Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Music for cleaning the house

• 20-12-2015 9:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭

I hate cleaning but I love to have a clean house.

So I create some incentives to get going, the most important is to have the suitable music on, something with pizzazz. (The other one is Lindt dark chocolate coconut intense)

My cleaning music is usually a compilation of old rock ballads, which gives a swing to my cleaning hands, dancing around and singing along.

Sometimes Rockabilly does the trick, but it's too quick.

My CD with rock ballads seems to be broken now with a hiccup (was a self-burned thingy and is very old and too often used for cleaning purposes), so I went on to Santana (do the young ones even know them?) who have the Latin drive to keep me going.

But rummaging in my CD collection afterwards I discovered a long time not heard Leonard Cohen, thought he would be mellow enough to clean the windows, but what happened was that I was sitting down, being sad, pondering a glass of wine and wondering if cleaning the house is really all it is about life.

Cleaning abandoned I need a musical incentive. And please no diddle-dee.
    Anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

Queen's - I Gotta Break Free :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

How is it that the title of the thread always attracts a poster with the most suitable username??!! Patty O Furniture answers first on a house cleaning thread! :eek:

Seriously???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

Spotify has loads of spring cleaning playlists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

90's Alt Rock on spotify, I rocked out to that today cleaning my room and sorting my notes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Nosebleed rave at max volume.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

Queen, of course!
    With their music I'm going to kill every speck of dust!
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Not exactly a fan but a bit of Fall Out Boy is pretty good for tidying the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,062 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

You don't need music, you need a CLEANER. Feck the music.

discus wrote: »
    90's Alt Rock on spotify, I rocked out to that today cleaning my room and sorting my notes :D

Ah ye know, I'm a bit oldfashioned. I have CDs. Loads of them.
    I have an MP3-Player, too, with more music but that one got lost somewhere in the house.

Is there music to find lost gadgets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Firestarter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

You don't need music, you need a CLEANER. Feck the music.

I need the money for a cleaner.
    So music has to do. And chocolate. And vino.

Carry wrote: »
    I need the money for a cleaner.
    So music has to do. And chocolate. And vino.

If you give up choccies and vino you could afford a cleaner!!

Priorities priorities.

Anyway, my go to music is Queen. God knows I want to break free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Alcoheda

Daft Punk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

Often I put on Afro Celt Sound System with ''Further In Time'' while I do a blitz/dance of house cleaning. I don't think that falls into the diddly dee category, but perhaps you disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Cleaned the gaff the other day listening to Def Leppard's greatest hits.

8/10, would do again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I don't clean the house so I just have muck bird on all day ...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 178 ✭✭BenedrylPete

So you clean the house, and then everyone arrives and oohs and aaahs and Happy Christmas, and here's a drink and no one notices a thing.

And even if you DO clean it, then twelve hours later it's in bits anyway.

Thankless task at the best of times.

I can't think of any music to reflect that. Sorry.

Alcoheda wrote: »
    Daft Punk

Naah, they would make me wonder if dusting the shelves is really necessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Often I put on Afro Celt Sound System with ''Further In Time'' while I do a blitz/dance of house cleaning. I don't think that falls into the diddly dee category, but perhaps you disagree.

That would really be a blitz dance cleaning - not up to my standards :D
    But thanks anyway.

So you clean the house, and then everyone arrives and oohs and aaahs and Happy Christmas, and here's a drink and no one notices a thing.

And even if you DO clean it, then twelve hours later it's in bits anyway.

Thankless task at the best of times.

I can't think of any music to reflect that. Sorry.

Nobody arrives to oohs and aaahs :D. I actually clean the house now and again for myself. But yes, the next day it's the same old kip. It's a never ending task.

The friends who come over just don't give a fiddlers. They are dazzled by my personality not by my clean or mostly not so clean house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

Whenever we were due a house inspection from the landlord, this was put on repeat in the sitting room speakers to power through the filth :pac:

I just fell in love with you :D:D:D

Best song ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Can't help with the music, but I do know that if you take a rake of speed and have nowhere else to go, your house will never be cleaner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

Can't believe i didn't think of this sooner -

Queen's - Another One Bites The Dust :P:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,759 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

A bit of Jungle and Ragga is a beast to work with.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)