Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wild Bullock - Jumps gates when trying to load

• 08-12-2015 2:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭

Hello,

Trying to load a wild bullock to go to the factory but every time he is able to jump the gate in our pen.

Any ideas on how to calm him down?

He will needed to be loaded alone now because he is the only one left for the factory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,305 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Have you tried putting a few strands of electric fence wire over the gates only downside to this is its harder to make an escape if he charges you you should try minimize shouting hitting and having strangers around at loading at possible and try coax him in with some nuts not saying your rough with animals by saying that though

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭RD10

Are you loading him through a crush?? Is there anyone else around you that has cattle going to the factory aswell that have a big cattle trailor/lorry?? Maybe if he seen other cattle in it he would be more inclined to go towards them instead of panic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

A lot of cattle don't like the incline of the ramp into the truck. Electric strand is a good idea. End gate of pin could be attached to front loader and slowly push towards the ramp. Hopefully the current would keep him in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭MrMiyagi

Thank you for the reply's.

So pin is structured like this, a narrow straight run at the top where he enters and a large holding area. We would back in with a box and jeep by opening a gate to the left of the run but if he gets in to the run he run to the end and jumps the gate.

Response to your replies.
    RD10 wrote: »
    Are you loading him through a crush?? Is there anyone else around you that has cattle going to the factory aswell that have a big cattle trailor/lorry?? Maybe if he seen other cattle in it he would be more inclined to go towards them instead of panic.
    That could work. If a fella had a few cull cows he might follow them, but then from a movement side there would be agro if they cam on to the farm. We were trying to load in to a lorry and as you say it can be tough to get them up the ramp.

Have you tried putting a few strands of electric fence wire over the gates only downside to this is its harder to make an escape if he charges you you should try minimize shouting hitting and having strangers around at loading at possible and try coax him in with some nuts not saying your rough with animals by saying that though

The nuts idea could be a runner I was thinking of putting him with a cow for a few days and feeding them meal then stopping the meal for two days and coaxing them in to the yard with a bucket and putting the meal in a trough in the box. This guy is able to clear a 6ft gate if he gets a run.

A lot of cattle don't like the incline of the ramp into the truck. Electric strand is a good idea. End gate of pin could be attached to front loader and slowly push towards the ramp. Hopefully the current would keep him in.
    This sounds like a safe way to close the gate. Not far off Jurassic Park at this point, but he wont be able to mess with a tractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭RD10

I think the less room he has the better. If u could keep him in a narrow space right up to the trailor?? Dont know if thats possible for you. Once u have him going Don't let him stop even for a milli-second to think about where he wants to escape!
    Is it at a certain point that he jumps the gate each time?? I bring my own cattle in and out of the shed each year for ai during the summer, their used to coming in and out not a bother except one day i had parked something in to the side that wasnt there before..cows came around the corner and stopped dead in their tracks for a minute because they werent used to seeing it there.
    just thinking maybe if u put something up at that point where he jumps that he wouldnt be used to and would be a bit more wary of jumping over? Something intimidating to him.
    Ive a neighbour here that keeps bulls/bullocks, he has strands of electric wire overhead in the shed to stop them jumping on eachother and hurting themselves on the slatts. And it works! They've stopped completely. One pelt is all it takes. U could probably do with some of that for this guy!
    Only other advice i might have for u is opening an umbrella and frightening him up the trailor by doing it a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

RD10 wrote: »
    I think the less room he has the better. If u could keep him in a narrow space right up to the trailor?? Dont know if thats possible for you. Once u have him going Don't let him stop even for a milli-second to think about where he wants to escape!
    Is it at a certain point that he jumps the gate each time?? I bring my own cattle in and out of the shed each year for ai during the summer, their used to coming in and out not a bother except one day i had parked something in to the side that wasnt there before..cows came around the corner and stopped dead in their tracks for a minute because they werent used to seeing it there.
    just thinking maybe if u put something up at that point where he jumps that he wouldnt be used to and would be a bit more wary of jumping over? Something intimidating to him.
    Ive a neighbour here that keeps bulls/bullocks, he has strands of electric wire overhead in the shed to stop them jumping on eachother and hurting themselves on the slatts. And it works! They've stopped completely. One pelt is all it takes. U could probably do with some of that for this guy!
    Only other advice i might have for u is opening an umbrella and frightening him up the trailor by doing it a few times.
    I had an Angus bullock that jumped the gate of the crush every time he was put in it so I doubt having a narrow space will help.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

If it's just the gate that's the low point, tie another gate to it to throw down a challenge to him.

Seems to be a 'puissance' bullock.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭Bellview

Not sure if your yard allows this
    1. park trailer & box in yard
    2. put some ration in the trailer
    3. leave the animal alone for a few hours
    4. then chance loading him as he will have walked in & out of the box a few times when alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,271 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Tie another gate onto the top of the gate that's there already. Would a head halter with a long road be any good. You could slowly pull him up into the Lorry. Take care though that you don't loose fingers with the rope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

Tie another gate onto the top of the gate that's there already. Would a head halter with a long road be any good. You could slowly pull him up into the Lorry. Take care though that you don't loose fingers with the rope.

I wouldn't want to be in the back of the lorry with a wild bullock and the door shut.

I'd put some cows in with him if you have any and separate them out when he's on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

IH784man wrote: »
    I wouldn't want to be in the back of the lorry with a wild bullock and the door shut.

