Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Youtube Gamer Suggestions

• 25-01-2016 11:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭

Lately I've been watching a lot of Youtube gaming channels. Mostly Let's Plays.

It's hard to dig through the bad ones but it's really rewarding when you find a youtuber you really like.

What channels do you like to watch?

My favorites so far are:

SovietWomble
    - An English guy who plays with a few of his buddies from around the world. They take the p1ss out of each other playing random co-op games like Arma, Rust, CSGO etc. Really funny material and they don't take themselves seriously. His terrifying playthrough of Alien Isolation had me laughing throughout. He decided to play at home, alone, in the dark. The guy was genuinely terrified!

quill18
    - A really likable Canadian guy. He plays a lot of strategy games, particularly Paradox titles. He's funny and intelligent. Speaks a mile a minute, but isn't in your face screaming into the mic. Very attentive to his audience. Does a lot of Let's Plays and allows audience voting in his live streams. A very likable character.

FRANKIEonPCin1080p
    - His ARMA 3 videos are fantastic. I've been watching them all week and wish there were more. His prison escape video on Arma Life was hilarious. He's fairly passive and doesn't do much talking other than chatting to team mates.

SurrealBeliefs
    - This guy has one of the most unusual accents I've ever heard. He mostly plays Total War games. He's a history nut and fills in a lot of the historical backstory which some of the Total War games leave out. If you're into military strategy games or even just european history you should check him out.

Any recommendations?
    Who do you like?
    Who do you not like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

Totalbiscuit is my favourite as he covers a very broad spectrum of games. Most others I follow are more targetted at certain genres like Matimio for FPS games and TheRussianBadger for his silly sense of humour.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,402 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

NorthenLion for let's play (got hooked back on his original XCom because he's not BSing it and nor a Pro league player level) and Force Gaming for his Friday Magic Online games and his overall good game reviews (Think TB light) and games updates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭Falthyron

You only need Robbaz in your life. All hail the King of Sweden! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Great stuff. Looking forward to checking these out later.

Keep them coming! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I don't really watch many lets plays or the like, I like TotalBiscuit for his WTF is series because I rarely find anyone as downright thorough even if I am bored to tears with the minutiae of every single slider in the graphics menu. But for someone I really, really like, Errant Signal is downright top tier. He's definitely what some would call pretentious, but I rarely find anyone as insightful and who's even willing to talk about games in a more academic way, which I find absolutely fascinating. For example:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,483 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Totalbiscuit
    Bellular - For any WoW aficionados
    Boggie2998 (of Francis rage fame)

Most people hate Jim Sterling, but if you don't take him literally he's quite funny.

Totalbiscuit
    Bellular - For any WoW aficionados
    Boggie2998 (of Francis rage fame)

Most people hate Jim Sterling, but if you don't take him literally he's quite funny.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,040 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Like others I'll dip into Total Biscuit from time to time for some info. I even watch some of Angry Joe's reviews because he can be amusing but he does annoy me when he gives a bad review to a Piranha Bytes game because he can't play it :)

I actually give Matt Barton money on Patreon because I love his reviews & interviews for classic games.

Finally MrBtongue has done a small number of fantastic videos and I wish he would do more.

With Lets Plays I tend to search for the less shouty kind and I don't have any real favourites bar a few less well known guys who play crpgs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Vicxas wrote: »

I've liked Jim since his Escapist days (speaking of, Zero Punctuation seems like the only thing keeping it alive now which is really sad to see) but even if you like his sense of humour he does an awful lot of crap. And that's coming from someone who'll watch every Jimquisition episode the day it's out without fail. His best of Steam Greenlight series is just scraping the bottom of the barrel, and does he ever flog a dead joke into the dust. Is this memes? IS THIS MEMES?!? IS THIS MEEEEEEEEMES!?!?!?11?1 He's like that obnoxious friend who is fun in small doses, but gets on your nerves after the 16th time he's done the "Pounding it" routine. Insert obligatory pogs reference or Digital Homocide or something something penis.

Which is a pity, because he's seriously on point a lot of the time, and I find myself put off by the repititiveness of his antics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,590 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,402 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

Mr E wrote: »
    Well him going of social media is not bad; the cancer has been out for a while (he mentioned it in one of his last vlogs at the time).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Internet Friend

Gopher for RPG's, general popular games and for great guides and tips on modding games like The Witcher 3 or any of the Bethesda games. I really enjoy his channel, mainly cause of similarities between play styles for those types of games. A really excellent channel with loads of content. Very well produced and he now has a dedicated website for modding games. Very popular channel.

Scott Manley for any space related games. Plays mainly space games like Kerbal, Elite Dangerous and Star Citizen. Has several Lets Plays in KSP which, as someone who's put hours into that game, can be really helpful in learning how to play it. He's a physicist so everything is explained in great detail and he sometimes does videos about interesting stuff going on currently in space, like new discoveries or basics on understanding orbital mechanics and so on. Again, another very popular channel with quality videos and content.

