Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC, MMA whatever.....

• 11-12-2015 6:00pm
    Site Banned Posts: 777 ✭✭✭

I was watching something on RTE 2 last night about the UFC type fighters, I was a bit taken back by a young Dublin lad, 'Luke' was his name, his attitude was all wrong for the type of sport he was been trained in.
    At one stage he said he loves hurting people that why he loves ufc/man.
    I really think this big interest in it is a bad thing in the long run , I imagine there are loads of mini Connor McGergors thinking they are hard as **** around the rough areas of cites these days and when their dopey dreams don't true they'll just be dangerous meat-head's.
    I also think there is a link with this sport and a huge increase in violent incidents on the street's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I also think there is a link with this sport and a huge increase in violent incidents on the street's.

Nonsense seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Scumbags will always want to start a fight, doesn't matter how popular mma is.

• Site Banned Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Youngblood.III

Look up the news, a crowd flying out to the state's to follow McGregor, delayed due to fighting on board.

jamesbere wrote: »
    Scumbags will always want to start a fight, doesn't matter how popular mma is.

It does if scambags are drawn to this type of training.

Look up the news, a crowd flying out to the state's to follow McGregor, delayed due to fighting on board.

One happened to be drunk happens on a weekly basis

That's one incident, show me more proof that mma is the cause of unprovoked violence in this country

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

There used to be thugs at football matches too. Should we all stop kicking balls around now?

The scobe element you refer to would never have the discipline to train any martial art for any length of time. They are Walter Mittys who wear Dethrone t-shirts but would prefer a chip bag to a punch bag.

I've trained kickboxing for years, I know the sport of MMA and the people in it and I've never heard the sort of talk you refer to from anyone serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

If anything this surge in interest will end up keeping kids from fighting out on the streets in the future. They'll go to the gym and let it out there, much like boxing has already been doing for kids in this country for generations, and especially in those "rough" areas you're talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I imagine there are loads of mini Connor McGergors thinking they are hard as **** around the rough areas of cites these days and when their dopey dreams don't true they'll just be dangerous meat-head's.
    It would have happened by now if that was the case, UFC has been around for decades.

Martial arts tend to claim a lad down rather than turn him into a violent thug. Most martial arts come with a code of conduct (even boxing) and if they love the sport they know they can't be found fighting in the streets or they'll be kicked from competitions and they're club.

Martial arts take dedication, the "scumbags" would probably be nicer people if they all learned a martial art.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Nika Riots AD 532

In what is known to be one of the first forms of sports rioting, supporters of the chariot racing team, Greens, revolted against the Byzantine Empire's leader & supporter of the Greens' rival Blues, Justinian.

At least half of the Empire's capital of Constantinople (now Istanbul) was burned by the rioters & 30,000 people were killed.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nika_riots

Violence & sports have always been associated with each other since the beginning of civilisation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Ufc is dull as dishwater to watch. If I wanted to watch sweaty, muscular men roll around on the floor, there are definitely more entertaining formats.

It's an art form jiu jitus

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Nika Riots AD 532

In what is known to be one of the first forms of sports rioting, supporters of the chariot racing team, Greens, revolted against the Byzantine Empire's leader & supporter of the Greens' rival Blues, Justinian.

At least half of the Empire's capital of Constantinople (now Istanbul) was burned by the rioters & 30,000 people were killed.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nika_riots

Violence & sports have always been associated with each other since the beginning of civilisation...

Reading that article it would seem there was a lot of underlying problems that weren't just a simple sporting rivalry, looks like an opportunity to overthrow a leader.

Point still stands, violence & sports go hand in hand, a microcosm of tribal war if you will.

Gatling wrote: »
    It's an art form jiu jitus

Watercolour painting is an art form. It's still boring to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I was watching something on RTE 2 last night about the UFC type fighters, I was a bit taken back by a young Dublin lad, 'Luke' was his name, his attitude was all wrong for the type of sport he was been trained in.
    At one stage he said he loves hurting people that why he loves ufc/man.
    I really think this big interest in it is a bad thing in the long run , I imagine there are loads of mini Connor McGergors thinking they are hard as **** around the rough areas of cites these days and when their dopey dreams don't true they'll just be dangerous meat-head's.

I think that young lad was just saying those things to sound cool. He came across as a bit mentally troubled.

These types shouldn't be allowed anywhere near a martial arts training facility.

No it's not. There have been TV shows dedicated to watching someone paint a picture. It seems more likely you just have no appreciation for things you don't understand.

I think that young lad was just saying those things to sound cool. He came across as a bit mentally troubled.

All the more reason he shouldn't be in this sport.

Just about every complex life form on this planet that has to fight for it's right to breed will try to scare their opponent off first. Gorillas will beat their chest, human males will try and make themselves out to be crazy enough to not care about getting hurt, or hurting others. It's all part of the fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

Eh, you sure about that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I have always been concerned about the local boxing club and now MMA seems to have taken its place. Guys that enter into and stick at it are grand and fair play to them.

It is when the local scobe starts and then packs it in after 4-5 months that are the real threat to people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Scumbags existed long before Conor McGregor. This thread is ridiculous scapegoating.

lertsnim wrote: »
    Scumbags existed long before Conor McGregor. This thread is ridiculous scapegoating.

It's what happens every time a thread is opened on mma or mcgregor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I find not watching things I have little interest in helps diminish my annoyance at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

And that has absolutely nothing to do with the subject up for discussion.

It is when the local scobe starts and then packs it in after 4-5 months that are the real threat to people.
    They probably packed it in because they found out they were crap at fighting. I can't see someone that excels at a martial art packing it in after 5 months because they think they know it all. If they can stick at it for 5 months they're probably hooked and have had their lives changed. They are more likely to quit within the first two weeks and at that stage they've learned absolutely nothing.

ScumLord wrote: »
    No it's not. There have been TV shows dedicated to watching someone paint a picture. It seems more likely you just have no appreciation for things you don't understand.

I have a degree in Fine Art.

Point still stands, violence & sports go hand in hand, a microcosm of tribal war if you will.

Seriously, so your basing this on one incident 1500 years ago which was probably going to kick off even if a chariot race was held or not. You can't really believe that all violence incidents are tied in to sporting events.
    When did you last see a fight break out over a curling match or a darts competition.

Seriously, so your basing this on one incident 1500 years ago which was probably going to kick off even if a chariot race was held or not. You can't really believe that all violence incidents are tied in to sporting events. When did you last see a fight break out over a curling match or a darts competition.
    Of course I don't believe all violent incidents are tied into sporting events FFS :rolleyes:

2 weeks ago in McGettigan's in Queen Street actually ;)

When did you last see a fight break out over a curling match or a darts competition.
    Darts isn't the best example for you to use, it being a pub game an' all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

McGregor himself has spoken about how MMA gave him a focus and purpose in life, you have to be disciplined to excel at martial arts. A big thug throwing haymakers would be defeated in seconds by a disciplined trained fighter.

I think taking up MMA training and committing fully to it would have a positive impact on young people who are getting into trouble on a regular basis.

Well I've never heard about a fight breaking out over a darts match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Curling is a sport full of friction too.

Of course I don't believe all violent incidents are tied into sporting events FFS :rolleyes:

2 weeks ago in McGettigan's in Queen Street actually ;)

Well if someone starts a fight over a darts match, then their idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

That would also be true of any other sport that you don't have or want an understanding of

Well I've never heard about a fight breaking out over a darts match.

I retract my statement, I forgot those donkeys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Common street thugs weren't aware that they could kick during fights until this MDMA fighting thing became popular on the telly just like how they didn't know they could use their fists until they first saw boxing on TV.

Simple solution - ban television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I go to Vegas pretty regularly since it's within reasonable driving distance. I've also flown there 3 times. The shouting on the plane is a regular occurrence due to stags and hen nights. You'd have to be some f'kin Ape to start a fight on a flight in the US.

The talk was that the MGM wanted to lock McGregor in for his next few fights due to the money they are making. People have this idea that Vegas is a crazy, lawless place. It isn't. You can smoke in casinos, you can go to a brothel outside of the city zones, you can go to s3x clubs and strip clubs, pay to get into extortionate night clubs, go to crazy shows and buffets. You can drink on the street but if you're acting like an arsehole out on the Strip, the Vegas police won't tolerate it.

There was a Comedian that said, "they say what happens in Vegas, stay's in Vegas. That's not true at all. As it turns out, if you break the law there, they'll quickly put you in jail. What they mean with that saying, is that if you f*ck a prostitute, she won't tell your wife."

I'd bet, if McGregor's next fight is in Dublin. It will have more to do with them wanting to keep the nasty element away from Vegas. The Whales and regulars are more valuable than the fight crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

And this fine display from down under.

And that has absolutely nothing to do with the subject up for discussion.

That mma/ufc is contributing to violence? Daft.

tritium wrote: »
    That would also be true of any other sport that you don't have or want an understanding of

That's not true. Hurling is pretty entertaining.

And this fine display from down under.

Christ I've had some massive brain fart this evening, forgot about this video aswell.

I stand by curling, a lovely clean sport (waits for curling riot to be posted)

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

They probably packed it in because they found out they were crap at fighting. I can't see someone that excels at a martial art packing it in after 5 months because they think they know it all. If they can stick at it for 5 months they're probably hooked and have had their lives changed. They are more likely to quit within the first two weeks and at that stage they've learned absolutely nothing.
    We see newcomers arrive every month in my gym... and you know the ones who will be back next week and the ones who wont. The ones who want to be turned into Bruce Lee overnight are never going to stick the skipping, the bag work, the stretching, conditioning/cardio ... They want to get in the ring and bang. They arrive violent thugs and they leave equally ignorant violent thugs.

The lamp doesn't create the moths.

Wompa1 wrote: »
    I go to Vegas pretty regularly since it's within reasonable driving distance. I've also flown there 3 times. The shouting on the plane is a regular occurrence due to stags and hen nights. You'd have to be some f'kin Ape to start a fight on a flight in the US.

The talk was that the MGM wanted to lock McGregor in for his next few fights due to the money they are making. People have this idea that Vegas is a crazy, lawless place. It isn't. You can smoke in casinos, you can go to a brothel outside of the city zones, you can go to s3x clubs and strip clubs, pay to get into extortionate night clubs, go to crazy shows and buffets. You can drink on the street but if you're acting like an arsehole out on the Strip, the Vegas police won't tolerate it.

There was a Comedian that said, "they say what happens in Vegas, stay's in Vegas. That's not true at all. As it turns out, if you break the law there, they'll quickly put you in jail. What they mean with that saying, is that if you f*ck a prostitute, she won't tell your wife."

I'd bet, if McGregor's next fight is in Dublin. It will have more to do with them wanting to keep the nasty element away from Vegas. The Whales and regulars are more valuable than the fight crowd.
    I've walked around the Vegas "strip" with 5K in cash on me (during my poker years) and never felt safer. As one floor manager put it told me, the casinos hire private security forces (aka Rent-A-Cop) to patrol and secure the casino district. As he put it "they want to rob you in here, they don't want anyone beating them to it".

Its a ridiculously safe area compared to *any* city. Outside the boundaries... I reckon its like any American city, but on that golden mile of casinos... no one is going to touch you.