Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

finding money

• 20-12-2015 7:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭

If someone finds money on the floor in a supermarket do they have to hand it up to the owners? Who would own it?

If someone finds it in the street is it finders keepers? Suppose you find in street and someone sees you pick it up and say they lost it, how would you prove they didn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭mada82

Just give the person their money back 😀

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭perry123

mada82 wrote: »
    Just give the person their money back 😀
    This is a hypothetical based on something i heard

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

Answer:

It belings to the charity box.

Dia1988 wrote: »
    Answer:

It belings to the charity box.
    this is legal discussion. if you do not want to discuss it keep out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

if I know who dropped it I give it back .
    if I don't know then its mine to do what I want.

I would give it to charity but a lot of them are not giving the money to the right person

I found a 10 euro note in a car par 2 days ago. its in my pocket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Depends, <€20 on the street, finders keepers.
    €50+ in a shop, hand it to customer services.

Large amount on the street, would probably have to hand it in to the guards, would feel bad thinking it might belong to an elderly person or someone who badly needed it.

Guards do give it back after 6 months if no one claims it.

Thanks the pen turner and s
    Senna. does anyone know the legal situation in the supermarket. If it is given to customer services and they do not find the owner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,859 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

perry123 wrote: »
    Thanks the pen turner and s
    Senna. does anyone know the legal situation in the supermarket. If it is given to customer services and they do not find the owner?

Many years ago, I found £10 in the foyer of the Savoy Cinema in Dublin, handed it in to a manager, got a phone call a week or so later, that no-one had claimed it, and they gave it back to me.

very interesting. thanks. never heard of larcency by finding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Our company policy was if money wasn't claimed within two weeks it would be given to charity or just put in one of the poor boxes.

Wouldn't be a good policy for it to go to the member of staff, especially in a retail/service where staff handle cash on a daily bases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

SNIP....
    if I don't know then its mine to do what I want. SNIP.. QUOTE]

On what basis ? How have you acquired title to ownership of that money ?

Is there an offence in Ireland of theft by finding? i.e. you find something and keep it.

I would expect the right thing to do would be to surrender it to the Gardaí and get a receipt. If not found after a year I think that you can get good title by applying to the District Court under the Police Property Act or some such act.

Yes, I know you might not bother for €10 but I am just referring to the working principle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭carav10

Have just been talking to a friend who thinks she lost a large sum of money in a supermarket over the weekend and she's in tears over it, as it was a lot to lose for her. So yes, a large sum, definitely hand it in and would probably hand it in to the Gardai rather than the place I'd found it in, would tell them though where it's going. Ten, I'd probably put in the next charity box. Twenty, would probably hand it in to the store in case someone comes back looking for it, that could be someone's food money for a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

perry123 wrote: »
    this is legal discussion. if you do not want to discuss it keep out of it

Mod:

Backseat modding is not allowed. Please be more careful when you post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Does this apply to Irish law:

"Theft by finding occurs when someone who chances upon an object which seems abandoned takes possession of the object but fails to take steps to establish whether the object is abandoned and not merely lost or unattended"

I seem to recall 2 young lads in Malahide getting arrested and charged when they picked up a bag of 50p coins that fell from a Securicor Van, and promptly brought it into the Pool Hall that used to be on Main St.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Kevin3

To answer the question, theft by finding is a part of the section on theft. The law states that "reasonable steps" have to be taken to discover the owner.

What are reasonable steps aren't defined but common sense would dictate that the reporting of the find to the gardaí and the management of the premises where it was found could only be seen as reasonable.
    Criminal Justice (Theft and Fraud Offences) Act, 2001

Theft.

4.—(1) Subject to section 5 , a person is guilty of theft if he or she dishonestly appropriates property without the consent of its owner and with the intention of depriving its owner of it.

(2) For the purposes of this section a person does not appropriate property without the consent of its owner if—
    (a) the person believes that he or she has the owner's consent, or would have the owner's consent if the owner knew of the appropriation of the property and the circumstances in which it was appropriated, or

(b) (except where the property came to the person as trustee or personal representative) he or she appropriates the property in the belief that the owner cannot be discovered by taking reasonable steps,

but consent obtained by deception or intimidation is not consent for those purposes.

(4) If at the trial of a person for theft the court or jury, as the case may be has to consider whether the person believed—
    (a) that he or she had not acted dishonestly, or
    (b) that the owner of the property concerned had consented or would have consented to its appropriation, or
    (c) that the owner could not be discovered by taking reasonable steps,
    the presence or absence of reasonable grounds for such a belief is a matter to which the court or jury shall have regard, in conjunction with any other relevant matters, in considering whether the person so believed.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2001/act/50/section/4/enacted/en/html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

OP many thanks it was mine, please return it to

Gobby****e on Boards
    C/O Kings Inn
    42 Bolton Street
    Dublin 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

Kevin3 wrote: »
    To answer the question, theft by finding is a part of the section on theft. The law states that "reasonable steps" have to be taken to discover the owner.

What are reasonable steps aren't defined but common sense would dictate that the reporting of the find to the gardaí and the management of the premises where it was found could only be seen as reasonable.

Thanks Kevin3, that is exactly the reference I was looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭JimsAlterEgo

put a notice up on notice board saying sum of money found and inform customer services