Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Race the Ras 2016

• 08-12-2015 10:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,861 ✭✭✭✭

I am thinking about doing this next year.
    Has anyone done it in previous years? What was their impression?
    Any tips?

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

I raced the Ras last year, it was pretty tough. It's worth it for the cap though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,861 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Did you do many stages? How much of a 'lead' did yee get ...
    ahh shur the cap is just a bonus ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Very very difficult and you need to be at the height of your game both physically and mentally. I completed stages one, two and three, then realised I was still in bed and it was all a dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭dancrowley

I'm doing it next year. I've not taken part before, either, so will be keeping an eye on this thread.

Zyzz wrote: »
    Very very difficult and you need to be at the height of your game both physically and mentally. I completed stages one, two and three, then realised I was still in bed and it was all a dream.
    was it raining ? :rolleyes:

dancrowley wrote: »
    I'm doing it next year. I've not taken part before, either, so will be keeping an eye on this thread.
    how many stages you thinking of doing ?
    Im deffo going to do one, would love to do more, but the cost is a lot for the 4 stages....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

greenspurs wrote: »
    how many stages you thinking of doing ?
    Im deffo going to do one, would love to do more, but the cost is a lot for the 4 stages....

www.racetheras.com

2 of ye are talking about this the other two about The RAS... I think..

I know which one im on about ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

ford2600 wrote: »
    www.racetheras.com

2 of ye are talking about this the other two about The RAS... I think..
    That's very confusing. Why do they call it "Race the RAS" if it's not the race (or even a race)?

Even calling it "Tour de Ras" would be less confusing.

Lumen wrote: »
    That's very confusing. Why do they call it "Race the RAS" if it's not the race (or even a race)?

Even calling it "Tour de Ras" would be less confusing.

Because the "real" one is the An Post Rás, whereas the one for us mere mortals is called "Race the Ras" ,
    I presume it is called that because you set out before the Men of the Rás on the same stage, but a few hours before them and try get to the finish before the Rás itself catches you (?)

Because the "real" one is the An Post Rás, whereas the one for us mere mortals is called "Race the Ras" ,
    I presume it is called that because you set out before the Men of the Rás on the same stage, but a few hours before them and try get there before the Rás itself catches you (?)
    Ah, I see. I think I'd be a bit embarrassed by the thought of doing a pretend race at 30kph or whatever before the real thing.

Bit like the maths dorks being given a ten second head start on the 100m at school sports day.

I'm probably overthinking it.

Ah, I see. I think I'd be a bit embarrassed by the thought of doing a pretend race at 30kph or whatever before the real thing.

Bit like the maths dorks being given a ten second head start on the 100m at school sports day.

Wow! and probably being a bit of a bike snob also.
    Its for charity... a good enough reason for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Lumen, were you given a 10 second head start on school sports day?;)

Wow! and probably being a bit of a bike snob also.
    Its for charity... a good enough reason for me.
    I'm a snob because I feel awkward doing a non-race that called a race?

I don't see what raising money for charity has to do with whether or not it has a stupid name.

velo.2010 wrote: »
    Lumen, were you given a 10 second head start on school sports day?;)
    It wasn't enough.

I'm a snob because I feel awkward doing a non-race that called a race?

I don't see what raising money for charity has to do with whether or not it has a stupid name.

No youre a snob due to your attitude about others doing it ...
    And if you think its a stupid name , thats ok also... Good man.
    Thanks for commenting though :D

I haven't expressed an attitude about others doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

Always tough it was a bit of a sham tbh piggy backing on the real thing,they got into trouble a few years back with the ras guys,the way they regrouped out side the finishing town and rocked in all race like taking all the fan fair on more than one occasion people would be leaving only to be met by the real ras hurdling in at twice the speed,I don't think rtr share the podium with the Ras anymore

But op its still a good set up and well worth doing

misunderstood then ? ...... or not ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

I don't see how there could be any possible confusion. There's a race called the Rás which is actually a race, and there's Race the Rás which is not a race but a "race". Before the Rás races from place to place, the Race the Rás "races" from the same place to the same place, but at a "different" pace. It's all quite simple. So when the Race the Rás riders and the An Post Rás racers say "I raced the Rás" or "I Raced the Rás" be sure to listen for the obvious difference between the Rás and Race the Rás, or you might be at a loss.

