Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AdventureRooms

• 17-12-2015 11:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Pompous

So apparently there's this thing where you're locked in a room and you have to escape by solving a series of puzzles and such in under 60 mins. Sounds like it would be a bit of craic and there's one in Dublin since May.

http://adventurerooms.ie/ (takes a while to load)

Anyone tried it? Am I alone in thinking this is awesome?

It was brilliant craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Lock yourself in the jacks and feck the key out the window. No time limit or expense then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I got locked in a pub once, that was great craic too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Is this the Crystal maze. God I loved that show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Stick someone whos a bit claustra in for the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Is it like Saw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭Mr Teeny

We did it a few weeks back. Brilliant fun. If you like things like the Crystal Maze you'll love it! They have a second room open now too so we'll be going back to give that one a go too. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Mr Teeny wrote: »
    We did it a few weeks back. Brilliant fun. If you like things like the Crystal Maze you'll love it! They have a second room open now too so we'll be going back to give that one a go too. :-)
    If Richard O' Brien is involved im in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭Mr Teeny

If Richard O' Brien is involved im in

Sadly no :-(

But the real thing opens in London early next year...

http://the-crystal-maze.com

Maybe he'll show up there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

If you don't make it out within 60 minutes you get impregnated by a Josif Fritzl lookalike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Acciaccatura

Did the one in Cologne back in July,it was amazing! Lots of logic and problem solving type stuff, no horror element to it or things jumping out at you. Where's the one in Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Had been dying to get back to Orlando to try this one. (Hope nobody takes that literally)

https://www.escapology.com/orlando

Cheers op will have a look at the Dubin one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Pompous wrote: »
    So apparently there's this thing where you're locked in a room and you have to escape by solving a series of puzzles and such in under 60 mins. Sounds like it would be a bit of craic and there's one in Dublin since May.

http://adventurerooms.ie/ (takes a while to load)

Anyone tried it? Am I alone in thinking this is awesome?

Boards has something similar

You can 'play' any time you want :D ......for free!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

It's good craic but it lacks a bit of polish.
    Not all of the 'tricks' were set up properly. It was possible to by-pass some simply because I could reach into a tight space or could see scratch marks on the ground where furniture has obviously been moved a dozen times a day.

It's good fun, especially if you like the Crystal maze. It's often on groupon so keep an eye out for that.
    I'd be reluctant to pay full price again.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I'm crap at puzzles so I'd probably starve to death in a room that required me to solve a puzzle to escape. :pac:

Though I know people who would love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Yester

Cheers. Sounds good. I will give it a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

It's good craic but it lacks a bit of polish.
    Not all of the 'tricks' were set up properly. It was possible to by-pass some simply because I could reach into a tight space or could see scratch marks on the ground where furniture has obviously been moved a dozen times a day.

It's good fun, especially if you like the Crystal maze. It's often on groupon so keep an eye out for that.
    I'd be reluctant to pay full price again.

That's quite peculiar for a Dublin-based establishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept