Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend me some forks

• 09-12-2015 6:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭

Have a giant xtc that's a few years old that I use now and then for a bit of trail riding (Ballyhoura, Derroura and the like) grand wee yoke only the fork on it is a bit ****e. It's a cheapo model mazzorochi, no lock-out and showing it's age now after a few years of abuse (bike was originally purchased in 2007).

So now I'm thinking I should probably replace the fork for something lighter, smoother and more tuneable. A lock-out would be nice too. Consequently I'm in the market for a decent 100mm (or thereabouts) travel fork for a 26'er. Problem is I don't know a fecking thing about mountain bike forks. Would anyone care to enlighten me? I haven't set a budget yet. I was thinking 200-300e but wouldn't be opposed to something cheaper and then again wouldn't absolutely rule out going over budget if it meant getting better value. Not interested in racing and don't tend to tackle big jumps. Just need something that can help me roll smoothly over big rocks, roots etc.

Basically just need some pointers on what I should be looking for in terms of compatibility (headtube/headset standards and axle sizes (what's all this talk about 15mm through axles, means nothing to a roadie like me) features, brands, models and places to shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭JBokeh

Bolt through axles are the cats conkers, it is one of the things on a bike where you will actually notice a difference straight away when riding it, going back to a QR wheel after having a bolt through one and you feel like the tracking is off on the bike, and the steering has gone a bit vague.

I'm guessing for your bike at that age you'll be needing a 1 ⅛" straight steerer tube, for a 26" wheel. Good thing is, these can be found cheap. For 100mm of travel and a bolt through axle you'd be looking at a rockshox sektor, some of these can be adjusted from 90mm to 130mm by turning a knob on the crown, these are the U-Turn model, but most can have their travel adjusted easily enough with online guides. Theres a sektor on adverts.ie at the minute, but you'll have to adjust the travel yourself to get it to fit your bike. If you don't mind the QR axle (and you'll be able to keep your current wheel) you can get a rockshox tora, reba or SID in 100mm with a straight steerer, and I think the SID came with the air spring rather than the coil, which makes it tuneable to your weight