Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

British Junior TT Champion Admits EPO Use

• 11-12-2015 11:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭

My background

I am a 2nd-year junior rider from central London. I have been involved in high-level sport since 14. In 2013 I won the London Youth Games Cycling TT and in 2014 I had some road race results as well as winning the National Junior 25 TT, and got a place with a semi-professional British team for the 2015 season.

What happened

On 3 August 2015 I bought EPO for the first time. On 11 August 2015 I travelled to France for a weeks training camp with the family of a then-teammate. With me I brought one vial of EPO. This was found by the teammate's father who presented evidence to UK Anti-Doping. UKAD contacted me shortly after to arrange a deposition, in which I promptly admitted to all wrongdoing. I withdrew from the upcoming Junior Tour of Wales, the premier event on the junior calendar.

I have competed only one time since buying the drugs; on 5 September 2015 I raced the National Junior 10m TT in which I finished 1st. I did not have this race in mind when I used the drugs; I realise that competing was (another) huge mistake but at the time my intent was not malicious. I was hoping to regain some normality and that the whole mess would somehow be swept under the rug. I have now forfeited this title.

Going forward

First of all I would like to say that I am extremely sorry to those who have supported me thus far, especially to those individuals and clubs who have been an endless resource over my intense, albeit short, journey. I know that this will come as a nasty shock, and I wish that I could apologise in person to all of you.

I would also particularly like to apologise to the competitors and organisers of the 2015 Junior National 10 TT, especially to those three riders who were cheated out of medals.

Finally: if there is anybody reading this who is considering using PEDs, know that my choice has turned out to be immensely destructive and has seriously affected my personal life for the past four months (and, I’m sure, will continue to do so). When each week yields news of another positive test it can be easy to work yourself into a mentality whereby doping can be normalised and justified. In reality it strips all enjoyment out of riding. It is immensely damaging not only to your sporting career but also your personal life and it is also very, very dangerous. There is nothing that I would not give to be able to turn back the clock to August 2015 and have that choice again.

I am doing the best I can to put this right by being as honest and contrite as possible. I plan to continue to train hard for the duration of my ban and return to racing once it expires, whenever that should be.

Gabriel Evans
    Spotted this announcement this morning and must admit to having mixed emotions towards the cyclist.

On one hand he cheated pure and simple, but what drives a 17 year old to go and administer EPO themselves.

Full story here http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2015/dec/10/teenage-junior-time-trial-champion-gabriel-evans-epo-cycling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,524 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Cheats are only sorry when caught. I'm sure he didn't feel one bit of remorse while robbing someone of a victory in the national TT.
    I am doing the best I can to put this right by being as honest and contrite as possible. I plan to continue to train hard for the duration of my ban and return to racing once it expires, whenever that should be.
    Best of luck with that.:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

An underage rider doping needs to be viewed and treated differently. I simply cant believe he got the EPO completely off hi own bat and feel this should be pursued further.
    In terms of the ban its fair but in this case I feel he should be allowed return to competition without the level of stigma that overage riders deserve.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

I can kind of understand a young rider/juniors motivations to dope, whilst it is absolutely wrong in any way shape and form, it is semi-understandable. They are all trying to stand out, get noticed and establish themselves amongst hundreds of young people trying to do the same thing. They're all pushing in the one small door. It's a small window of opportunity, and difficult to get noticed amongst so many other equally talented people.

I do think a 17/18 year old is capable of making up their own minds to dope without influence, but you would have to wonder about who was around him.supporting him that he felt it was an acceptable risk to take. Who knows where the blame lies there, whether it was him or was he pushed? Who knows. He is old enough to make his own decision on it, no matter how misinformed/stupid, but also young enough to be quite easily influenced. I suppose it depends on what kind of character he is.

What I cannot understand, in any way, shape or form is Masters doping. There was another one this week in England. I just really don't get it. They're not going for pro contracts, or a racing career so why???? I think it is the saddest form of doping and needs to be punished the harshest, as it's not like they're pro's trying to keep a contract, get one, or under pressure to perform for a team or a junior looking to break through. They're people with pretty much no chance of that, who's only motivation can be misplaced ego and stupidity I think. It really damages the amateur end of the sport, where most people are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Koobcam

gadetra wrote: »
    What I cannot understand, in any way, shape or form is Masters doping. There was another one this week in England. I just really don't get it. They're not going for pro contracts, or a racing career so why????

