Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Uninsured, no tax, no NCT

• 15-12-2015 2:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭

Someone crashed into the wall outside my parents house last night and wrecked it. I'm trying to find out more info but what I have heard is that the driver had no insurance, no tax and no NCT......

If the Gardai were there (i'm not sure if they were or not) whats the likely outcome for the driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

"Someone" eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭flanders2006

"Someone" eh?

Well hardly "no one"....

The person was unknown to my parents. A female in her 20's is all they know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Once when I was young and a bit thick I wiped out someones wall with my car. The Gardai came, (because it was a tasty enough accident) and took my details, at the time I was badly shook and they just made sure I wasn't badly injured and brought me home and had the car towed.

Anyway, iirc the Gardai had been in touch with the wall owner when it happened to say they knew what the story was and they put him and me in touch a few days later and I just paid up cash to the owner for to fix the wall.

So i'm just guessing, but if the Gardai had attended then your parents would probably have heard from them by now, or you should at least ring them to double check.

How did you hear that the driver had no paperwork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

How do you know they have no cover?

I've just been informed that the Gardai weren't called but this may change. I think my dad knows the family..... The car was still beside the house this morning so they checked and saw that everything was out of date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I've just been informed that the Gardai weren't called but this may change. I think my dad knows the family.....

Well you da can talk to them to ask to pay for the wall, or take it to the guards. he should have called the guards at the time, this accident should have been logged in the book. Or does he like to impact his own house insurance.

listermint wrote: »
    Well you da can talk to them to ask to pay for the wall, or take it to the guards. he should have called the guards at the time, this accident should have been logged in the book. Or does he like to impact his own house insurance.

I know, if I was there I'd have called them, the station is only 500M from the house. It was a boundary wall that was hit, not the actual house wall.

I'm told they will have the wall fixed but i still think the Gardai should be called.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I know, if I was there I'd have called them, the station is only 500M from the house. It was a boundary wall that was hit, not the actual house wall.

I'm told they will have the wall fixed but i still think the Gardai should be called.

knowing 'people' as they are, as soon as the costs come into play they get their backs up. He may be in for the long haul on this.

depending on insurance cover it can still impact the boundary wall should he wish to claim(not saying he will) but if they dont pay for it then he might have to himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Tell your father to get off his ass pronto and get up to the Garda Stn. If that car is as you described, then its very likely he will "un-know" the family pretty soon. Tell him also to take as many photos as possible. And to take photos of the out-of-date window displays. If he does go to the family involved, make sure he brings a witness. And get any undertaking to pay for the replacement of the damaged wall in writing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

If you are certain that the driver was uninsured, what's there to discuss. Report it and can their arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Someone crashed into the wall outside my parents house last night and wrecked it. I'm trying to find out more info but what I have heard is that the driver had no insurance, no tax and no NCT......

If the Gardai were there (i'm not sure if they were or not) whats the likely outcome for the driver?
    A prosecution for no tax, no insurance, no NCT and failure to display.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Try not get the Cops involved if at all possible. Your Dad should go down to their house and talk to them. If they agree to pay to fix the wall then all's good. If not then he'll have to take it further

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Try not get the Cops involved if at all possible.

Love to hear the thinking behind this comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

sugarman wrote: »
    Is it really?

Are you happy paying what you pay for your insurance annually?

You'd be paying even more if you keep claiming for stuff that could be settled privately.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

okidoki987 wrote: »
    Love to hear the thinking behind this comment.

If you used your own nut for a moment you might figure it out for yourself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

If they can afford to build a new wall they could have afforded insurance. I have no time for anyone driving uninsured. All their uninsured accidents just get added onto my premium so I am paying for than driving around. I would have no problem calling the Garda if someone crashed into me/my property and were uninsured.