Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Santa forgot me this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

All very good gear there! I'd be picking up Bilt Hamber's Snow Foam too to go with the lance. A second bucket and get grit guards for both and a nice shampoo and you'd be sorted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭crasy dash

Thanks for the reply foxhole next problem is to tackle some swirls on the paintwork.

looking at a kit on the d and d detailing website so that will be next any advice on what grade pads to use on a Audi paintwork?

crasy dash wrote: »
    Thanks for the reply foxhole next problem is to tackle some swirls on the paintwork.

looking at a kit on the d and d detailing website so that will be next any advice on what grade pads to use on a Audi paintwork?

I actually corrected both my BMW's paint all with products from D&D and Detailing Shed, BMW paint would be similar to Audi in that it's a hard paint. I used Menzerna Heavy Cut 300 on a 2D Yellow Pad, Menzerna PF 2200 on a 2D Diamond Glide White Pad and finally Menzerna FG 3800 on a 2D Black Finishing Pad. This was all done using their Orbital DA-Pro. Would highly recommend all of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

Well, you've got the basics covered - and Foxhole has given some good advice; especially going for the Pro version of the DA if you do venture down that route! ;)

Thanks for the tips lads hope to go get a da in the next month all going well.

Will wait till next week to order the few bits mentioned above let the rush after Christmas settle down.

I guess detailing shed will be back open on the 4th.

Thanks foxhole great reply exactly what I needed to know are the 2d pads better than the hexlogic ones?

Not familiar with the 2D pads, but the Hex Logic ones are good. Give that you have hard paint, perhaps even venturing into the Microfiber pads might be worth considering, as they offer more cut, which you may be grateful to have when using a DA on harder paints!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Spike Witwicky

Santy forgot me too this year :(
    So like you OP i had to buy me own pressie. Put an order in with Detailing Shed for some BH Korrosol, CG Butter Wet Wax and CG Microfibre Wash

Agreed with Curran on the Microfibre pads. I got the CG Black Optics cutting and finishing pads and found them very good

Thanks for the input spikey will look into the microfibre pads by cg and will update all before I place my order.

Might be an expensive Christmas this year haha

Thanks for the tips lads hope to go get a da in the next month all going well.

Will wait till next week to order the few bits mentioned above let the rush after Christmas settle down.

I guess detailing shed will be back open on the 4th.

Thanks foxhole great reply exactly what I needed to know are the 2d pads better than the hexlogic ones?

I'm not sure which is better to be honest as I've only used the 2D ones but I would expect the Hex Logic to be a bit better, will be trying them next but I was very happy with the cut of the 2D Pads.

Thanks for the reply sorry for the slow reply back to work so I'm under pressure again.

Will update ye when my new toys arrive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

I tried various pads.
    Always preferred the Hex pads.
    Also. One thing I will say about the Menz polish range, It is pretty dusty.

Thanks for that as the weather is so poor at the moment I won't be able to do anything for maybe a few weeks.

After I rectify the paint what would you recommend I do to finish the process.

Thanks all, my terminology probably isn't correct so feel free to correct me I'm.ignorant to the process.

Thanks for that as the weather is so poor at the moment I won't be able to do anything for maybe a few weeks.

After I rectify the paint what would you recommend I do to finish the process.

Thanks all, my terminology probably isn't correct so feel free to correct me I'm.ignorant to the process.

After polishing you'll want to wax it or seal it to protect what you've done. There are many options here between regular waxes like Autoglym HD Wax to Sealants like Fusso to Ceramic Coatings like CarPro Deluxe, Curran would be able to advise you on this better than I would :)

@foxhole do you mind if I pm you just want to ask you a question?

Fire away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,883 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I hope you spam him :pac:

Haha don't have time today back to work.

Happy days the nightline courier arrived today and dropped me my first present:D

Very nice! :)

Hope the weather improves soon and take lots of pictures! :)

The weather is driving me nuts at the moment can change every five min cant get any time at the car.

Only thing I got done lately was the windscreen nozzles were blocked not anymore.

Be placing that order next week with detailing shed got a bit carried away buying the polisher haha.

Curran any advice on a product to use after I do use it on the car.

What colour is the car? Are you looking for all out shine and gloss or would you rather some durability? Budget?

Car colour is red,always love the wet glossy look myself.

Due to the weather at the moment durability would be of more importance I'd say.

As I'm only a complete novice I'm here to be educated.

Just want to get the correct product so we might worry about the budget later