Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ran out of heating oil

• 24-12-2015 10:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭

God bloody damn it. It's our first Christmas in our own place with our 10 month old and the oil just ran out. I checked everything else. Why didn't I think of it?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭Steven81

You wont forget it again, will be air locked in system too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

That sucks op. Can yo light a fire/stove? Or borrow some electric heaters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Oh ..the missus wont be happy..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 266 ✭✭Clive Bisquette

God bloody damn it. It's our first Christmas in our own place with our 10 month old and the oil just ran out. I checked everything else. Why didn't I think of it?!!

**** happens Bud ! Hope you have alternate heating ?

Not checking on the oil was a bad blunder.....doubt very much if you checked anything at all ....:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Get some diesel from the petrol station, will tide you over!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭sennah

Do any near by filling stations have a Kero pump? Some of the smaller stations will sell 25 litre jars of Kero which will get you over Christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

We can fix the airlock ourselves so thats not a problem. Trying to figure out how soon we can get a delivery :( I bought bloody spare lightbulbs and a torch just in case but never thought to check the tank. We have an open fire but with a mobile toddler that ones a bit dangerous. One oil heater usually in his bedroom, will just have to drag it up and down the stairs for a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

Would a friend or neighbour let you siphon a few gallons from their tank?

sennah wrote: »
    Do any near by filling stations have a Kero pump? Some of the smaller stations will sell 25 litre jars of Kero which will get you over Christmas

Really? We're in North Kildare. I know I've seen that at home in Mayo but not up this end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

If u can find a petrol station open green diesel will work just as well until oil deliveries resume. Bleeding the burner isn't a big deal. Just let air out via nut or screw until oil comes. Let it run for a while into a bucket because when the tank runs out a lot of dirt can get into the fuel so let it run for a while before letting it through to the burner. Wear gloves because diesel is a killer on the hands.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,712 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

If not maybe you could call over to a family member/neighbour who you get on with and ask could they loan you some ? You could syphon some out using a hose !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,961 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

There may be a garage open tonight or tomorrow that sells heating oil in 20 litre containers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭JBokeh

Some of the local coal/fuel suppliers will sell you a 25L drum of it at a vastly inflated price, but it should see you until monday at least.

Bleeding the burner is easy, theres a bolt where the fuel pipe goes into the boiler, loosen it a crack when you're turning the pump on, it will bubble, keep turning the burner of and on,until the bubbles turn into a steady flow, and nip the bolt back down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

If your in North Kildare, do you know any farmer? 25Litre drum of diesel,should be no problem.
    Hope you have a warm Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Really? We're in North Kildare. I know I've seen that at home in Mayo but not up this end

Can't say for up that way but Toughers between Newbridge & Naas does it on their pumps, also Mcloughlins in Newbridge. (Both open 24hr through xmas) Neither are too far from North kildare....

AH answer: Set fire to the xmas tree, they give off savage heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭LittleMuppet

If you're in North Kildare, you could go to Toughers in Naas. They have a kerosene pump there and I think they're open till 12.

OK so they're open 24 hours :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Sorry to hear that OP. A real feckin killer. Just a tip for the future. Keep a drum of oil out back just in case this happens again. Most oil suppliers will supply them. I know it doesn't help now, but you'll appreciate it in the future.

Saturday is to warm up again. You'll be grand til Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Drums not jars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭.red.

If you know how to bleed the boiler then all you have to do is tilt the tank. A small block or plank of wood will give you 2/3/4 days depending on useage. Dont tilt it too much tho and put a rag or mat netween the wood and tank so any sharp edges wont do damage. Call to any neighbours that have oil heating and bum a few litres here and there and youll get thru to a delivery easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

saying a prayer for you op

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Theres a 24 hr Maxol on the Kilcullen road. Most petrol stations do drums of kero now. If not get a container that seals(obv a decent size one)and head out now for fuel. Hope you get sorted :)

Grandeeod we probably will (hoping to buy in the next year and have our own shed for storage), thats a good idea.

Husband knows how to bleed the burner so thats ok. He's gone off to check the maxol garage in celbridge based on a google search of boards http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=92974205 Looks like someone had a similar problem in the past.

I was so proud of myself, turkey prepped, all the veg done, shopping done, santa set up etc. Too complacent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

He can't go calling up all the neighbours on Christmas eve/christmas day. It's not that serious, this is Ireland, not Siberia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Borzoi

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Can't say for up that way but Toughers between Newbridge & Naas does it on their pumps, also Mcloughlins in Newbridge. (Both open 24hr through xmas) Neither are too far from North kildare....
    t.

Esso in Prosperous too

.red. wrote: »
    If you know how to bleed the boiler then all you have to do is tilt the tank. A small block or plank of wood will give you 2/3/4 days depending on useage. Dont tilt it too much tho and put a rag or mat netween the wood and tank so any sharp edges wont do damage. Call to any neighbours that have oil heating and bum a few litres here and there and youll get thru to a delivery easily.

Tilting the tank works....but it can fracture the feeder pipe if tilted too much. So the OP should be careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭Payton

Texaco garage just outside of blessington (ballymore side) has kerosene.