Anyway, before we were 'sidetracked' ....

Has anyone taken part in "Race the Rás" before ?

niceonetom wrote: »
    I don't see how there could be any possible confusion. There's a race called the Rás which is actually a race, and there's Race the Rás which is not a race but a "race". Before the Rás races from place to place, the Race the Rás "races" from the same place to the same place, but at a "different" pace. It's all quite simple. So when the Race the Rás riders and the An Post Rás racers say "I raced the Rás" or "I Raced the Rás" be sure to listen for the obvious difference between the Rás and Race the Rás, or you might be at a loss.

An Irish version of the Etape for the Tour de France.... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

The problem with this and cycle against suicide is I'd want to do the whole thing and would feel like I'm missing out if I only done one or two stages. It's bloody expensive to do the whole lot and I'd hate to ask others for sponsorship so I can take a week off to go cycling

yes, i agree. One stage wouldnt be enough ... Or maybe it would :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Mattie500

Interested in doing some of this too, I hear the pace can be hot and the training would have to be good !!! as charity rides go it looks like a great experience. it would also be great to see more of the real RAS.

I see there was a meeting held recently re the 2016 event (it was mentioned on the Race the Ras facebook page) but there doesn't seem to have been any outcome or information published from it...?
    Also the website doesn't have any info re 2016. Anyone able to provide info?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Heard it may not me happening this year :(
    Hope that is wrong.

FWIW I think it's a great event, rides the full distance at a decent speed (29k average) but at a level most of us can aspire to.
    Agree the name is a little confusing.

A man of the Ras is a different animal and have never heard one say they raced it. Rode it, done it, survived etc

I'd love to give it a go

dancrowley wrote: »
    I see there was a meeting held recently re the 2016 event (it was mentioned on the Race the Ras facebook page) but there doesn't seem to have been any outcome or information published from it...?
    Also the website doesn't have any info re 2016. Anyone able to provide info?

i was searching for info about and , as you said, i couldnt find anything about the 2016 version, so i thought i would ask the question on here ...

RobFowl wrote: »
    Heard it may not me happening this year :(
    Hope that is wrong.

FWIW I think it's a great event, rides the full distance at a decent speed (29k average) but at a level most of us can aspire to.
    Agree the name is a little confusing.

A man of the Ras is a different animal and have never heard one say they raced it. Rode it, done it, survived etc

I'd love to give it a go

Oh, that would be a pity...
    I was just hoping that the lack of info was due to the fact that its not on until may(ish) and that the Rás itself has no route up yet.
    I would love to do it, especially after watching the lads going up Seskin Hill a couple of years ago..... One guy in particular going up the 20% part crunching a 42x12 .... I thought his knees would explode ! :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Oh, that would be a pity...
    I was just hoping that the lack of info was due to the fact that its not on until may(ish) and that the Rás itself has no route up yet.
    I would love to do it, especially after watching the lads going up Seskin Hill a couple of years ago..... One guy in particular going up the 20% part crunching a 42x12 .... I thought his knees would explode ! :D

Race the Ras is a fabulous idea and something Freds like us (me) cant manage.
    Feck the snobs and go for it.
    I'd be well chuffed and proud if I managed to finish it...

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

RobFowl wrote: »
    Race the Ras is a fabulous idea and something Freds like us (me) cant manage.
    Feck the snobs and go for it.
    I'd be well chuffed and proud if I managed to finish it...

Was on my todo list this year to do a stage, know a few who did the Galway to Newport route last year and they found it tough going.

yop wrote: »
    Was on my todo list this year to do a stage, know a few who did the Galway to Newport route last year and they found it tough going.

Should it follow the same setup as 2015, I was envisaging doing the full 8 stages in 2016.

"Was on my todo list this year to do a stage, know a few who did the Galway to Newport route last year and they found it tough going."

