move it!

There's no need to be annoying a man about moving a tractor when he's down the field checking fences. Your parents could move the tractor themselves.
    By move it themselves I mean use it for transport for wherever they might want to go for thewhole day. I mean why else would he have parked a vehicle in their driveway instead of the field gate. He was clearly concerned about rural isolation and that they might not be able to leave the house and get around due to lack of transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭greenpetrol

Bullocks wrote: »
    He sounds a bit arrogant . I don't understand why he is putting a silage pit in a field if there are no sheds close by to feed it into during the winter , maybe he has ?
    There is no excuse for blocking someones driveway like that

Sounds like a proper twat ! He probably believes the locals are in awe of this new progressive farmer on the scene and brought all his machinery to display ! Parking it in drive ways to make sure it's noticed !new silage slab Might be all hot air !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

sit back say nothing and laugh at him when the banks take it back from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,126 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Take plenty of photos. You might never need them, but at least they're there. It does sound like he's bullying your parents, but I know there is 3 sides to every story. Things can get messy and protracted, if you go down a legal route. Maybe it's better to have a chat with him, about blocking the driveway for starters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Ten Pin wrote: »
    Regarding no licence for tree felling, you should notify Gardai, County Council and An Taisce. At the very least it may soften his cough and hopefully not make matters worse.

Don't bother with an taisce, they're just a group of organised busy body's with an official sounding name

Op the council have plenty of powers to curb this guy's enthusiasm. And a word with a local guard(if there is such a thing) about how your parents were blocked in would be useful.
    And take loads of photos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Sounds like a proper twat ! He probably believes the locals are in awe of this new progressive farmer on the scene and brought all his machinery to display ! Parking it in drive ways to make sure it's noticed !new silage slab Might be all hot air !

I'd say you've hit the nail on the head there.

Every parish has one. I was heading off travelling many yrs ago and my mother was fussing did you pack this and that?

My father piped up and asked "did you pack a Bollix?" I looked it him quizzically and his reply was " there's no need as they've plenty of them where you're going and you'll meet one in the first 10 minutes". Never a truer word ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Take plenty of photos. You might never need them, but at least they're there. It does sound like he's bullying your parents, but I know there is 3 sides to every story. Things can get messy and protracted, if you go down a legal route. Maybe it's better to have a chat with him, about blocking the driveway for starters.

Agreed with the last line here. Go make some effort to talk to him at least 1stly. Remain very polite and calm about it all, and let him know that you want to solve this issue here and now. If it helps avoid years of frustration and worry moving forward trying to go down a legal route, while he takes the piss even more then it will be totally worth it. If he's a total prick to you and refuses to communicate at all, then defo don't be afraid to talk to your neighbours about him, they either will have no idea of his true colours (and world spreads quick around local neighbourhoods), or else be in the same boat and at least yous can work together with them in finding a solution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Timmaay wrote: »
    Agreed with the last line here. Go make some effort to talk to him at least 1stly. Remain very polite and calm about it all, and let him know that you want to solve this issue here and now. If it helps avoid years of frustration and worry moving forward trying to go down a legal route, while he takes the piss even more then it will be totally worth it. If he's a total prick to you and refuses to communicate at all, then defo don't be afraid to talk to your neighbours about him, they either will have no idea of his true colours (and world spreads quick around local neighbourhoods), or else be in the same boat and at least yous can work together with them in finding a solution.

I'd agree with some of what your saying but spouting on to your neighbours will only cause hassle and can end up getting bitchy and really dirty. There are always neighbours who love a good argument and will agree with you and go back and spout to your neighbour and agree with him and turn you into the centre of their couple of months of gossip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

He sounds like a dick. No reason at all to be like that other than to get noticed.

Firstly get your parents to document everything including pics if possible. Record all the nuisances he causes like blocking the gateway. Time and date all in one notebook. If it does go down the legal route this will be evidence against him.

It would be no harm to ask the guards to have a word as well. Mention to them that your parents were late for a doctors appointment or similar because he parked illegally in the driveway and they will have a chat to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Get you parents a rockweiler. And just ignore the prick.

Also cut up the timber he left on the lawn as its legally yours. Let it season a bit and it will burn better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Base price

As others have said it sounds unusual for a silage pit to be built considering there are no sheds. I presume that he is going to lay a stone/concrete pad for storing round bales beside the road entrance. I don't think he would need planning permission for this.
    Best to have a chat with him although you may not get too far considering he is such a dick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Base price wrote: »
    As others have said it sounds unusual for a silage pit to be built considering there are no sheds. I presume that he is going to lay a stone/concrete pad for storing round bales beside the road entrance. I don't think he would need planning permission for this.
    Best to have a chat with him although you may not get too far considering he is such a dick.
    Reminds me of something I saw on fb earlier, " I am no cactus expert , but I know a prick when I see one" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

This guy sounds like he has no idea how to get on with neighbors.

Wouldn't have killed him to knock the door and explain what he was doing and apologise for blocking the driveway.

Unless of course OPs parents are known to be complainers and aquard which is possible since we only have one side of the story, no offence intended OP but it's a thing that people sometimes complain for very little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

No excuse for blocking entrances or not apoligising after but before you go all out do alittle homework first on him and know what you dealing with.must admit im doing alittle bit of rising myselfwith a crowd next door to where ive bought a bit of ground.they have nothing better to do than watch what im doing and are fairly troublesome so the last few months I have been having a bit of fun.first I cleared a path through bushes, next my friend in the building game was in with me one day so I showed him the new place but we parked his van where they could see it and the two of us were doing big sweeping jestures with our hands in the field.then the other day we were planting trees with a digger and I just got him to dig a few holes like test holes.now I have no notion of going for planning but its killing them to find out what im doing and its only a bit of fun for me. From what you say I think its unlikly hes putting up a silage pit but as I said do your homework about him before