No luck in Celbridge apparently but we'll try some of that list tomorrow, thanks everyone. For tonight we'll have enough latent heat to keep us going and the babas room has an oil filled radiator anyways. Pain in the neck

Grandeeod we probably will (hoping to buy in the next year and have our own shed for storage), thats a good idea.

Husband knows how to bleed the burner so thats ok. He's gone off to check the maxol garage in celbridge based on a google search of boards http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=92974205 Looks like someone had a similar problem in the past.

I was so proud of myself, turkey prepped, all the veg done, shopping done, santa set up etc. Too complacent!

The oul spare drum of oil saved my life many a time. Once you know how to bleed the tank, you're grand. Hopefully you get sorted. But if he has to drive beyond celbridge, McLoughlins in Newbridge have it on the pump. Not sure about Christmas Eve opening times. Usually 24 hours.

At least Santa is set up. Thats the most important bit. Take care.

No luck in Celbridge apparently but we'll try some of that list tomorrow, thanks everyone. For tonight we'll have enough latent heat to keep us going and the babas room has an oil filled radiator anyways. Pain in the neck

Is your boiler kerosene only? Some are kerosene otherwise they are just diesel so any diesel will do, obviously look for green as it's cheaper but if you can't find it road diesel will be fine. You just need to know what the boiler will run on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭sennah

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Tilting the tank works....but it can fracture the feeder pipe if tilted too much. So the OP should be careful.

+1 on tilting and it beats driving around filling stations

On some tanks (such as my own), the feed pipe exits nearly 6 inches above the base of the tank so you end up with litres upon litres of beautiful kerosene in the bottom of your tank that you can't get to!
    Tilt it up at the back and you'll get a good week out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Tigerbaby

I have a tank outside with Kero. If you have the facility and the knowledge of how to siphon it from my tank, ye are welcome to drop by tomorrow and collect a couple of hundred litres gratis. I got my tank topped up to 1200 last month.

I'm at home all day Christmas as we are entertaining this Year.

I'm in Castleknock so not too far from ye.

Just PM me.

Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Burn the place down for some instant heat

Tigerbaby wrote: »
    I have a tank outside with Kero. If you have the facility and the knowledge of how to siphon it from my tank, ye are welcome to drop by tomorrow and collect a couple of hundred litres gratis. I got my tank topped up to 1200 last month.

Just PM me.

Good luck

Ah jeez thats so nice Tigerbaby but we couldn't be doing that! That is such a kind gesture.

Thank you to all for the suggestions to tilt the tank, we've got it bled and going for now. If we get the day or two out of it we'll be ready for a delivery.

You are all legends!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

You wouldn't download an oil field.

Seriously, its no bother at all. Ye have a little baba to keep snug, and your good missus too. We've all been there.

you're very welcome to it if you change your mind.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Esso in Kilcock sells heating oil if you're looking for somewhere closer to Celbridge.

Seriously, its no bother at all. Ye have a little baba to keep snug, and your good missus too. We've all been there.

you're very welcome to it if you change your mind.

I'm actually the missus :) Thank you so much. The tilt has worked for now anyways:)

oops !

Happy Christmas !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭wiz569

Just PM me.

Good luck

After having a rough few days and wondering wtf is up with people this random act of generosity has restored my faith in humankind, may it come back to you in spades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Got any friends in the travelling community?

They have plenty of expertise in that particular field and should have you up and running in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Put on an extra jumper, be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

I have a tank outside with Kero. If you have the facility and the knowledge of how to siphon it from my tank

All you need is a few meters of garden hose.
    Drop one end slowly into the full tank, then put your thumb securely over the other end holding it as close to the top of the tank as you can.
    Then quickly pull that end of the hose out and down as low as you can, it should start to flow just from the weight of oil in the section of hose outside of the tank.
    No need to suck!
    When you have filled the container just lift the end above the tank and the flow will stop.

Great to see the true spirit of Christmas Tigerbaby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 De Oro

Use some you stored away for emergencies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭agent graves

My oil went below the feeder pipe and I toped up with oil but when I go to bleed it nothing is coming out.. I have fully removed the nut and turned it on a few times and nothing... is getting it serviced the only way to fix it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

If you tilted the tank keep a key on the burner. If it starts to emit white smoke or sounds loud turn it off. Dirt or water in the bottom of your tank will burn out the boiler pump pretty quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Just PM me.

Good luck

thanks, see you tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

My oil went below the feeder pipe and I toped up with oil but when I go to bleed it nothing is coming out.. I have fully removed the nut and turned it on a few times and nothing... is getting it serviced the only way to fix it?

You have an air lock, if it was mine i'd disconnect the pipe and suck or blow to shift it and be ready for a gusher, reconnect then bleed, (of course i'm not suggesting you do that )
    Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

there might be a kero pump in kilcock too in the esso

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Wonderful boardsies.. when I was in the wilds of Donegal in that hard winter, no one would fetch or deliver coal or gas...there being no oil heating there... asked and asked.. my small car would not cope with the thick ice.. A kind kind man here on boards came with supplies... later a team came and cut wood for me.. salt of the earth..... the story has a sequel! I tried to get down to town and the wee car got stuck on the way home.. blocked the road it and so many nasty folk. ... one man got on his mobile and cars and tractors rolled in from all over.. dig me out and got me home.....including the ones who had refused to bring me supplies.. Wonderful boardsies! THAT is Christmas!