Why not? People in all walks of life and in a variety of situations take drugs. Some people like to shove white powder up their nose in a nightclub toilet, others like to down ten pints and have a fight outside their local chipper. It's all about trying to feel better about yourself I suppose, or at least find some escape from reality. For Masters racers doping, I can totally understand the motivation-they are getting older, and I think for some, it's about trying to prove that they can still do it despite their age. Perhaps they see it as going some way to levelling the playing field when 'competing' against younger riders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Bolloxology

Cheats are only sorry when caught. I'm sure he didn't feel one bit of remorse while robbing someone of a victory in the national TT.

Best of luck with that.:rolleyes:

Nail on the head.
    Sorry he got caught.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

He's a kid. Yes he got caught, but at least he owned up and apologised, unlike many others who tried to defend/excuse their actions. He's hopefully learned his lesson. If he does anything like that again he's finished. Personally in these circumstances I think he deserves a second chance.

On the topic of Masters, I see a couple of issues. Firstly old habits die hard. Secondly Masters racing at all levels is very competitive. In my experience other than events such as the World Masters it's very rare to see testers. Some guys (hopefully a small minority) think they will get away with it and the temptation remains to continue those old habits. I'm much less inclined to say those guys deserve a second chance except for what may be innocuous circumstances (such as inadvertently taking something like Day Nurse). They should know better and if they are caught taking anything like EPO I would be happy for them not to get another opportunity, particularly as I've already mentioned Masters events are probably less likely to get testers turn up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭cunavalos

On a slightly related topic is there an official drug testing program for junior athletes or are there child protection issues that prevent samples being taken from juniors.

As i understand the cyclist in question did not fail a test but was reported by a concerned parent of a teammate who found drug paraphernalia in a bin.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,879 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Have to agree with Beasty here. Unlike many more mature athletes who have been caught and fought it to a point where it defied all reason, this kid had been reported, he with far more ease, could have wrangled himself out of it and come out nearly unscathed. Instead he admitted his fault and accepted the consequences.

Do I believe it was his first time? No idea, life has made me cynical, probably not.

Did he react in the way that I would hope anyone would when the eyes of suspicion were cast. Yes
    He is an idiot but he is also a far better man and cyclist than many we see on the tv today. No accidents, no cross contamination, no visits to foreign shores, no confusion.

I hope he cleans himself up and gets on the right path, unlike many I have seen return to many sports who should never have been given the chance.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Masters caught doping are a different matter.

Either tossers looking for an unfair advantage
    Or W*nkers looking to cheat the aging process using HGH and such like
    Or Idiots taking dodgy supplements which they really know they shouldn't

At that age old enough to know better or too stupid to care....

Throw the book at them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭Thud

Do we believe he only started in August because he wrote a nicely word apologetic letter? Im sure anyone who came 2nd to him prior to then will be dubious

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Thud wrote: »
    Do we believe he only started in August because he wrote a nicely word apologetic letter? Im sure anyone who came 2nd to him prior to then will be dubious
    Don't know and really don't care. He's been caught. He's paying the penalty and his card is marked. I am completely satisfied as it stands.

There are probably thousands af other situations where past performances could be questioned. Without proof I see little point I'm dwelling on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭zurbfoundation

testing juniors, masters champs, even freds in lower level domestic races - I think federations are really scared at this stage because when you start looking under stones, you will find something. Its easy when its a pro rider getting popped, its explainable - a fella trying to win big or get on to a bigger team. But when its a combined 3 day race in the ar5ehole of Ireland, its quite a different thing to understand.

thats a few lads lately caught over in the Youuuuu-Kay now at this stage in the last few years

You know when you laugh at that fella you train with who is convinced that such-and-such who won last week is on the gear? Or when your workmates rib you after Dessie Cahill on the RTE sport is making a hames of pronouncing the name of the latest pro to fail a test and they slag you about "are ya on de EPO yerself?" I think lads need to wake up to just how prevalent all this is in domestic racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭koutoubia

Beasty wrote: »
    He's a kid. Yes he got caught, but at least he owned up and apologised, unlike many others who tried to defend/excuse their actions. He's hopefully learned his lesson. If he does anything like that again he's finished. Personally in these circumstances I think he deserves a second chance.

From reading on another website he was booted off his team and then joined another club without informing them he was under investigation for doping so that he could ride the National TT over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Doc07

RobFowl wrote: »
    An underage rider doping needs to be viewed and treated differently. I simply cant believe he got the EPO completely off hi own bat and feel this should be pursued further.
    In terms of the ban its fair but in this case I feel he should be allowed return to competition without the level of stigma that overage riders deserve.

