Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Please Help - Charge tax for services?

Options
  • 08-01-2016 11:11am
    Registered Users Posts: 42

Hi guys,

Would anyone please help me with this?

I am a sole trader (no VAT registered) and provide advisory service to company in the EU, not in Ireland.

Let's say they pay me 500 monthly. Should I send them invoice for 500+23% and then pay the VAT back here in Ireland? If so, once per year only?

Or should I only invoice them 500 and that is it?

Sorry, if it is silly question. Could not find straight answer.

Many thanks to whoever can help me!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 236 ✭✭adrianw

Hi guys,

Would anyone please help me with this?

I am a sole trader (no VAT registered) and provide advisory service to company in the EU, not in Ireland.

Let's say they pay me 500 monthly. Should I send them invoice for 500+23% and then pay the VAT back here in Ireland? If so, once per year only?

Or should I only invoice them 500 and that is it?

Sorry, if it is silly question. Could not find straight answer.

Many thanks to whoever can help me!

Firstly, If you're not VAT registered you don't charge VAT.

Secondly, even if you were, Irish VAT would not apply. The recipient would self account for VAT in their home country.

So invoice for EUR500.

• Registered Users Posts: 42 infoinfoinfo

And I will then have to pay tax on the 500? Would I pay VAT on that or other tax?

If I do, I would have to invoice for 615 to cover my taxes?

Thank you!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭relax carry on