Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MTB Glenealy

• 03-02-2016 4:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭

So Im pretty new to MTB and so far I just cant get enough of it.
    So i have been cutting my teeth up at Ballinastoe I have been about 10 or 12 times and man its just gets better every time. So a few people I have met and a few I know have suggested Glenealy (Carrick) so looking for some pointers for when I get up there.its also a hell of alot closer to my gaff
    *where is the best to park
    * how difficult are the tracks
    *I have been told there are three tracks when you go through the farm gate which one would be best for a begginner
    *is the farmer cool with people just walking through
    *what are the differences between this type of track and say ballinastoe
    *should you head up with someone or is ok to just go for a spin up there by yourself (eg ballinastoe you are never alone too long before seeing someone)
    * how much track is up there and is any of it mapped

any help or info would be greatly appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭kirk buttercup

thats actually real cool thanks Carawaystick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Probably not a great idea to go off road alone on a track you've never rode before but I'm sure plenty of people do it at times myself included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

You may be interested in the biking blitz round in Ballinastoe this Sunday, 14km & 28km loops, if you feel fit enough for it.

http://www.bikingblitz.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭gnarbarian

Carrick is a great spot for mountain biking, I have been biking there for over a year.
    I will try answer your questions as best I can
    *When you drive into Glenealy village you will see a pub (Kane's) There is a car park across the road from it or I have seen some people park up by the christmas tree farm that is located up the narrow road (Ballymanus lane) that leads into Carrick.
    *There are plenty of easy to difficult trails to take your pick from
    Here is a map of the trail system from Trailforks which are colour graded

http://www.trailforks.com/region/carrick-mountain/?lat=52.97761837351766&lon=-6.1533479694480775&z=14&m=hybrid

GREEN= Easy BLUE = Moderate RED = Difficult BLACK = Advanced
    *I have gone for spins to Carrick alone plenty of times but it is always more fun with a friend.. It can be a bit of a maze for a first timer so I would say go with someone until you get the lay of the land.
    Hope this helped ;)

iwillhtfu wrote:
    Probably not a great idea to go off road alone on a track you've never rode before but I'm sure plenty of people do it at times myself included.

Yeah was thinking that ,eagerness gets the better of me though

rizzodun wrote:
    You may be interested in the biking blitz round in Ballinastoe this Sunday, 14km & 28km loops, if you feel fit enough for it.

Could possibly manage the 14km at the back slowly but certainly not the 28km maybe this time next year. Did the whole track last Thursday in really windy conditions and was pretty fecked after it. So will have to build up to a blitz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Yogi81

Biking.ie are hosting a round of the Enduro World Series in Carrick this May 12th to 15th.
    Check out emeraldenduro(dot)com.

Would be a very good way to suss out tracks and routes as it will all be sign posted and tracks taped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,150 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

If anyone is considering going cycling off-road in Carrick, then park in Glenealy village car park.
    And on the trails always always be aware of and give way to Horse riders and walkers...

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    If anyone is considering going cycling off-road in Carrick, then park in Glenealy village car park.
    And on the trails always always be aware of and give way to Horse riders and walkers...

Definitely on both points.
    The roads leading up to the trails are all narrow and private property.

Plenty of horses up there also, some of which get spooked easily.

Yogi81 wrote:
    Definitely on both points. The roads leading up to the trails are all narrow and private property.

This was my worry it being private property, do the owners not mind people lashing around up there? I drove up last week and so the gate that says private property so was wondering how many people just head on through. Thanks for the feedback its always nice to have a heads up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,150 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

This was my worry it being private property, do the owners not mind people lashing around up there?

Yes they do, so if you don't know where you're going then it would be easy to find yourself trespassing on private property..and the landowners around there don't take too kindly to it either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Although I ultimately decided mountain biking wasn't for me (after struggling with the "natural" trails after cutting my teeth on the built ones), I'd recommend joining one of the clubs like MAD. Even if you couldn't get out with the club that often, it'd give you a chance to find/ map the trails for when you were on your own.

Hey guys was up there today it was incredibly mucky (could barely cycle in it)and lots if what i came across was very steep. Not sure if this is normal up there but lots of the roots I came across were far steeper than ballinastoe. Will really need to explore up there to possibly find more manageable routes

Ballinastoe and Ticknock are Coillte trail centres and have trails suitable for beginners to advanced.
    Carrick is not a trail centre and the routes/tracks on it are used for either downhill races or enduro races. They are far steeper and more technical

Yogi81 wrote:
    Ballinastoe and Ticknock are Coillte trail centres and have trails suitable for beginners to advanced. Carrick is not a trail centre and the routes/tracks on it are used for either downhill races or enduro races. They are far steeper and more technical

I was up there with a mate ( a beginner too) thats pretty much what we were saying that these are more hardcore trails. I had watched videos on YouTube and they looked flatter but the Go Pro is very deceiving if you ask me. The thing I found strange is on Trail Fork they have the routes in Glenealy at the same level as ballinastoe. The two of us find ballinastoe very manageable where some of the trails in Glenealy made me **** myself just looking at them. Something to work towards I suppose

Thanks byy the way for the feedback very helpful for a newbie like me

There are plenty of other trails off the official trail routes in Ballinastoe.
    They are holding a round of the Gravity Enduro there on the 9th - 10th July.

Ask a few of the lads in the cabins how to get to some of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

There are some nice singletracks up in carrick, but I wouldn't bother until we get a decent run of dry weather. Ballinastoe is all weather and the trails have been nicely renovated now and are very orientated to beginners.

Its going to be a massive job repairing the trails in Carrick after this winter.