Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is January really the worst month of the year?

• 28-01-2016 10:53pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 143 ✭✭

Yes the days are short, weather is shite etc but have had some of the best excellent morning horns ever and bought only the essentials on lidl. How was your January?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Month of my birthday. Worst birthday month ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭wurzlitzer

yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

Yes the days are short, weather is shite etc but have had some of the best excellent morning horns ever and bought only the essentials on lidl. How was your January?

What are 'morning horns', if you don't mind me asking? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Mine was okay but everyone around me is miserable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 143 ✭✭Stoned Since 2011

ZeroThreat wrote: »

When you reach puberty ask again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Best excellent???

Wtf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

February is every bit as bad, you can almost smell the Cheltenham Festival and despite it being the shortest month it really drags on :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Morning horns ? Is someone beeping their car outside your bedroom window ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

He either plays in the wind section of an orchestra or drives in heavy traffic in the mornings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭8 Bit Girl

I used to absolutely hate it. The last few years ive not minded it atall.

February and March suck though. Tuesday and Wednesdays of the year that they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Apparently the op has better morning erections in the bleak mid winter.

And your wife loves them :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

Sounds like it's all downhill for the next 11 months of the year. Poor bastard:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

January is grand. Mornings and evenings are getting noticeably longer and December/christmas is as far away as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Maybe he freezes his erection at night?

No need for a freezer when I try a shot in your one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Nature is slowed down for winter, the days short, the weather not great. January is the worst month, at least February is a shorter month.
    April is the best month, the clocks a few days earlier have changed, longer days, better weather and the summer to look forward to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

January is grand. Mornings and evenings are getting noticeably longer
    Weather still sh-t though, and it's not *that* much brighter.

Dreary month overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Good month for weirdos.. less ppl about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

He's in the army. He gets woken up by a bugle every morning.

Hammer89 wrote: »
    He's in the army. He gets woken up by a bugle every morning.

So does you other half when you are in Fas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

So does you other half when you are in Fas.

You can't hear this without thinking it's morning.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

This January has not been to bad at all. The unseasonal mildness has been a big plus.

mzungu wrote: »
    This January has not been to bad at all. The unseasonal mildness has been a big plus.

Have you been able to get an erection?

Windy and rainy a lot though.

Azalea wrote: »
    Windy and rainy a lot though.

Do you live in a tent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,859 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I think January is unfairly maligned: I love how low-key it is and, as a movie fan, it's the time of the year when some of the best films you'll be seeing for a good while are coming at you thick and fast.

Maybe my love for January stems from my hate for December. Just to be clear here - I don't mean hate for Christmas, that tiny couple of days part of December is okay, but all the crap that surrounds it... Ugghh.

I'm talking about that feeling of barely together hysteria that lingers over the whole month. You know the BUY THIS BUY THAT PRESENTS PLANS BUT NO TIME TO THINK OR ANY MONEY!!! kind of disruptive zeitgeist that's in the air. The whole month masquerades as a celebration of the Christmas Spirit, but all I ever feel is the Spirit of Commercial Pressure and, worst of all, I can't really tell the difference between the two! December just makes me think, that despite the existence of Antibiotics and Wi-Fi, modern life is still fairly awful a lot of the time.

So yeah, January is like a nice comfortable snooze in comparison: I'm all for it. And January is great for plans... even if you don't have plans! If you do want to get something going: no better time than January to start. And if you don't have plans at the start of the year, well then... Good for you! You've obviously got this whole life thing down to a fine art of practised perfection - No better time than January to settle back into that great routine you've got going on!

I could dock a few marks for the weather, but is there any period of the year where the weather in Ireland is truly brilliant? Plus, I spend a lot of time inside with electrical appliances - Why should I care if it's raining outside?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

Winter a bit erratic this year. Most days are breezy and cold than a heat spike. It messes your us. Hard to adjust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

@Angus I was just about to post but after reading yours comments I'll just say I totally agree with you.

