Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy heifer price, mart

• 13-12-2015 10:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone know what incalf dairy heifers are making in the mart?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Markets soaring in the last 24 hours on the rumour that Frazz is moving position from bear to bull. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭cute geoge

How long is a piece of string?
    At the last few heifer sales in listowel and castleisland they were excellant trade but cull cows have slipped at least €100 so this will dampen trade.Heifers strong 2y.o no records from genuine herd calving in jan. made €1200+ .similar 3y.o. €1350+.Lighter heifers calving in march on made€900 + .I taught this was strong prices for heifers no ebi with no guarantee only they would calf sometime from march on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I see on donedeal prices are around 1,100 mark :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Is the export trade not putting a bottom in them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Willfarman wrote: »
    Is the export trade not putting a bottom in them?
    Friend bought 3yr old maidens for 1080 calving jan, feck all buyers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

kevthegaff wrote: »

I can buy fresh calved heifers milking 35+ litres for €900. Second calvers €800.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Dawggone wrote: »
    I can buy fresh calved heifers milking 35+ litres for €900. Second calvers €800.

all breeds?

kowtow wrote: »
    all breeds?

Holstein.
    I didn't know that there was another breed that actually produced more milk than would feed a calf?

Dawg runs for cover from the heavy artillery...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Holstein.
    I didn't know that there was another breed that actually produced more milk than would feed a calf?

Dawg runs for cover from the heavy artillery...

Was thinking of the big cheese breeds.. MO & Normande, Fleck etc. the ones where the cheese comes out of the spins wrapped & labelled, bar-codes applied :)

He bought maidens and they're going to calve in January :confused:

kowtow wrote: »
    Was thinking of the big cheese breeds.. MO & Normande, Fleck etc. the ones where the cheese comes out of the spins wrapped & labelled, bar-codes applied :)

MO seem to be the cheese makers choice. I got offered some fresh calved for €1000 doing 40L with good solids. They were huge, 750kg I reckon.
    I don't like them because they kick like Mr. McGregor.
    I'd say they are more expensive than the hol because of canning value...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

You'd be mental to consider rearing at those prices.

I have to laugh at guys thinking they're doing well at €1300, not even covering rearing costs.

Remember 45% of all heifers born on Irish farms do not make to lac 3.

I have to laugh at guys thinking they're doing well at €1300, not even covering rearing costs.

Agreed.
    But it won't/can't last...

I feel for guys when I go to buy some cows and they have a lifetime of genetics gone into the herd, for shyte money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

That's a serious high figure alrite. How high would you put that figure on heifers bought in I wonder ? Can't remember rightly but when we restocked with 1st and 2nd calvers after being cleared out still had a replacement rate of over 28% for the next year I think and it wasn't all to do with em.not going in calf. Having said that last of those cows culled last spring at 15 years old and 12 calves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Sam Kade wrote: »
    He bought maidens and they're going to calve in January :confused:
    That's crossbred for ye, short gestation:-)
    My mistake

That's crossbred for ye, short gestation:-)
    My mistake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Is the appetite for expansion waning lads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Willfarman wrote: »
    Is the appetite for expansion waning lads?

Postponed by some id say, I'll keep going anyway as have most of costs borne at this stage in terms of carrying heifers and have ongoing costs for land. The cows hitting the parlour I would put at the middle to end of expansion round as having the extra heifers is the start, unless one is buying in i guess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Milked out wrote: »
    That's a serious high figure alrite. How high would you put that figure on heifers bought in I wonder ? Can't remember rightly but when we restocked with 1st and 2nd calvers after being cleared out still had a replacement rate of over 28% for the next year I think and it wasn't all to do with em.not going in calf. Having said that last of those cows culled last spring at 15 years old and 12 calves

Another question is how many calve at 3yo and also some of the management on farms may not be top drawer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭degetme

Anyone at dairy sale in Kilkenny Mart today? Anyone selling dairy stock and what is the go of them? See plenty on done deal. I've a few spring calving heifers to sell before winter.

degetme wrote: »
    Anyone at dairy sale in Kilkenny Mart today? Anyone selling dairy stock and what is the go of them? See plenty on done deal. I've a few spring calving heifers to sell before winter.
    Not many will buy incalf heifers to winter, most buyers want a heifer calved in spring ready for the parlour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭degetme

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Not many will buy incalf heifers to winter, most buyers want a heifer calved in spring ready for the parlour.

Id do that no bother put don't have wintering facilities for them. Normally keep them but had a brilliant breeding season so way more incalf than needed .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Bought incalf heifers latley some after good stock bull incalf to he €1050 and ai bred ones ai'd back to fr 2050 €1150 calving end Jan to 3rd week Feb AV ebi 220 or so(old figures) bought private