While it may not be the case here, I can absolutely believe a 17 yo could decide to use and then buy drugs completely off his/her own bat. For example young people buy drugs in gyms to build muscles without any help from elders/parents/ coaches and from all backgrounds/education levels.

When I was 17 I researched and bought anabolic steroids all by myself as I was into bodybuilding. I never used them and I'd like to say I chose the moral high ground but in the end I just chickened out of taking them. I was also on a football team and we were warned about supplements etc by our coaches which was good of them as people knew feck all about that in the 90's. My father was a Garda so he definitely would not have encouraged it. I was also 'conventionally' intelligent eg debating team, leaving cert points for Medicine. So in summary despite having good role models and education I still bought steroids. So I will never be surprised if people cheat. But I will be disappointed each time it happens.I still believe there are lots of hard working, ethical and inspiring athletes but also lots of cheats as well.

To end my pontification, unlike Beasty, I think we should dwell on these 'outings' when they happen. This individual 17 yo shouldn't be crucified but the issue of underage/youth doping should not be swept under the carpet or we can expect another generation of Pantani's/Armstrong/Virenques.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

testing juniors, masters champs, even freds in lower level domestic races - I think federations are really scared at this stage because when you start looking under stones, you will find something. Its easy when its a pro rider getting popped, its explainable - a fella trying to win big or get on to a bigger team. But when its a combined 3 day race in the ar5ehole of Ireland, its quite a different thing to understand.

thats a few lads lately caught over in the Youuuuu-Kay now at this stage in the last few years

You know when you laugh at that fella you train with who is convinced that such-and-such who won last week is on the gear? Or when your workmates rib you after Dessie Cahill on the RTE sport is making a hames of pronouncing the name of the latest pro to fail a test and they slag you about "are ya on de EPO yerself?" I think lads need to wake up to just how prevalent all this is in domestic racing.

couldent agree more

im a firm believer that if there were test here at all levels , there would be guys serving bans at all levels.
    A few years at the youth nationals i could not believe the amount of gels and sh1te that young riders were using and even saw parents forcing young lads to take more.... maybe im sceptical in my old age but i could not help thinking if they are depending on that stuff now , what about 10 or 15 years time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,583 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Nail on the head.
    Sorry he got caught.

The reality is most cheats would not cheat if they absolutely knew they would be caught! No matter the age, some form of personal gain is always the motivating factor for cheating.

Whether in sport or otherwise, ego, prestige, kudos, affinity, financial, status etc are extremely motivating factors. That it is wrong to gain these by cheating is justified by some that the 'goal' is more important than knowing it is wrong or the risk of being caught.

Getting caught and all the negative consequences will be secondary to those that go ahead. That said, I would hazard a guess the risk of being caught (or health risks) probably deters more people from proceeding than those who do proceed.

Unfortunately human nature won't change anytime soon, so it's primarily the increased risk, or likelihood of getting caught that offers hope of reducing cheating in sport.

Therefore, any cheater that comes out and makes statements that it's not worth it to cheat has to be welcomed. Clean athletes saying "don't dope" or "I compete clean" won't have the same effect.

While I agree with what you are saying there Kaisr Sose, there is another factor that the cheats probably tend to bury their heads in the sand about. That's the potential damage to their health. Maybe there should be more focus on the damage certainly some of these drugs do. Yes cheating your way to the top seems almost a way of life for some, but if they thought that life may be seriously curtailed as a result they could be tempted to think again.

Education is I guess not just saying cheating is not right. It's also focussing on the fact it's not good for your health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭zurbfoundation

While I agree with what you are saying there Kaisr Sose, there is another factor that the cheats probably tend to bury their heads in the sand about. That's the potential damage to their health. Maybe there should be more focus on the damage certainly some of these drugs do. Yes cheating your way to the top seems almost a way of life for some, but if they thought that life may be seriously curtailed as a result they could be tempted to think again.

Education is I guess not just saying cheating is not right. It's also focussing on the fact it's not good for your health.

no - this kid is from a country with a great educational system and lots of money, he's not down from the hills in Colombia where he risked his health in ignorance or as an only option of a livelihood - there is no way a kid in the UK gets to 17/18 and not know that any kind of substance (performance, recreational, prescribed) can be harmful to you. He already is educated in this regard.

I don't disagree that most will suspect there could be issues. Will they have any idea what those issues may be and when they are likely to suffer them? Probably not. I certainly don't (but then again I don't need to as I don't dope!) That's why I used the term "bury their heads in the sand"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Enduro

I don't disagree that most will suspect there could be issues. Will they have any idea what those issues may be and when they are likely to suffer them? Probably not. I certainly don't (but then again I don't need to as I don't dope!) That's why I used the term "bury their heads in the sand"

The Goldman Dilemma would suggest that ill-health to the extent of death is not enough to deter a significant proportion of athletes from using PEDs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Could it be said that the pro-peleton is cleaner than the amateur one?