I'd put some cows in with him if you have any and separate them out when he's on

You'd want to be pulling the halter from outside. the way to do it is take up the slack every time he moves.

IH784man wrote: »

No, I meant to put the rope through the side of the lorry and pull him up from outside. Cattle stay fairly calm when they are held in a halter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,356 ✭✭✭tanko

No, I meant to put the rope through the side of the lorry and pull him up from outside. Cattle stay fairly calm when they are held in a halter.

How's the halter training going with your limo heifer Patsy?:D

tanko wrote: »
    How's the halter training going with your limo heifer Patsy?:D
    I'll tell ya, it put manners on her, when I had to tag her for the genomics scheme. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭MrMiyagi

I have him in with a cow on his own in a field now. He nervously went up there after coaxing. Put the cow in after. Heard before that magnesium in water calms cattle. Is this true?

I was also debating putting a few bottles a cheap wine in with a bit of meal, let him get a bit tipsy then try and load him. Might show up in blood in factory though.

I'd be frightened of using a halter on this bucko.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭Bellview

agreed ... getting the halter on could be some craic though on the sounds of this lado

Well from what I understand, the OP can get him in the crush no bother. It' s when he gets out into the open pen that he jumps over the gate.
    Put the halter on him in the crush. Maybe even have 2 ropes on it. Work him bit by bit into the truck.

I do this with cows that are having trouble calving. Up the crush, halter on, back into shed and then tie up the halter. Cow has plenty of room then to lie down, stretch out, whatever. The halter can slip off easy enough though and you have to be careful opening and tying the rope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Well from what I understand, the OP can get him in the crush no bother. It' s when he gets out into the open pen that he jumps over the gate.
    Put the halter on him in the crush. Maybe even have 2 ropes on it. Work him bit by bit into the truck.

I do this with cows that are having trouble calving. Up the crush, halter on, back into shed and then tie up the halter. Cow has plenty of room then to lie down, stretch out, whatever. The halter can slip off easy enough though and you have to be careful opening and tying the rope.

Probably missing something Patsy but what benefit is the halter in this circumstance?

Parishlad wrote: »
    Probably missing something Patsy but what benefit is the halter in this circumstance?

The halter will restrain him. Put halter on him in crush. Let him out of crush but have rope tied to crush with enough slack on rope not to get a run at the gate. It depends on the set up though, I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Young farmers everywhere now going off googling what a halter is. basics 101. how to be a livestock farmer. Try beating into the lorry with a headscoop :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

There's a simple solution. Park the jeep and trailer the far side of the gate with the ramp facing the gate he jumps. He'll jump straight into the box and load himself :-)
    If this for some strange reason fails :-), increase the height of the gate he jumps by using a couple of extra gates or even one held up with the tractor and loader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

Not understanding the halter myself. I have tied cattle myself in a crush etc. But how to you lead by a halter a wild, the type get over a 6 foot wall, bullock? Who unties the ropes. I could kinda see Patsy two ropes and gang lads working but who unties it in the lorry?

You can leave the halter on till you get to the factory.Take if off when he goes up the factory chute. Slip a stick in between the ears and it will just fall off.
    ....Am I digging a deeper and deeper hole for myself? :D

I saw a guy once, lay on top of a 700kg bullocks back in a trench of water while he fed a lifting strap under his belly. So anything is possible, if you put your mind to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

You can leave the halter on till you get to the factory.Take if off when he goes up the factory chute. Slip a stick in between the ears and it will just fall off.
    ....Am I digging a deeper and deeper hole for myself? :D

I saw a guy once, lay on top of a 700kg bullocks back in a trench of water while he fed a lifting strap under his belly. So anything is possible, if you put your mind to it.

Did that myself this year to a wild cow. Not recommended :pac:

I wouldn't be a fan of the halter, how much strength can two men have against a 700kg bullock? You're more likely to get rope burn and a crazier bullock than anything else. I'd try a double gated approach as outlined above. Or else attach a few bags that rattle/something to unnerve him to the gate so that he'll be scared by it and run the other way- hopefully up the ramp. You could also park a tractor in front of the gate? Or some piece of machinery to turn his puissance jump into a sort of triple oxer jump ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Is he actually dangerously mad in general, or only when confined?
    If you do manage to get a good halter on him, and a long reins, pass the rope out the front board of the lorry/trailer and tie it to a tractor or loader. Then slowly lead him up the ramp and get it closed.
    If, as is likely, you cannot get him haltered, give him 25kg of nuts a few hours before your planned loading time. Restrict the water he can get at, and he'll only be able to waddle up the ramp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

is it possible to get him into the crush, and leave him there for a while to calm down with the cow, then back the trailer up to the back (entrance) of the crush?
    he will have to back out onto a corner and when he turns around he will only have the trailer space to go up? no room to run. lots of straw might camouflage the ramp.

is there any shed you could load him out of?

a pic of the shergar would be nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

The halter will restrain him. Put halter on him in crush. Let him out of crush but have rope tied to crush with enough slack on rope not to get a run at the gate. It depends on the set up though, I suppose.

Yeah, sorry, I get the loading the bullock bit....twas more the part around using a halter for a cow who is in difficulty calving....and how exactly it would be useful?...as opposed to just putting her in to the calving gate...

I don't have a calving gate. Serious lack of sheds here.