How much of a lead did they get over the Rásers ? (new word) ;)
    what kind of speeds were they hitting? (i know it depends on the route....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I'd love to do the "Race the Ras" some year, but I don't think I'd be able for it.

I remember going to see some friends who were in the Ras come up the wicklow gap and I was cycling up with some lad who was doing the "Race the Ras". He was suffering massively, barely able to talk. When he could talk, all he could say was that he didn't know how the county guys were able to do what he was doing at race pace against professionals.

Everyone has massive respect for everyone who has done the Ras. I'm sure that it works the other way too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

A friend of mine did Race the Race 3 years running, average club rider rides odd A4 race. He always said it was a great week, great fun.

From memory he said it two big bunches riding around a few hours in front of RAS.

He used to drink every evening like it was rag week, so not sure if that was the fun bit or the bike...

He is a lunatic though.

Depending on town I'd expect accommodation might be limited

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 midlandwheeler

Race the RAS will go ahead in 2016 as a 3 day event taking in the last three stages of An Ras on the 27th,28th and 29th of May.

The route has not been announced yet but we understand the three stages will come from the South and take in the sunny Southeast, Wicklow, and Kildare. The online entry for the event will open in the next few weeks. See racetheras dot com or the Race the Ras face book page where updates will be posted shortly.

This is not a race, we ride in a number of manageable groups and work for each other but regrouping at the top of climbs. We ride the same route as the RAS each day but we leave 3 hours ahead of it.

There is a "tea break" for about twenty minutes at about the 80-100km point each day and we then expect to arrive into the stage finish about 45mins to an 1 hour ahead of the RAS.

Participants need to be good standard club riders to be able to take part with an average speed of 27-30km on each stage. Former two time RAS winning riders Paul McCormack and Philip Cassidy are the road captains and they ensure a sensible pace and teamwork.

Riders have a full backup team with motorbike outriders, lead car, backup vans and medical assistance. Not for the faint hearted but its a brilliant event where you ride the route ahead of the big boys and get to take in the atmosphere and finish each day. Numbers will be limited so now is the time to think about it if you fancy the challenge of "Race the RAS".

Race the RAS will go ahead in 2016 as a 3 day event taking in the last three stages of An Ras on the 27th,28th and 29th of May.

The route has not been announced yet but we understand the three stages will come from the South and take in the sunny Southeast, Wicklow, and Kildare. The online entry for the event will open in the next few weeks. See racetheras dot com or the Race the Ras face book page where updates will be posted shortly.

This is not a race, we ride in a number of manageable groups and work for each other but regrouping at the top of climbs. We ride the same route as the RAS each day but we leave 3 hours ahead of it.

There is a "tea break" for about twenty minutes at about the 80-100km point each day and we then expect to arrive into the stage finish about 45mins to an 1 hour ahead of the RAS.

Participants need to be good standard club riders to be able to take part with an average speed of 27-30km on each stage. Former two time RAS winning riders Paul McCormack and Philip Cassidy are the road captains and they ensure a sensible pace and teamwork.

Riders have a full backup team with motorbike outriders, lead car, backup vans and medical assistance. Not for the faint hearted but its a brilliant event where you ride the route ahead of the big boys and get to take in the atmosphere and finish each day. Numbers will be limited so now is the time to think about it if you fancy the challenge of "Race the RAS".
    Thanks for that...
    Where did you find that ? Ive been searching, and i cant find any info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,641 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

I'd say midland wheeler is involved somehow guessing by that post.

I've done varying amounts the last four years, the full week last year.

To be clear its a sportive not a race and it is great craic, sound bunch of lads and lassies.
    IMO, and I believe this is due to issues with the organisers its been diluted a bit the last couple of years. We haven't exactly done the same route, some climbs have been cut off and we haven't started and finished at exactly the same location. But still a great experience to be out cycling for the week in a big bunch. Plenty of pinting as well if you can handle that on top of the distances. I'd imagine with it just being three days this year there will be two serious nights!
    As for the standard, its more about being able to handle the distances, the speed is never really an issue, again IMO

Below is a bit from an email to past participants

The entry cost is €500 and your hotel, meals, jersey and full backup will be provided and we look forward to an other amazing RTR adventure.