Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trailer regs, 4x4 and the wife.

• 13-01-2016 8:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭

I am trying to convince the misses to change her car for a jeep so i can tow the cattle every so often problem is she likes little micra type cars which I hate. I sold her last car when she went on holidays and bought her a Saab. Which she wasn't too happy about but it was done so she had to deal with it. Now I drive a long wheel base iveco daily to anyone that knows them will know with the length and set up they aren't suited for trailers. I've been trying to convince herself gradually into the jeep idea and I just couldn't justify having a van car and jeep at the house. So I was thinking of selling the car and buying something like a pathfinder or the likes but still hope to tax it commercial. Now my questions are: what are my options out there jeep wise that will still tow a decent load, look presentable enough that she'll drive it and still be commercially taxable. How do I convince herself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Miname wrote: »
    . I sold her last car when she went on holidays

How are you still alive? :D

Only answer is to buy her a Range Rover Evoque.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/land-rover-evoque/11263814

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

I am trying to convince the misses to change her car for a jeep so i can tow the cattle every so often problem is she likes little micra type cars which I hate. I sold her last car when she went on holidays and bought her a Saab. Which she wasn't too happy about but it was done so she had to deal with it. Now I drive a long wheel base iveco daily to anyone that knows them will know with the length and set up they aren't suited for trailers. I've been trying to convince herself gradually into the jeep idea and I just couldn't justify having a van car and jeep at the house. So I was thinking of selling the car and buying something like a pathfinder or the likes but still hope to tax it commercial. Now my questions are: what are my options out there jeep wise that will still tow a decent load, look presentable enough that she'll drive it and still be commercially taxable. How do I convince herself?

Might be easier to change the wife altogether!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,223 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

we have a landcruiser passenger automatic with commercial tax, very comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Grueller

I'll swap wives cos mine is mad for passenger lwb land cruiser. I'd rather buy and run a micra.

I'm not surprised she goes on Holidays without you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

whelan2 wrote: »
    we have a landcruiser passenger automatic with commercial tax, very comfortable.

A decent land cruiser is serious money, this thing might at a push clock up 10k km a year.

Grueller wrote: »
    I'll swap wives cos mine is mad for passenger lwb land cruiser. I'd rather buy and run a micra.

Post up a few pics and send over a few sample dinners and sure we might be able to crack out a deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Legend. That's all.

Articulated truck cab for Mrs. Miname next time she heads off to the Algarve.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    How are you still alive? :D

Only answer is to buy her a Range Rover Evoque.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/land-rover-evoque/11263814

I'd never get away with just wiping the big lumps of cow ****e off in the grass before I'd get into it. It would look great too with an I for Williams covered in muck behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

What size trailer have you for pulling ?

You could nearly use the iveco for loading the cattle into , they're some size of a bus :D

Bullocks wrote: »
    What size trailer have you for pulling ?

You could nearly use the iveco for loading the cattle into , they're some size of a bus :D

A live load in the back would topple it in seconds, not that I'll probably end up trying it, problem is the smell of sh1t of tools and materials would be cruel.There's sixteen foot clear in the back of it alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

I'd never get away with just wiping the big lumps of cow ****e off in the grass before I'd get into it. It would look great too with an I for Williams covered in muck behind it.

My jeep used to have nice cream leather seats
    But now they are more a tinge of green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Pacoa wrote: »

Holy moly...a lad would get quare looks bringing that with ivor williams into mart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Fuxake

F'geddit. She's not gonna be happy being exploited like that. Anyway, the economics make no sense if you only need it the odd time. Compare the MPG of a jeep with a fuel efficient car. Way worse, then consider that 90% of the time the jeep will be ating diesel to ferry your Mrs around doing women's stuff like shopping and meeting the girls for coffee and I dunno your situation but maybe picking up the sprogs from school. Then compare tax and insurance. Then depreciation. Then maybe higher toll charges depending.

So how many cattle you gotta move how often? I pretty much guarantee that you'll save the cost of hiring a lorry by multiples. Plus you don't have to take time off whatever it is you are doing which presumably earns you money; you just pick up the mobile, truck comes and cattle go to factory and you go to work. even if going to the mart, it's still less hassle.

Only downside is you feel less able to say no when selling at the ring if you think too much about cost of bringing stock home. Even then, there's surely loads of neighbours/ mates who would be happy to bring home stock for a small touch. (Don't treat this as a favour, give em what's fair eg 20-50 depending on if you are near a mart...)

As for other non livestock jobs, same thing. Use the van where feasible. And in general, when getting stuff get in bulk, use the mobile and get it delivered. I absolutely promise you will save a fortune compared to the cost of running a jeep you don't really need, pissing off the Mrs and then to cap it all Robocop will do you sooner or later for some technicality when hauling.

Oh and I assume you don't have to do the Darragh and take a trailer test!

And sell the Ivor Williams before it gets stole.

A decent land cruiser is serious money, this thing might at a push clock up 10k km a year.

Paid just under 10k for ours in 2014. 333 tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

The rsa and garda are clamping down on using a commercial taxed vehicle for private or personal use

Ok if you get away with it, if you're caught you're walking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭madmac187

Easily got around carry some farming parafanalia in the boot, like a sprang, length of Waven or a pair of mucky cow ****e wellies lol

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I think you should ask herself what she thinks this time.

