Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

training

Options
  • 22-12-2015 4:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭

Hi

I have an opportunity to build standard covers for radiators and stock the in 4 shops.

I have basic woodworking in knowledge to do this, but would be happier to be trained up by a skilled carpenter. Teach me how to do it properly and advise me on what tools etc.

Is there a place I can go to, to be trained or a person willing to train me up.

I am willing to pay for this

Comments

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 5,070 Mod ✭✭✭✭kadman

Well.....
    What access to power tools or machines do you have , and what is the brief on types and numbers
    of units you are expected to produce , per week, per month ect,.

Getting the opportunity, and being able to deliver really depends on whether you are going to attempt small or large batches. Experience of both avenues are related , but slightly different.

An experienced chippy may well be able to offer you the necessary foundation skills for the product, but may not neccessarily have the experience, for larger batch runs. Experienced workshop joiner/cabinetmaker
    would tick both boxes.

And having experience in both myself, along with a lot of chaps on the woodcraft forum, one thing I can tell you is.........
    I,m surprised that 4 outlets are giving an opportunity like this, to an inexperienced person like yourself.
    When there are so many manufacturing outlets out there that could flog these out for a pittance.
    Apart from the fact that they are already available in every diy store in the country.