Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blessington Lake Cyclist

• 24-01-2016 10:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭

I've seen this before but this morning it really bugged me. On the way around the lake I was behind a group of cyclists and one of the guys in the group eats or drinks something and just flicks the packet up in the air behind him. Disgusting behaviour, you have pockets bring your rubbish home with you, you absolute p***

You are visiting the area. Leave it as you found, we do not want your rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭brianomc

If you recognised the gear they were wearing as being club gear you could contact the club and ask them to remind their members to bring their rubbish home with them.

If it was just a few random people out on a spin then there's probably not much you can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭stackerman

Absolutely and 100% agree, disgusting!
    Can't get my head around that type of mentality.
    I live beside/near the lakes, maybe I could do a quick collection from the road side and dump it on his door, if he'd care to drop me his address

On a related topic, the amount of fly tipping around me has now reached epidemic proportions, mattresses, TVs, rubbish etc etc
    No pride in their country, or themselves for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,871 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

brianomc wrote: »
    If you recognised the gear they were wearing as being club gear you could contact the club and ask them to remind their members to bring their rubbish home with them.

If it was just a few random people out on a spin then there's probably not much you can do.

We sorted him later ,he won't be cycling or the walking in Wicklow again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Wolfsberg

You see this all over the country with the electrolyte gel sachets that cyclists take. Really shows a lack of breeding when people throw these things after taking them. Just like people who toss 20 or more cigarette butts on the ground a day. This just shouldn't be accepted.
    It would be good if the gel sachets were biodegradable.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Wolfsberg wrote: »
    You see this all over the country with the electrolyte gel sachets that cyclists take. Really shows a lack of breeding when people throw these things after taking them. Just like people who toss 20 or more cigarette butts on the ground a day. This just shouldn't be accepted.
    It would be good if the gel sachets were biodegradable.

I will never understand why throwing cigarette butts anywhere you like is deemed 'acceptable' - see runners doing the same thing with gel packets all the time or water bottles in races, carrying them away from aid stations then throwing them over walls into peoples gardens etc :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Plasid

In this country hardly unique to cyclists, fag buts, dog dirt, general rubbish... It's the irish general attitude to rules and poor upbringing.

At least if the cyclist was in a club you might recognise the name on the gear and pass on the message, for the majority of cycle clubs this is unacceptable and would not be ignored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

I will never understand why throwing cigarette butts anywhere you like is deemed 'acceptable' - see runners doing the same thing with gel packets all the time or water bottles in races, carrying them away from aid stations then throwing them over walls into peoples gardens etc :mad:

Terrible indeed - a family member used to hop out at traffic lights, pick up the discarded smoking butt and pop it back into their lap before driving off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭hurikane

Well the good news in this is, I looked up the club from what they were wearing and I can see online they do some good charity work. I'm not as annoyed now having seen they are contributing to charity, still it's unacceptable to be throwing away rubbish like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

hurikane wrote: »
    Well the good news in this is, I looked up the club from what they were wearing and I can see online they do some good charity work. I'm not as annoyed now having seen they are contributing to charity, still it's unacceptable to be throwing away rubbish like that.
    Hurikane. You should still let the club know. A nicely worded email asking that they reiterate the no litter rule should still be sent. They will know who the Sunday regulars are.
    I know that as a former club officer our club would take it seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

I was only thinking about this yesterday on my spin. I was up around Bohernabreena and the amount of rubbish up there is absolutely disgusting. In fairness i actually see very little that is obviously from cyclists but of course i know they do do it. Its an Irish thing though. How these people think doing that in a place like Wicklow is ok is beyond me but we saw it with the bottle banks after Christmas, people see that they are full so they just leave their **** beside them instead of saying ok today its full i'll come back tomorrow. It really makes me sick. I certainly wont be bringing my mate from Sweden cycling where i was yesterday when he comes over, it would be ****ing embarrassing.

Anyway if you see rubbish around Wicklow you should give these guys a call
    http://www.pureproject.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭ezra_

I've seen this before but this morning it really bugged me. On the way around the lake I was behind a group of cyclists and one of the guys in the group eats or drinks something and just flicks the packet up in the air behind him. Disgusting behaviour, you have pockets bring your rubbish home with you, you absolute p***

You are visiting the area. Leave it as you found, we do not want your rubbish.

Completely agree - I've never seen this take place with the group I go out with, you'd have your head taken off pretty sharply if you did.

To restore the reputation of cyclists - a gel wrapper took off out of my hand this morning. Cue 5 minutes of me crawling under a hedge to get it back. AES will deal with it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭ezra_

I was only thinking about this yesterday on my spin. I was up around Bohernabreena and the amount of rubbish up there is absolutely disgusting. In fairness i actually see very little that is obviously from cyclists but of course i know they do do it. Its an Irish thing though. How these people think doing that in a place like Wicklow is ok is beyond me but we saw it with the bottle banks after Christmas, people see that they are full so they just leave their **** beside them instead of saying ok today its full i'll come back tomorrow. It really makes me sick. I certainly wont be bringing my mate from Sweden cycling where i was yesterday when he comes over, it would be ****ing embarrassing.

