Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People like this give runners a bad name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

What on earth is wrong with that? A bit of US style self promotion perhaps (no different to a boards.ie log), but what I got from that short video is somebody who seems dedicated, trains hard, trains smart, prepares well, and digs deep when he needs to, and makes the best out of what ability he has. Nice 1km time too. A lot of people could learn from this guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Why does he give runners a bad name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Great stuff. Wouldn't advise 200 repeats on the inside lane though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Chivito550 wrote: »
    What on earth is wrong with that? A bit of US style self promotion perhaps (no different to a boards.ie log), but what I got from that short video is somebody who seems dedicated, trains hard, trains smart, prepares well, and digs deep when he needs to, and makes the best out of what ability he has. Nice 1km time too. A lot of people could learn from this guy.

I wish i could do that. Fair play to the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

Unless the thread title is a dig at people who call themselves runners but don't put in the same level of work I can't see anything wrong or upsetting about what he is doing.

Working hard, delivering results and putting himself out there in hope of scholarship / job / sponsorship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

There is a huge difference between posting on a thread that you beat your PB compared to having a pacer for a time trial, someone cycling after you around the track with a go-pro, someone with an underwater camera to film you swimming post your 1k at 4:50 pace. There is self promotion but this is another level. The only thing I am impressed by is the production value. It comes across as very smug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

But nobody here would have been aware of it if you didn't post it, therefore adding more views to his count. How would one even find such vids? I thought he came across as decent enough.

People put things up on social media of themselves doing all sorts of stupid things, at least this lad was doing something productive.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    But nobody here would have been aware of it if you didn't post it, therefore adding more views to his count. How would one even find such vids? I thought he came across as decent enough.

People put things up on social media of themselves doing all sorts of stupid things, at least this lad was doing something productive.

Look at facebook sure, for all the ego people out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,595 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

The pacer beat him. Bad manners. :p

Look at facebook sure, for all the ego people out there

Think I need to close my facebook account.

Latest one I saw was from someone who posts here a picture that they have badly photoshopped the time they want to get and themselves crossing the line in a marathon this year. Its about 30 mins faster than their current marathon PB. They have it up on a notice board at work. You couldn't make it up.

rom wrote: »
    There is a huge difference between posting on a thread that you beat your PB compared to having a pacer for a time trial, someone cycling after you around the track with a go-pro, someone with an underwater camera to film you swimming post your 1k at 4:50 pace. There is self promotion but this is another level. The only thing I am impressed by is the production value. It comes across as very smug.

You're just jealous you can't run as fast as him. :)

rom wrote: »

Also, what on earth is wrong with having a pacer for a time trial? That is very common practice in this sport.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Also, what on earth is wrong with having a pacer for a time trial? That is very common practice in this sport.

It makes the task a bit easier. Alot of the time the pace would drop out someway due, but it seems this time was no problem for the pacer.

We would often pace a friend who is looking to break a 5k time, means that they can switch off a bit more and break that mental barrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Dude needs to work on his kick, went round the guy with about 150m to go and then on the home straight, kaboom!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,331 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Guy can't give runners a bad name because nobody outside runners would watch that video

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭tommy_tucker

Hey Begrudgy Grudgerson, let the negativity go, it's not doing anything for anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Most misleading thread title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

Ruu wrote: »
    Most misleading thread title.

Amen to that brother, Amen to that.

Rom, I think you might need to recalibrate the 'giving runners a bad name' yoke.

Guy is bleedin harmless. I stopped the video after the 1k trial but what the heck? Title of the thread is a joke, man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

You read half the sh!t posted on this place and you think that video gives runners a bad name?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭uvox

Good luck to him. I'm a vegan runner. But I'm still a runner. He's still a runner...