After that, all I can add is I have a SWB land cruiser and I'd be lost without it, yes they are a pig on diesel, but it's their only major fault, at one stage it was costing €120 to fill it, for about 480 miles to the tank fill.

After that there is tax, 333, doe 111, tyres roughly every two years, insurance 450ish, bits and bobs maintenance roughly 3-400 a year, (mostly bushings:() My mechanic says the pre D4D ones are way better, but they are getting on a bit now. Lots of rich ppl in this country (not farmers), running a range rover as a family car and taxing it commercial.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

orm0nd wrote: »
    The rsa and garda are clamping down on using a commercial taxed vehicle for private or personal use

Ok if you get away with it, if you're caught you're walking

This is a bit of a grey area with farming as you could be just going to town for supplies vets agri store etc. and have young kids come along for the spin or maybe looking after them while wife is at work.
    This regularly happened with me but my Jeep is taxed private.
    Can insurance get tricky if you have en accident with private insurance during work like towing livestock.
    The funny thing is private insurance is now cheaper than commercial in many newer low emission cars and Jeeps so I don't know what they are trying to save the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭grizzlyadams

madmac187 wrote: »
    Easily got around carry some farming parafanalia in the boot, like a sprang, length of Waven or a pair of mucky cow ****e wellies lol

I think you mean "fork" -:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

Have a 05 SWB LC here. Would be lost without it. Basically used as a second car and for farm work. The wife loves to drive it! Got some major work done to it recently (New Clutch, injectors etc) but should last another 10 years. Never had an issue with taxing it commercially, the back is full of farm stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Tail painter

I think an honest discussion with the wife might be helpful rather than trying to 'convince ' her. A divorce could be a lot more costly than a jeep.
    I have a crew cab Ranger and it is a great yoke for farming. Not good for parking in town because of its size. I'd rather a micra for the town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Something like a Santa Fe would maybe double up for both? Mother had a Suzuki Grand Vitari and manages it the best is another option, or you could look into the likes of a Subaru Forester. Depends how much you want to tow also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭paddysdream

I think you mean "fork" -:)
    Think he means a "sprong" ie what civilised people call a four grained fork.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

4. s. Prong Pike !

djmc wrote: »
    4. s. Prong Pike !
    From this very comprehensive poll its a FORK http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=97815531

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

whelan2 wrote: »
    From this very comprehensive poll its a FORK http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=97815531

And now to give you a pike back to the matter in hand........

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,307 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Think he means a "sprong" ie what civilised people call a four grained fork.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Are yes talking abot a 'grape' ??

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

cjmc wrote: »
    Are yes talking abot a 'grape' ??

*cough, cough*

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭madmac187

Nope still a sprang lol and an aul but of bailer twine and half a bail of hay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I never, ever thought I'd say put all these words together in a sentence. We have a thread dedicated to pikes, forks and grapes so can we get back to discussing Miname's wife? :D

Kovu wrote: »
    I never, ever thought I'd say put all these words together in a sentence. We have a thread dedicated to pikes, forks and grapes so can we get back to discussing Miname's wife? :D

My only advice is don't let her near a sprong, pike, fork or even a spade, if she reads this thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

My only advice is don't let her near a sprong, pike, fork or even a spade, if she reads this thread!

I dunno....she must be fairly level headed if Miname is still alive after that stunt while she was on holiday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭cjpm

Kovu wrote: »
    I dunno....she must be fairly level headed if Miname is still alive after that stunt while she was on holiday :D

I actually LOL'd when I read it. What a ledg!!

C0N0R wrote: »
    Something like a Santa Fe would maybe double up for both? Mother had a Suzuki Grand Vitari and manages it the best is another option, or you could look into the likes of a Subaru Forester. Depends how much you want to tow also.

Looked at a Santa Fe but is pointless towing with them, tried a neighbours and he told me to stay away. I'd like a hilux but I had trouble convincing her to drive a saloon so I can't see her in that, also she's the next best thing to having ocd about cleaning and I'm likely to have anything in the back of it.

I don't know your need for towing but I did a kind of compromise and got a kia sportage
    It's not a car and not a real Jeep work horse either.
    It's fine for calves a few weanlings or a cow
    If I'm selling any number of cattle
    I get a local lad with a truck and the mart takes money for transport and pays him.
    It's perfect for calves or weanlings builders trailer moving quad etc.
    Has 4x4 but no low box but its pepy and comfortable on long drives
    Similar to Tuscan or Hyundai ix35 , Nissan quasca ,Suzuki vitara,Toyota rav,Honda crv etc.
    I think the Suzuki might have a low box which would be handy going up a steep hill with a load on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

What weight are you hoping to pull?
    You might get away wit a rav 4 if it's only to pull light loads

ganmo wrote: »
    What weight are you hoping to pull?
    You might get away wit a rav 4 if it's only to pull light loads

There's no point saying il only be pulling light loads because while I say that with great enthusiasm. I usually end up with all sorts of everything. I would be towing cattle every month for some reason or another either over to an out farm or the mart and I also usually end up having to pick up materials or equipment with work and this could be anywhere.