These two channels would be my personal favourites for gaming, both have loads of content and are actually interesting, as opposed to a lot of the childish drivel that can be found on other channels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Gehad_JoyRider

Frankie1080p is a complete Tw@t he's moans to his admin friends on the servers if he gets killed, he's treated like royality bye ccg because he brings them players yet, there servers barely function on full player count, He also cheats in a lot of his videos and 90% of them are set up, the only thing he does is create entertainment a long with SADa whos another caniving pain in the ass.

Devil Dog Gamer.... now he makes good content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Gehad_JoyRider

Frankie1080p is a complete Tw@t he's moans to his admin friends on the servers if he gets killed, he's treated like royality bye ccg because he brings them players yet, there servers barely function on full player count, He also cheats in a lot of his videos and 90% of them are set up, the only thing he does is create entertainment a long with SADa whos another caniving pain in the ass.

Devil Dog Gamer.... now he makes good content.

Gopher for RPG's, general popular games and for great guides and tips on modding games like The Witcher 3 or any of the Bethesda games. I really enjoy his channel, mainly cause of similarities between play styles for those types of games. A really excellent channel with loads of content. Very well produced and he now has a dedicated website for modding games. Very popular channel.

Scott Manley for any space related games. Plays mainly space games like Kerbal, Elite Dangerous and Star Citizen. Has several Lets Plays in KSP which, as someone who's put hours into that game, can be really helpful in learning how to play it. He's a physicist so everything is explained in great detail and he sometimes does videos about interesting stuff going on currently in space, like new discoveries or basics on understanding orbital mechanics and so on. Again, another very popular channel with quality videos and content.

These two channels would be my personal favourites for gaming, both have loads of content and are actually interesting, as opposed to a lot of the childish drivel that can be found on other channels.

I thought Scott Manley's KSP was brilliant, but his voice on other videos just annoyed the tits off me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

NerdCubed - Good candid reviews

Markiplier - generally good but as he's getting more popular, every second video now seems to be him plumping himself as opposed to actualy game videos.

Jacksepticeye - Irishman, mildly hyper demeanor, but plays a lot of indie games which i like.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

I was coming along to recommend Quill18 and Scott Manley as well as Jim Sterling.

I'd also add Marbozir, a Polish lad who focuses on Strategy stuff and who's done a few partnership games of Civ with Quill.#

S'up Holmes is probably familiar to any Jim Sterling fans - Jonathon Holmes from Destructiod interviews game makers of all shapes and sizes and it's usually quite interesting.

I also watch our very own Doctor Doom for the Irish Fighting Game scene :)

Finally, the VideoGamerTV lads have made me laugh a lot last year and this as well as producing some solid critique/reviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭[Rasta]

Worth a Buy is a handy channel for getting reviews on whether a game is worth it price wise or not.

The guy takes a bit of getting used to, but seems to try and give a somewhat objective review. Definitely not everyone's cuppa tea because he has quite a particular sense of humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

His work on mods for Bethesda games is also superb, and tutorials for modding those games. Plus one for this lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Internet Friend

His work on mods for Bethesda games is also superb, and tutorials for modding those games. Plus one for this lad.

His tutorials may have saved my PC from being fecked out the window a few times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

If WoW interests you, I moved streaming from Twitch to Youtube. Getting much more random people coming into the chat then on Twitch.

Mostly stream Tuesday,Wednesday and Sunday evening, mythic progress in HFC, and sporadic times outside of that when I'm doing stuff on alts etc.

Shameless self plug xoxoxo

https://www.youtube.com/user/TheDOC1988 Going to tidy the channel up a bit. Got rid of a lot of old videos and stuff. Typically my streams go into the video catalogue afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

If WoW interests you, I moved streaming from Twitch to Youtube. Getting much more random people coming into the chat then on Twitch.

Mostly stream Tuesday,Wednesday and Sunday evening, mythic progress in HFC, and sporadic times outside of that when I'm doing stuff on alts etc.

Shameless self plug xoxoxo

https://www.youtube.com/user/TheDOC1988 Going to tidy the channel up a bit. Got rid of a lot of old videos and stuff. Typically my streams go into the video catalogue afterwards

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

epicnamebro just finished his in depth lets play of Dark Souls. He goes into a fair amount of detail on the lore, the items, the game itself. He worked on the guide so he also has a bit of background knowledge that he throws in from time to time

if you like dark souls it's well worth a watch, 50 odd episodes so it's a commitment but it was a fantastic journey. Sad to see it ended now :(

-edit

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLQDWoXFQ-YLpeEFkzeDZF1MmNQS7BDoI4

a link would have been useful

Sooo....

Was anyone a fan of the Fine Bros? :D

Sooo....

Was anyone a fan of the Fine Bros? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Soviet Womble quit his job today to become a full time YouTuber.