Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your favourite weather condition?

• 29-01-2016 9:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭

This country has had its fair share of bad weather lately with many complaining about it. I like when it's warm with a nice breeze so what weather do you like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

The long, sunny evenings in the summer (4pm to dusk).
    Give me that and the local golf course to myself and I'm in heaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Cold, crisp and dry with amazing sunrises and sunsets that paint the sky with amazing glows.
    Wrap up all snug for a lovely long walk and come back for soup and sangs.
    bliss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 OldieWilson

Cloudy, no sun in the eyes, and no wind. Definitely no wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I have a feeling you are about to get SNOWED UNDER...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Imaginary storms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Graces7 wrote: »
    I have a feeling you are about to get SNOWED UNDER...;)

Don't say that. I hate snow. Nice to look at but that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

What's your favorite humming noise OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

When it's winter, a crisp, dry, clear morning/day when it's just about possible to see your breath. No rain and totally calm.

For Summer, an endless balmy evening.

No extremes please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Snow, we so rarely get it and we haven't had a blasting in years.

It's a treat when it comes and I can't wait to take the kids sledging for the first time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

A good drooth and enough of a breeze to keep the midges away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I like light rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭adelcrowsmel

Snow or at least nice and cold and crisp...cold enough to sit in front of an open fire at night... which I haven't done much of these days!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭511

When I was a kid, it was snow.

Now that I'm older, it's all about the sunshine and heat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I go with the flow. In Spring I love a crisp frosty morning for a walk through the bog. In Summer you can't beat a calm bright sunny day by the river. A windy day in Autumn swirling the leaves in the woods and a Winter's day of wind and rain is cosy when sitting by a warm fire looking out.
    When I worked I hated ice and the lethal roads I had to get around. Snow is great if nobody has to venture too far. All in all we can't pick the weather of any day so I just roll with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I can tell you my least favourite, f*cking poxy wind!!!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Cloudy, with a chance of meatballs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

I love a good gale, a dry, windy day. There's nothing like being out for a walk when the wind is doing its best to knock you sideways. You really feel the power of nature.

Pretty much like this morning, really. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Just like in mid/late July 2013, temperature was high 20's, loved it!

Hard to sleep in it but fook it, most people were in great form cos of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

SCORCHIO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Snow. No doubt about it. Love the quietness of it all.

I also love a bit of heavy rain and thunder.

Least favourite is sunny and windy.

Snow. No doubt about it. Love the quietness of it all.

I also love a bit of heavy rain and thunder.

Least favourite is sunny and windy.

Ah Jaysus Dicky, how can you not love a bit of sun (and I'm a pale person who burns easily)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

A warm summers day with little or no breeze, not too humid though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

kfallon wrote: »
    Ah Jaysus Dicky, how can you not love a bit of sun (and I'm a pale person who burns easily)

Sunny and windy at the same time. Absolutely pointless weather. Grand drying though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

I think this thread has answered the question of why the Irish are always giving out about the weather - you really can't please all of the people all of the time :D

Absolutely pointless weather. Grand drying though.

You just contradicted yourself :P

maudgonner wrote: »
    I think this thread has answered the question of why the Irish are always giving out about the weather - you really can't please all of the people all of the time :D

Sure it'd be a great little country if we could only roof it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Dya know the weather we get in the summer when it's really nice.
    Normally a random Tuesday and Wednesday back to back in August, about 24 degrees, sun all morning and then come 6pm a little breeze comes along, you throw on a jumper but you can still sit outside in a pair of shorts.
    That's perfect.

Leaving work at 6 in sunshine to hit the golf course and playa full 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,907 ✭✭✭Comhrá

I really love the excitement of a good loud thunderstorm...especially at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Hot enough to bathe me in sweat & force me to walk around in me Jeyes Fluid :D :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

After a thunderstorm, so the air is fresh, and a light breeze, 18 degrees sun, and blue skies.

And at the weekend. No point having nice weather if I'm in work! :pac:

KKkitty wrote: »
    Don't say that. I hate snow. Nice to look at but that's about it.

Ah I meant by folk saying SNOW.. I am well enough known here for my thoughts on snow after 2010. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I Like Air

21/25

A good drooth and enough of a breeze to keep the midges away.

Thar blows a Donegal man.. I well remember the midges of Glencolumcille,,, and then Leitrim,,, then Mayo.. and Cork! OH MY! And here in kerry of course..sitting at my market stall praying for wind...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭barry181091

Col, very very cold. Dry too, must be dry. Snow ain't bad either sometimes.

Just no goddamn stifling, humid heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭barry181091

Col, very very cold. Dry too, must be dry. Snow ain't bad either sometimes.

Just no goddamn stifling, humid heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I'm not against a bit of wind, but only if I'm walking with it. If I'm walking against it, and wearing a tight jumper, you can see the contours of my beer belly and man tits which is no good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

Heat wave preferably from 1st of June to 31th of August.Wake up at 6am and its 18c outside paradise. Don't give a feck about weirdos who want ice age winters with 20 foot of snow. Last summer was a joke and its only 3 months and a year till the next one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Critical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,738 ✭✭✭✭sryanbruen

Snow in Winter and warm, sunny and dry weather in Summer. I hate having snowfall in other seasons other than Winter though such as Spring 2013 which was ridiculously terrible!

Photography site - https://sryanbruenphoto.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I am with tian on this one:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/newsround/35407484

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Sharknado

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

A fresh yet non cold Autumn sunny day.

And its Spring equivalent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Hot. Which according to AH is over 16 degrees celsius. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

That wall of heat and humidity you get hit with when you walk of a airplane.

Or

Wet and windy.....sorry that's how I like the ladies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭xband

A nice grey sky and some drizzle.
    Doesn't get more Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Cold dry frosty weather, the kind of winters we used to get here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Grass growing weather.

Ideally temperatures in the low to mid 20Cs, then throw in a thunderstorm if the grass needs watering, plus lightning fixes nitrogen, so it gives some free fertilizer.

Not a fan of cold weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭iLikeWaffles

Light calm rain that is not accompanied by any sort of breeze or wind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I love when it's stormy. Lots of wind. Thunder and lightening. Rain.
    While I'm inside in my warm pjs, looking out on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

i like a good moody overcast day sometimes.