At least the pros have to go to the trouble of geting TUEs for their wee blue and brown inhalers, whereas twats like us can sup up a whole one no questions asked.

el tel wrote: »

At least the pros have to go to the trouble of geting TUEs for their wee blue and brown inhalers, whereas twats like us can sup up a whole one no questions asked.

You don't need TUE's for the brown and blue inhalers ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

A few years at the youth nationals i could not believe the amount of gels and sh1te that young riders were using and even saw parents forcing young lads to take more.... maybe im sceptical in my old age but i could not help thinking if they are depending on that stuff now , what about 10 or 15 years time

High 5 gels ... the new gateway drug.

Enduro wrote: »
    The Goldman Dilemma would suggest that ill-health to the extent of death is not enough to deter a significant proportion of athletes from using PEDs.
    I am not surprised, there are lots of activities that are incredibly dangerous to a persons health, that are not only done anyway but socially acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Koobcam

Quite interesting reading the Wikipedia article in your link. It mentions later research in Australia and the US which would seem to contradict the Goldman hypothesis. It seems to me that there is a cultural issue at play here also. I suppose all (or most) of us here would consider ourselves to be part of the English-speaking world and it seems to me that you tend to find those countries (UK, Ireland, the US etc) seem to be where most of the anti-doping sentiment comes from. It would be interesting to see what the response would be if a Goldman-type survey was done in places like Russia or Spain. I don't think the general public in those two countries would have the same almost puritanical expectation that English speakers seem to have about preserving the purity of sport by not doping. I'm not suggesting for a minute that it's a case of 'sure all of them foreigners are on drugs'. Rather that we in the English-speaking world seem to have an unrealistic expectation that participants on sporting contests can somehow divorce themselves from the reality of human nature and resist the temptation to cheat.

mathie wrote: »
    High 5 gels ... the new gateway drug.

there is a lot more than high 5 gels out there being sold off the shelf as a young rugby player from blackrock can attest to after a positive test not so long ago and if i can remember correctly , was there not an article on sticky bottle a while ago warning people to be careful what suppliments , bars and gels and they used.
    i am also reasonably sure i saw a disclaimer on some of they energy products somewhere

You don't need TUE's for the brown and blue inhalers ;)
    a rider in the ras had to provide one a few years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,583 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

I have a book "death in the locker room" that goes into that study and more. It's quite an old book now and quite scientific but it's clear from it that negative health or death are not a deterrent. It's heartening that more recent studies show health consequences are a consideration and this is probably the result of greater education into the risks of PED, rather than a significant change in human behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

there is a lot more than high 5 gels out there being sold off the shelf as a young rugby player from blackrock can attest to after a positive test not so long ago and if i can remember correctly , was there not an article on sticky bottle a while ago warning people to be careful what suppliments , bars and gels and they used.
    i am also reasonably sure i saw a disclaimer on some of they energy products somewhere

I've heard this sorta stuff a lot the last 18 months or so. But I really just can't believe that supplement companies are slipping HGH, EPO and other PEDs into their products. It just makes no sense. Whatsoever.

try telling that to the lad who tested positive

Then he should have read the ingredients. If it wasn't on the list of ingredients but is present and the athlete is certain he should get it checked by an accreditated lab and sue the pants off said company.

The truth is, it's an excuse, a lousy one.

I can forgive the young ones as I remember how being young colours and blinds you but the older and purportedly wiser dopers should be kicked out of the sport permanently if they fight it and are found to have mislead the local ADA.

CramCycle wrote: »
    Then he should have read the ingredients. If it wasn't on the list of ingredients but is present and the athlete is certain he should get it checked by an accreditated lab and sue the pants off said company.

The truth is, it's an excuse, a lousy one.

