Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I use "photographer" word to describe myself?

Options
  • 16-01-2016 3:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭

Simple question:
    What makes me a photographer? I mean, can i tell to people that I am a photographer?

Comments

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,381 Mod ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Yep. There are only a few trades in Ireland you can't call yourself - Garda, solicitor, judge ... but anyone can call themselves a photographer.

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭Stellaluna

If you take photographs then you are a photographer - good, bad or otherwise. It's not a professional title as such (correct me if I'm wrong). Perhaps it depends more on who you're speaking to and what their expectations of a photographer might be.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,492 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i suppose the question you're asking may depend on the context. calling yourself a photographer (which is perfectly legit if you practice photography) may imply to some people that you're a pro. if you're worried that people may misunderstand you, 'amateur photographer' may be a better term to use?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,426 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Yeah agree with Magic, it could be misleading depending on context. A bit like saying you're a fisherman but work in accounting and occasionally do some mackerel fishing.

In what context are you intending to use it?

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭killym

humberklog wrote: »