Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scared

• 12-12-2015 10:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I was on a dating site a while back and exchanged numbers eventually with a guy on it. We didn't meet up but called each other regularly for a while in which time I probably exchanged more information about myself than I should have. At the time I thought it was okay for some stupid reason in my head but as things progressed I realised this person wasn't for me at all and had issues so I told him I had no interest anymore in pursuing anything.

Since then I've had several missed calls per evening (I have blocked the number but the missed calls and messages come up) and this week he has been sitting in his van opposite my house. I didn't realise it initially and wondered who the big van belonged to when I saw it the other evening but then put two and two together that it belonged to him as he told me previously he owned a big van.

I got two missed calls from a number this evening and when I rang them back it sounded like him disguising his voice saying it was wrong number, then he himself tried to call me back immediately later, showed as missed call.

I'm really nervous now and don't want to over react.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

you should go to your nearest Garda Station and file a report giving them the guys name, address(if you have it), phone number and type and reg of van.

A call from the station will hopefully sort him out.

Make a note of all calls/texts (dont delete them as it deletes history) and times he's outside the house. Dont answer his calls.
    You could ask your phone operator to block them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Ellie2008

Get down to the Guards tonight OP or first thing. If it was me I'd want a Guard to call out to me and have a look at your house, they might be able to give you some safety advice. I'd also be asking if they could sit outside your house if it happens again.

Id also recommend changing your number.

You can't be too careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

He may have done nothing yet, and may not intend to do anything but by putting the Gardai on notice of this problem, they will be able to advise you and help you to protect yourself and if he does make a move, they will have your back.

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Typer Monkey

Ring your local Garda station the next time you see him sat outside. So much better if he's there when the patrol car arrives. They can verify his details (lots of legal powers there to demand name and address when someone is driving) and the registration number will confirm his address for them. He can't deny being there either if he's sitting outside.

Tell whoever answers the phone at the station all of the details so the Gaurds in the car can speak to him straight away when they arrive rather than calling into you first and he drives away.

He probably just needs to be told to cop onto himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Have you seen him in the van or are you just inferring that it's his because he owns one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭magicmushroom

TheChizler wrote: »
    Have you seen him in the van or are you just inferring that it's his because he owns one?

Yes this is important - you need to be 100% sure on this OP