Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What did you learn in 2015?

• 29-12-2015 9:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,332 ✭✭✭✭

I learnt that a fork is a fork :D That the IFA are as it stands not fit for purpose. That the farm wont fall down if I go away for a few days. Ignore any sales rep that calls at milking time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Being a parent is the hardest job you'll ever do!! Boy did l find out!!!!!

https://youtu.be/uFQfylQ2Jgg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

whelan2 wrote: »
    I learnt that a fork is a fork :D That the IFA are as it stands not fit for purpose. That the farm wont fall down if I go away for a few days. Ignore any sales rep that calls at milking time
    I learnt that a fork is for eating your dinner :) and a four prong pike is for piking.
    I'd 100% agree with you on the IFA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Muckit wrote: »
    Being a parent is the hardest job you'll ever do!! Boy did l find out!!!!!

https://youtu.be/uFQfylQ2Jgg
    Just leave that job to the wife.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Just leave that job to the wife.

Then I'd end up with no wife, no kid, no house and half a farm...... easier just get stuck in!!!

Look l realise it's a generational thing ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭einn32

Learnt so much this year in terms of milking, machinery, maintenance, husbandry, cropping, sheep and that I like farming as a career most of the time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Hangovers get worse when ya have kids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

My farm could have taken another 40 cows last yr :/

I said wrote: »

l bought a slab for the Christmas and plastic hasn't been broken on it yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,332 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

best avoided, as the night you have a load of drink is the night one of them will be sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

I did the absolute dog on it a couple of Saturdays back, knowing that herself was going Christmas shopping the following day. I drove the porcelain bus twice on Sunday, while babysitting an impatient toddler!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

I did the absolute dog on it a couple of Saturdays back, knowing that herself was going Christmas shopping the following day. I drove the porcelain bus twice on Sunday, while babysitting an impatient toddler!
    We had our work do, Christmas week and herself wanted me to go shopping the next day. Let's just say it will never happen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,555 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Miname wrote: »
    We had our work do, Christmas week and herself wanted me to go shopping the next day. Let's just say it will never happen again.

Sure isn't that what ye all say :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭visatorro

Miname wrote:

which, the drink or the shopping?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

whelan2 wrote: »
    That the farm wont fall down if I go away for a few days.

Obviously you have good staff you lucky farmer. Learnt that when things go bad or get tough attitude really means more than experience.

Patience and being a good listener definitely gets you further than having a temper and shouting.

If possible, cut a**holes off at the first chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

visatorro wrote: »
    which, the drink or the shopping?!

The shopping, everyone hitting off me with trollers and buggies and jumping across people to get the last slice pan. Never again ,also I don't think they appreciated the hangover I had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

The most valuable lesson I learned probably is, that there is no substitute for hard work

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Learnt that a lot can be achieved by stating your case calmly and clearly, and standing your ground, after a few swear words for emphasis first of course.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Aska

Learned that once I made the decision to sell the dairy herd and lease the land that my underlying depression left too.

Even the woman says there's a change in me. As most of ye will atest to, being under pressure for money from the 30th of the previous month till milk cheque day can be a hard pill to swallow every month.

Now I'm in the process of buying a new truck and going back at the UK/Ireland haulage game.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭visatorro

Aska wrote: »
    Learned that once I made the decision to sell the dairy herd and lease the land that my underlying depression left too.

Even the woman says there's a change in me. As most of ye will atest to, being under pressure for money from the 30th of the previous month till milk cheque day can be a hard pill to swallow every month.

Now I'm in the process of buying a new truck and going back at the UK/Ireland haulage game.....

grand job, sure I want anything brought back I know who to ask!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

visatorro wrote: »
    grand job, sure I want anything brought back I know who to ask!!

Oh ya and hopefully there will be a good boards discount !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Ever think of doing some Continental work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I've seen how tough this contracting can be even on a small scale, always research your decisions and don't let a little c#*nt of a sales person push you into it. The biggest lesson of all was understanding the term "cancer is a battle" i never understood that term until early this year, when my mother got diagnosed it was a constant battle from day 1 in 2013 until now.Thankfully all the battling is now over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Delighted for you. All the best for the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,827 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Learned that I will keep plugging away with the oul P/T farming even tho the OH sees there is sweet F all out of it;).....
    Sure isn't there fresh air!!

Healthy and safe 2016 to ye all farming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

I learned that 2 kids under 2 are 4 times the work of one. Baby maths.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I learned that 2 kids under 2 are 4 times the work of one. Baby maths.

I hear 4 under the age of 4 are tough going too.:eek: But I reckon 4x4 would be worse again;)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Capercaillie

0.5% round-up will help nettles grow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

blue5000 wrote: »
    I hear 4 under the age of 4 are tough going too.:eek: But I reckon 4x4 would be worse again;)

My uncle and his wife had 4 under 4 and a half! I suppose they thought they'd get it over and done with quick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,555 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

My uncle and his wife had 4 under 4 and a half! I suppose they thought they'd get it over and done with quick!
    Once in nappies stay in nappies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Aska

Dawggone wrote: »
    Ever think of doing some Continental work?

Not really to be honest, I think there is quite enough to keep me occupied within Ireland & UK, but you can't rule anything out anymore. As they say, you go where the money is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Belongamick

Buy a mixture of weanlings, Red Limos, Black Lomos, CHarl, Bel Blue and an odd Angus. Part time farming, summer grazing, small bit of rolled barley and sell in November.
    This year I learned that the Red Limo is the most efficent converter of grass, grain or silage to a great looking beef animal.
    Example, I had two left to go to mart, one was a good Bel Blue cross, second a Red Limo. Bel Blue was 6 weeks older and 10Kg heavier but Red Lime went Eur150 more - same inputs, different result.
    With the Red Limo there seems to be a higher possibity of delievering a better finished animal. Full time breeders and professional farmers have probably seen this often but this year was as good as a better farm walk day for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Not really to be honest, I think there is quite enough to keep me occupied within Ireland & UK, but you can't rule anything out anymore. As they say, you go where the money is

Was at that craic years ago. The traffic in the UK used to annoy me.
    Fridge work or dry goods?
    Groupage?

I used to like continent work...that was before mobile phones, gps etc. I must have 200kg of maps still!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

I learnt that I can make ago of part time farming without it crippling the finances

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

I learnt that I can make ago of part time farming without it crippling the finances

Give it time...

;):):)