November is the month I can't bare. Hype about a festive season that isn't even in that month , heading into winter, evenings getting darker. January means that malarkey is all over and at least you cant start thinking that winter is half over and start hoping for summer even though it's quite a bit to go.

The constant rain ( I'm in the dreary north west ) and no crisp dry days is seriously getting me down though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

@Angus I was just about to post but after reading yours comments I'll just say I totally agree with you.

November is the month I can't bare. Hype about a festive season that isn't even in that month , heading into winter, evenings getting darker. January means that malarkey is all over and at least you cant start thinking that winter is half over and start hoping for summer even though it's quite a bit to go.

The wind is howling right now, yet again. Stuff about how the weather hasn't been that bad this January makes no sense. But it's January - not unexpected.

I agree it hasn't been that cold overall. I would prefer cold and dry to mild and wet though - and the relentless damp is a coldness in and of itself (dangerous black ice when the temperatures briefly reached freezing) plus there can be a wind chill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Up until now, yes it has been the worst...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Up until now, yes it has been the worst...

Is it because you have a tiny penis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

25+ nearly every day, little rain, extra days off, quiet days in work and the waters finally warm enough to swim
    Gotta love summer Januaries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

25+ nearly every day, little rain, extra days off, quiet days in work and the waters finally warm enough to swim

Not down the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,737 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Sounds like Malaga, Marbella or Cordoba where you are.
    Edit: Aaaah I see, New Zealand I have a friend who just returned from there the other day back to chilly Galway.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

What a bedsit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Sounds like Malaga, Marbella or Cordoba where you are.
    Edit: Aaaah I see, New Zealand I have a friend who just returned from there the other day back to chilly Galway.

yeah it's great in winter too. August is pretty much the same as in Ireland :D
    and not because the weather here is great then either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,968 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

January is not the best month to be fair. We buy small Christmas presents for each other and use the money to treat ourselves to a holiday somewhere warm in January. It really makes the winter far more bearable. I think November is pretty depressing too.

Cork Lass wrote: »
    January is not the best month to be fair. We buy small Christmas presents for each other and use the money to treat ourselves to a holiday somewhere warm in January. It really makes the winter far more bearable. I think November is pretty depressing too.

November is the best month for the dawn shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

The great thing about January is that it's the month before the RBS 6 Nations starts. It's also not unusual to have some exciting storms in January. Surprisingly enough the Planet Earth is closest to the Sun in January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

Its 38 degrees with 100% humidity....january can F right off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Love January, coldest month of the year and you know exactly what you're gonna get.

The months that annoy me are when it is freezing in the morning and warm in the afternoon/evening.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

January sucks purely from a poverty factor if you get paid monthly, having to make the December paycheck last an extra 2 weeks. It used to be ok cos my husband got paid weekly, but now it's monthly and I'm out of work. We were doing really well this month - 28th is payday and on the 27th still had €50 left in my account, happy days! Was in the shop yesterday evening buying the makings of a dinner, card declined. What??? Checked my online banking, and two companies for some reason decided to come in at close of business and take a DD for €40 and one for €57 - neither one is due to come out until 5th of the month! So FCUK YOU Liberty and The AA! Feckin mortified I was, had to go and put all my stuff back and there was a queue behind me as well. Assholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Well, we observe the Forty Days of Christmas so lights are shining here until Candlemas, then the Chinese New Year by which time January is over, I like it as there is no market trading for me until probably April..Months are what you make of them. But then we do not have the huge noisy Christmas so no letdown,..As for those who complain we have had no winter! Listening to it right now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

mzungu wrote: »

It was true t-shirt weather alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,738 ✭✭✭✭sryanbruen

This January has been my first month in a long time without being sick and trust me, I get very vulnerable to illnesses. So it hasn't been a bad month for me. I hate the weather though. Very wet and the mild theme continuing from December. The cold spell was absolute ****.

Photography site - https://sryanbruenphoto.com/