Anyway if you see rubbish around Wicklow you should give these guys a call
    http://www.pureproject.ie

Unfortunately "Rubbish Left" has become too common a call when out.

Didn't know about group - must start using it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,882 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

brianomc wrote: »

If your in the mood for interval training, pick it up, catch them and shove it down the culprits throat rear pocket of the person who dropped it.
    RainyDay wrote: »
    Terrible indeed - a family member used to hop out at traffic lights, pick up the discarded smoking butt and pop it back into their lap before driving off.
    I done this once, I think I suffer from road rage but it was just the thing that pushed me that day, I handed it back in and calmly told them they dropped it. Full of indignation and adrenaline, I can't remember the conversation but they were accepting of what had happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭Thud

You could try using Strava flyby to identify them (or see who's completed that segment on that date if you weren't using it) then leave a comment.

https://www.strava.com/segments/6706258

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

That's no excuse. You're not exempt from being a filthy dick because a club you belong to sometimes does stuff for charity.

ThisRegard wrote: »

That's no excuse. You're not exempt from being a filthy dick because a club you belong to sometimes does stuff for charity.

I've been trying to figure out an inoffensive way to convey the same sentiment since this was posted. I agree with you 110%.
    When I was a kid a person who would be regarded as a national treasure stole my dog from my garden. My mother saw the incident happen and chased the person in his car, with her car. When she was able to get him to stop and she took the dog out of his car she told him he should be ashamed of himself as such a well known charitable figure and "a man of the cloth". He told her to "go f***" herself.
    Good people do charity. Not so good people do charity.
    I think the club's occasional charity work is irrelevant to this person's littering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭JBokeh

Littering is sickening, but it is maddening when you can tell that a cyclist is the one doing it. it isn't some fat slob in a car lobbing junk out the window, but someone on a bike, who is there to enjoy the outdoors, yet leave a trail of destruction in the very area they're leaving the house to enjoy. You had the space to bring the gel out with you, you've the space to take it home. You even see the pros sticking the packets into their pockets these days

I was renting a house that was on the road that had an annual sportive named after a famous cyclist from the south east. The length of land along side the road was maybe 100m, but the amount of wrappers my dogs would pull out of the hedge would amaze anyone, and i'm assuming that dogs probably shouldn't be eating that crap. There was a water stop in the GAA a few km back the road and people are still taking in gels.
    These aren't bad people either, they just seem to think that it is harmless to fire a wrapper into a hedge because they folded it into a little ball first. I'm not exactly a saint, i've lost a few bidons , and forgotten about gloves, and a CO2 pump repair kit over the years, but I haven't chucked them into someones garden. We literally had it beaten into us as kids not to leave our ****e behind us, and i'm full sure these people are saying the same to their kids (minus the beatings)

Has anybody into mountain biking seen a huge spike in white goods being dumped in woods this winter? My local spot as 3 and another one nearby has 2, at the bottom of a trail I use. The idiots that dump these are especially dumb, seeing as they're paying a levy on the cost of the replacement one so they can dispose of it for FREE in the local tip, yet they would rather drive the car through 3km of potholes and washing machine remains to dump their old one, I'm even sure I heard the delivery driver that gives you your new one is obliged to take back the old one for you

JBokeh wrote: »

Has anybody into mountain biking seen a huge spike in white goods being dumped in woods this winter? My local spot as 3 and another one nearby has 2, at the bottom of a trail I use. The idiots that dump these are especially dumb, seeing as they're paying a levy on the cost of the replacement one so they can dispose of it for FREE in the local tip, yet they would rather drive the car through 3km of potholes and washing machine remains to dump their old one, I'm even sure I heard the delivery driver that gives you your new one is obliged to take back the old one for you
    I dumped an office style water cooler yesterday... Into the custodianship of a very obliging electrical appliance store employee. I didn't have to buy something; I just went in and asked would they take it for recycling. There's been no need to fly-tip electrical stuff for more than 10 years yet it is still far too common. Grrr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

I dumped an office style water cooler yesterday... Into the custodianship of a very obliging electrical appliance store employee. I didn't have to buy something; I just went in and asked would they take it for recycling. There's been no need to fly-tip electrical stuff for more than 10 years yet it is still far too common. Grrr.

Was there ever a need?

No. Never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

A lot of the MTB clubs have done and are doing some general work to keep the trails free of plastic bottles, wrappers etc...

Just like the guys up in Sligo MTB who did a massive clean up of there local woods, though even after the big clean up, more rubbish was found dumped after that!

213ncqc.jpg

I've seen everything from tents, camping chairs, bags of cans and plastic/glass bottles to car bumpers all thrown into forests...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

When I was a kid a person who would be regarded as a national treasure stole my dog from my garden. My mother saw the incident happen and chased the person in his car, with her car. When she was able to get him to stop and she took the dog out of his car she told him he should be ashamed of himself as such a well known charitable figure and "a man of the cloth". He told her to "go f***" herself.

And Louis Copeland always seemed so urbane.