Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best pump agitator to buy

• 04-01-2016 3:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭

What's the best slurry agitator to buy? Priced a nc 3800 for 5000 Inc vat and a cross sa2 8ft semi hydrolic for 6500 Inc vat. Anything better on the market than these?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Nc all the way, great pump we have the nc3000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

Agree with Jj above. Great pump got a new 3000 last year had the smaller version before for 24 years(bought in rds at a spring show) served us very well!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Nc are a great pump but the ones were you have to hook on and off the shaft to move are a pain in the hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭grass n slurry

Agree with Jj above. Great pump got a new 3000 last year had the smaller version before for 24 years(bought in rds at a spring show) served us very well!!

Can you leave the shaft on when moving from rant to tank on the 3000?

Nc seem to be the most popular, what did ye pay for the 3000?

No have to remove shaft but it's what I'm used to so don't find it a problem. As for the price I have 3200 in my mind but could be wrong. Docket is in the home place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

You can move a 3000 from tank to tank with the pto shaft attached, depending on the height your tractor lifts to and the height of your tractor. You will only have 3 or 4 inches clearance at the ground, but this is enough when on concrete. Close the back window if you don't want to lose it, though!

Edit. The "props" that catch the undersides of the lift arms have two height settings, to allow more lift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭fanmanad

Have a NC 3000 here. Have to take off the shaft when moving but don't be doing that much anyway. It is galvanised and was 3300 + vat but that's 10 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭C0N0R

trixi2011 wrote: »
    Nc are a great pump but the ones were you have to hook on and off the shaft to move are a pain in the hole

Guy I do a bit of work with has both types and the lads will go for the one where you have to hook the shaft on and off sooner than the other one! Easy putting on the tractor first time I suppose.

Would any of ye ever buy a second hand agitator? Seen 2nd hand cross today fully cheaked over and all hydrolic for 3k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,488 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Would any of ye ever buy a second hand agitator? Seen 2nd hand cross today fully cheaked over and all hydrolic for 3k
    we have a cross from new, about 15 years now, got bearings and a few other things done on it last year, great pump

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Ya took a chance and bought a used wexoman a few years ago, had to replace the bottom vanes and bearing, incl. repairs it was approx €1800. I try only do my own work though, at least I have a fair idea what's in my own tank.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

blue5000 wrote: »
    Ya took a chance and bought a used wexoman a few years ago, had to replace the bottom vanes and bearing, incl. repairs it was approx €1800. I try only do my own work though, at least I have a fair idea what's in my own tank.

Wexoman here as well, bought new around 10 yrs ago. It's an ok agitator. Are they still being made?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

It's a few years since I got the complete rotor made up by wexoman, AFAIK they still make them, probably only making them to order though.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

whelan2 wrote: »
    we have a cross from new, about 15 years now, got bearings and a few other things done on it last year, great pump
    I was looking at a 2nd hand cross yesterday, it will be all done up and fully cheaked over and dealer will stand over it, he is looking for 3 grand for it, tempting compare to the price of a new one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,488 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I was looking at a 2nd hand cross yesterday, it will be all done up and fully cheaked over and dealer will stand over it, he is looking for 3 grand for it, tempting compare to the price of a new one
    Couldnt fault it tbh, we always had nc pumps before but they were like paper compared to this. Hope to get another 10 years a least out of it

Any one have a redrock? Ud get a redrock super flow for 4500 Inc vat with top fill and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭epfff

What's the problems with the bargain basement stuff Fleming and the likes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭invicta

On my second Cross here,fully hydrolic,this time,great agitator,but go the extra yard and go fully hydrolic
    For that money,I wouldn't pass it

Just checked docket thie evening €4200 all in last March for nc 3000