Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday

• 15-01-2016 10:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,926 ✭✭✭✭

Only a very small bet for me, but I am absolutely certain that this horse will be winning a race very soon (just maybe not tomorrow).

Mad Brian scrapes into a hurdle handicap off a mark of 121 in the 3:05 at Naas tomorrow. Not seen on track in 734, what makes this one even more interesting is the fact it has a handicap rating over fences of 140. 2nd in the Troytown over two years ago, it was last seen in a novices chase at Navan were it battered the opposition before falling at the last lengths ahead of the nearest horse. Down in trip to 2m and over hurdles, this could very well be a prep race, but it may also be that connections are hoping to take advantage of this ones low handicap mark over the hurdles. At ten years of age, time is running down on the horses best days, so I am happy to take a punt on this at 12/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Only a very small bet for me, but I am absolutely certain that this horse will be winning a race very soon (just maybe not tomorrow).

Mad Brian scrapes into a hurdle handicap off a mark of 121 in the 3:05 at Naas tomorrow. Not seen on track in 734, what makes this one even more interesting is the fact it has a handicap rating over fences of 140. 2nd in the Troytown over two years ago, it was last seen in a novices chase at Navan were it battered the opposition before falling at the last lengths ahead of the nearest horse. Down in trip to 2m and over hurdles, this could very well be a prep race, but it may also be that connections are hoping to take advantage of this ones low handicap mark over the hurdles. At ten years of age, time is running down on the horses best days, so I am happy to take a punt on this at 12/1.

And his 1st run over hurdles he should've beaten Morning assembly(only he had the trainers brother aka a cardboard cutout riding) who went on to win a grade 1 hurdle and achieve a rating of 146 over hurdles ;)
    A friend of mine used to own a few legs in a horse in the yard and they're not shy to punt one they fancy(we had a good go on Mad Brian that day behind Morning assembly) and let's just say we weren't delighted with the ride :rolleyes: If he's going to win tomorrow i'd expect a sea of blue around 10/11 in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Ton of money for Elliott raider Dove Mountain 3.30 Lingfield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Backed Voyage A New York who has disappointed in a few runs this season but this is a massive drop in class, running better than the bare result last time in a strong race and pulled up the time before when well backed. Handicapper has been very generous and if he runs anywhere near the run that saw him beat Wakanda (last won a handicap off 151) then a mark of 112 is well within his range. 25/1 20s still around

Two riskier all weather ones, Understory at Lingfield 12/1 and Menelik at Chelmsford at 9s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

They've had it right off in the Nass bumper. Emmet Mullins yoke 8's into evens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,926 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

According to Patrick Mullins himself (and in fairness, he doesn't tell fibs) - his horse in the last at Ireland is a penalty kick. Going to throw it and Willie's other horses into a lucky 15 and see where it takes me.

Value probably gone Francie.

ShaneU wrote: »
    Ton of money for Elliott raider Dove Mountain 3.30 Lingfield

Was well punted St Stephens day before being withdrawn, has had a cardboard cutout riding the last few times and interesting to see the money arrive now there's a proper pilot on board,can see it pissing in.

It was a far worse race Stephens Day bad as this one is. He's plenty short

And i see he's joined the Gordon Elliott racing club now too,they've not had a winner yet so i'd say this could be the one. They'll be keen to get one on the board soon.

BumperD wrote: »
    They've had it right off in the Nass bumper. Emmet Mullins yoke 8's into evens

Can't see how he could've been 8's anywhere unless one of the Mickey Mouse firms opened at that for a fiver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭sdoc13

Backed Voyage A New York who has disappointed in a few runs this season but this is a massive drop in class, running better than the bare result last time in a strong race and pulled up the time before when well backed. Handicapper has been very generous and if he runs anywhere near the run that saw him beat Wakanda (last won a handicap off 151) then a mark of 112 is well within his range. 25/1 20s still around

Two riskier all weather ones, Understory at Lingfield 12/1 and Menelik at Chelmsford at 9s

Agree on the two AW ones. If Understory had a better draw would be having a decent bet.

Followed blind on the Fox runner.

I think Pete the feat is decent value at 50s on the exchange and have had 1 pt win 15 35 Warick.

Can anyone bring themselves to take a punt on Swnymor tomorrow? Even at a career low rating, I find I have to pass.

Can't see how he could've been 8's anywhere unless one of the Mickey Mouse firms opened at that for a fiver.

Maybe right. Tissue 8/1. Just logged on and blue across oddschecker so maybe he wasn't that big. Any way of checking

Just checked there on Oddschecker history, 7/2 was best price available and on the face of it it'd seem a significant move but the night before only a few hundred quid would probably move it that much,be good to see if he stays around that price come 12 o clock tomorrow or if he drifts.

Can anyone bring themselves to take a punt on Swnymor tomorrow? Even at a career low rating, I find I have to pass.

Dam it francie I hadnt seen it.

Someone is backing it, a lot of blue on oddschecker. I might have a small bet at 25s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

thing with most of these gambles is once the money is down, any value is gone.

that Eiri Na Casca that someone got a tip for over Xmas is going again tomorrow, gotta be worth one last shot at 8/1.

also fancy Houblon Des Obeaux down to a decent mark in the slog at Warwick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭idnkph

fancy De Kerry Man in 3;35 at warick 9/1. Has won P2P's on heavy going carrying 12st. Carrying Only 10st tomorrow on heavy the extra 5f will be no hassle I hope.

Howaboutnever in the 2;35 warick also grabs me. Course and distance AND going winner. 15/2 has to be worth a euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Ladbrokes are laying an overround of 134% in the Classic Chase at Warwick tomorrow.

Criminal

Nulty wrote: »
    Ladbrokes are laying an overround of 134% in the Classic Chase at Warwick tomorrow.

Criminal

This is why they are in administration. Poor business decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭lemush

Criminal
    Anybody who can get a bet on with that firm should stop betting immediately.

They're joint top price on four runners at the moment. Lad-brokes

Stanjames are top price on every horse.Haven't calculated that overround though

102.7 I make it. Bit of a difference from lads 134.

About 102/103ish i think from a quick calculation. Brave boys,but what will they accept?

I got closed the other day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Two horse's that I really like running today maybe heart ruling head
    Warwick
    2.25 According to Trev 20-1 back hurdling today very quirky individual very capable winner off this mark if primed.

3.35 Vivaldi Collonge very thorough stayer low head carriage very likeable horse will plough through any ground and is the value in this race at 9-1

Good luck all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭uxiant

Stan James are a joke of a bookie. Accounts get restricted after a couple of bets. Good luck getting on more than a couple of quid at their prices.

I took Ladbrokes process from last night though and between 6pm on Friday and 9am on Saturday the worst prices are available across the board.

And in the 15 minutes before the off

I'd rather get 10 quid on at a good price than 100 at a bad one

Pont Alexandras bubble burst somewhat. No more heroes form boosted. Roll on March,Bryan don't screw it up this time like last year :pac:

Edwulf pulled away from Haymount quite nicely there. Seemed fairly clear to me that Geraghty was keen to keep a firm hold on it as well. I'm telling you lads, young Joseph is going to be some trainer and Willie won't be having it all his own way come next season.

He doesn't have the ammunition to lay a finger on Mullins

Edwulf pulled away from Haymount quite nicely there. Seemed fairly clear to me that Geraghty was keen to keep a firm hold on it as well. I'm telling you lads, young Joseph is going to be some trainer and Willie won't be having it all his own way come next season.

Give the lad time,5 years more realistic.

He doesn't have the ammunition to lay a finger on Mullins
    His father will identify potential jumpers from his stable and JP will buy them and send them over to Joseph. I've been watching the stable closely, it's clear a lot of horses are being prepped to be switched over to jumps. This time next year, they'll have a good few decent maiden/novice horses ready for the season. Will be fascinating to see how they stack up against Willie's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Thomas Hobson is a game animal, he was threading water there coming to the last and really stuck his head out. What a job Willie has done with his jumping.

I think Dromnea can run into a place at Warwick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭idnkph

According to Patrick Mullins himself (and in fairness, he doesn't tell fibs) - his horse in the last at Ireland is a penalty kick. Going to throw it and Willie's other horses into a lucky 15 and see where it takes me.

which horses did you pick Francie? So far so good?

I hope so

3rd after getting hampered 3 or 4 times. Who knows what could've happened.....

Backed him place only so happy with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭jonnygiles

The Comediologist was a joke of a runner there, pun intended

jonnygiles wrote: »
    The Comediologist was a joke of a runner there, pun intended

Green as grass,worth following next time i reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭jonnygiles

Green as grass,worth following next time i reckon.

Wouldnt be so sure, didnt find anything off the bridle at all when well in contention it seemed. Went backwards to me

jonnygiles wrote: »
    Wouldnt be so sure, didnt find anything off the bridle at all when well in contention it seemed. Went backwards to me

That's what i meant,looked like he didn't know what he was meant to do when asked to pick up,he should learn from it,or he could just be a monkey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

that Eiri Na Casca that someone got a tip for over Xmas is going again tomorrow, gotta be worth one last shot at 8/1.

Was me, didn't back it today of course, thought 2 miles was sharp enough :(