I can forgive the young ones as I remember how being young colours and blinds you but the older and purportedly wiser dopers should be kicked out of the sport permanently if they fight it and are found to have mislead the local ADA.

agree , the older wiser ones should get lifetime bans ,the only problem is where do you start to draw the line as young lads come up through the ranks into the senior levels
    i feel 'a little' sorry for the young lad in question and its a tough situation on his family and friends, maybe it was intentional maybe it was a young lads foolish mistake , but its also tough on the lads he beat and they would be justified in feeling cheated .
    regarding the rugby player , i dont know if he made excuses or took it on the chin and i did not follow the story , but maybe anyone competing or maybe everyone should pay more attention to what is written on the wrapper

a rider in the ras had to provide one a few years ago

Must have been a good few years ago ;)

6 or7

6 or7

TUE's for those inhalers haven't been needed for about 5 years.

ya could be right

I have every confidence that on this subject not only is Rob likely to be right, but he's probably the leading "expert" on the topic around here;)

(his knowledge on footballing matters is pretty crap though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

http://www.uci.ch/clean-sport/therapeutic-use-exemptions/

U.C.I. regulations on the subject of T.U.E.s
    Inhalers are coverered in #5

I have every confidence that on this subject not only is Rob likely to be right, but he's probably the leading "expert" on the topic around here;)

(his knowledge on footballing matters is pretty crap though)

not doubting him at all , didn't mean it like that
    i had to drive to a stage finish a few years back with some papers from a doctor as a friend had been called for testing and because he rarely uses the inhaler he never thought of tue.. everything was fine.. just cant remember exactly how many years ago

not doubting him at all , didn't mean it like that
    i had to drive to a stage finish a few years back with some papers from a doctor as a friend had been called for testing and because he rarely uses the inhaler he never thought of tue.. everything was fine.. just cant remember exactly how many years ago

It was in 2007

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭wheelo01

I tend not to give the benefit of the doubt to anyone who uses these performance enhancing substances, as I just don't understand the over competive mind - as a man who took up cycling(other than to and from work, and fulfilling a drunken bet that I couldn't cycle to Galway from Dublin) at the age of 42, I just love the fact that I can battle against myself for two /three hours at a time.
    If someone was that close to a pro contract, one can probably see why someone could be tempted.
    I sincerely think that people see the short term gain and forget the long term effects that these "new" drugs can cause, including all the physiological and mental heath issues that can occur.
    For me, I think that all sports should have a clean bill of health, if that means a 100M sprint will be a little slower, then so be it. If there is a need for a "dirty" competition, then let them away with themselves, and compete with the clear knowledge that everyone is at it.

agree , the older wiser ones should get lifetime bans ,the only problem is where do you start to draw the line as young lads come up through the ranks into the senior levels
    Juniors and U24s (IMO). That means that the person in question has had time to either have a few years in the real world or in college and have a grasp of moral and ethical issues.

Above that, full ban regardless of circumstances and excuses, and if the rider disputes the charge (ie does not admit culpability or fights it), only to be shown to have mislead the investigative panel, to hell with them, out of the sport and a lifetime ban from all CI events, competitive and non competitive alike.
    i feel 'a little' sorry for the young lad in question and its a tough situation on his family and friends, maybe it was intentional maybe it was a young lads foolish mistake , but its also tough on the lads he beat and they would be justified in feeling cheated .
    Agreed, thte only mitigating circumstances are his age and the fact that he didn't fight it. Like I said, I don't know if I believe him but I have to give credit for being more of a grown up than some of his pro counter parts. He deserves one chance, after his ban.
    regarding the rugby player , i dont know if he made excuses or took it on the chin and i did not follow the story , but maybe anyone competing or maybe everyone should pay more attention to what is written on the wrapper
    The rugby player is guilty of either stupidity or lying. Either way, he is a doper, end of. No different than the idiots who took valium thinking it gave them an edge in Junior GAA matches. If he took it on the chin, fair enough, serve out his ban (lifetime for a second offence), if he fought it and was shown to be misleading, let him face a lifetime ban.

@CramCycle
    Completely off topic, but can you give me a link to the valium and the Junior G.A.A. matches.
    I want to know more about it.

Eamonnator wrote: »
    @CramCycle
    Completely off topic, but can you give me a link to the valium and the Junior G.A.A. matches.
    I want to know more about it.

It was in my own club when I was an U16 and U18, I played for the Juniors because i wasn't skilled but I gave a good shoulder and could hound anyone into making mistakes.

One of the Seniors on the Junior panel used to talk about taking Valium to give him the edge and get himself up for the game, I'd never even thought of it as doping until recently, I just thought he was an eejit.

Only when I was reading about the likes of Pantani in recent times where Valium was taken to take the edge of in terms of depression etc. so that it would counteract the effect of the other drugs.

Its not what the guy in my club was taking it for, he thought it gave him some improvement physically, maybe it did if he was more relaxed, and looking back, he thought it was doping and he was happy to brag about it so hes no more innocent.

^^^^^^^^
    Judging from the antics of some GAA players in recent times, some of them might benefit from a few of "Mommys' little helpers"