Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car has no tax

• 06-12-2015 9:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭

So i started driving during the summer and did everything by the book. I would never drive a car without tax or insurance or if there was a fault.

The other day I was walking into my aunts housing estate and there is a car in the house across the road from her with no tax since 06-13 and insurance is out 11-15, she drives the car everyday with her grandchild. When I say drive it is not to the local town but she brings her home from school 40mins, every day. This woman is self employed, her husband also has a good job as a manager in an international company. They are not short of money, and both drive bmws.

I'm just wondering can you report someone without tax? I don't know how she's gotten away so long because since I started driving I've gone through 5/6 tax and insurance checkpoints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Checkpoints are usually located only in certain more urbanised spots.
    In the rural Ireland, checkpoints are non existant and lots of people drive without tax, insurance and NCT. Very often unlicensed or drunk.
    That's the reality.

I read somewhere that on average 6% of vehicles on Irish roads are uninsured. Surely number of untaxed an unNcted vehicles is even higher.

So don't be surprised that you see them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Monkeysgomad

CiniO wrote: »
    Checkpoints are usually located only in certain more urbanised spots.
    In the rural Ireland, checkpoints are non existant and lots of people drive without tax, insurance and NCT. Very often unlicensed or drunk.
    That's the reality.

I read somewhere that on average 6% of vehicles on Irish roads are uninsured. Surely number of untaxed an unNcted vehicles is even higher.

So don't be surprised that you see them :)

This lady lives near me and where she is living is actually an urbanised area, with ida parks and all. There is 1000s of people going to work in factories everyday.
    I just don't think she should be allowed away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

report her on the Garda Confidential line. Don't have any qualms about it, she's taking the piss out of you and me who pay our dues, especially if the Insurance is out,.

Yeah exactly, I don't think it's fair. I would say something if she genuinely was struggling but their living in a big house, no children at home and have a lot of money, so I've no sympathy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,046 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Yeah exactly, I don't think it's fair. I would say something if she genuinely was struggling but their living in a big house, no children at home and have a lot of money, so I've no sympathy

I wouldn't care if they were living in a tent, there's no excuse for no insurance, if they can't afford to run a car they shouldn't be on the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭The_fever

Maybe mind your own business ? Just a suggestion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

It's none of your business OP.

Regardless of what you think you know things are never as they seem.

The Gardaí are there to do a job leave it to them.

As for her insurance who's to say it isn't in the post November has only just passed.

Next time you walk through a car park make sure you have credit on your phone as you'll be reporting a lot of cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,686 ✭✭✭barneystinson

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    It's none of your business OP.

Regardless of what you think you know things are never as they seem.

The Gardaí are there to do a job leave it to them.

As for her insurance who's to say it isn't in the post November has only just passed.

Next time you walk through a car park make sure you have credit on your phone as you'll be reporting a lot of cars.

Do you have the same attitude about all forms of crime, or do you have your own set of rules that you use to determine what's ok and what isn't?

If you saw a house on fire would you drive on and say it's not your job to call the fire brigade?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,775 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

It's everybody's business who drives a car themselves. Don't we all pay onto the uninsured drivers find to cover ****e Like that.

And what about when she runs into somebody with no insurance. Total torture to get it sorted.

Report her surely and if the insurance is in the post then the guards will sort it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

there is a car in the house across the road from her with no tax since 06-13 and insurance is out 11-15
    I don't care about tax. Someone having no insurance I'll report, though.

Do you have the same attitude about all forms of crime, or do you have your own set of rules that you use to determine what's ok and what isn't?

If you saw a house on fire would you drive on and say it's not your job to call the fire brigade?

Wow that's a quality arguement did you step away from your playset just to reply.

OP is looking to report someone for tax evasion. It annoys me that it is the responsibility of the Gardaí to enforce this let alone someone reporting a random stranger for supposedly not paying tax.

OP knows nothing about the circumstances and could well be wasting Garda time.

Clearly you have no qualms with wasting Garda time.

Keep up the good work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

I can understand someone driving without tax,but it catches up with you anyway.

But driving without insurance?Thats just wrong.

Calling the Garda helpline wont make a blind bit of difference.Unless they catch her driving red handed its pointless reporting her.

As someone else suggested maybe its best to mind your own business.

the_syco wrote: »

I would do the same myself without question. However on my last renewal there was a mix up on the names on policy so for 2 weeks I had an out of date cert in the window even though I was covered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

the_syco wrote: »

why don't you care about tax? the more others dodge, the more You (presumably) and I have to pay.

I wouldn't imagine the revenue are killing themselves chasing car tax evaders after recent figures released.

http://www.businesspost.ie/tax-receipts-were-e470-million-ahead-of-target-in-november/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

This lady lives near me and where she is living is actually an urbanised area, with ida parks and all. There is 1000s of people going to work in factories everyday.
    I just don't think she should be allowed away with it.

What if she crashes into you or one of your family members or someone you know in the future with no tax or insurance? Are you going to assume that she will be willing to pay for any damage caused out of her own pocket? Report her. Personally I don't understand her logic in trying to get away with this because at some point it's going to bite her in the ass and may cost more than the cost of tax and insurance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

Wow that's a quality arguement did you step away from your playset just to reply.

OP is looking to report someone for tax evasion. It annoys me that it is the responsibility of the Gardaí to enforce this let alone someone reporting a random stranger for supposedly not paying tax.

OP knows nothing about the circumstances and could well be wasting Garda time.

Clearly you have no qualms with wasting Garda time.

Keep up the good work.

Circumstances? What circumstances could be relevant for tax being 2 years out of date?

I don't know, do you? Neither does the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

if everyone paid their tax, the tax would still go up. its a tax thats the whole point of taxing

I disagree with the tax system here so I tend to opt out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,005 ✭✭✭✭ted1

The_fever wrote: »
    Maybe mind your own business ? Just a suggestion

As a tax payer it is our business. We pay more to cover those that don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭bren2002

I disagree with the tax system here so I tend to opt out

No, you leech off the rest of us. If you disagree with the tax system become politically active and get it changed.

how do you know this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭bren2002

What? If you opt out of the tax system by definiation you leech off the rest of us.

When my tax disc arrived, I gave it to my daughter to put in car. She put it BEHIND the old one and I drove around like that for a good 6 months before being stopped at a Garda checkpoint and he asking me why I was driving an untaxed vehicle. Might something similar have happened here? Insurance disc could be in the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

awesome trolling there.
    never gets old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,046 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

When my tax disc arrived, I gave it to my daughter to put in car. She put it BEHIND the old one and I drove around like that for a good 6 months before being stopped at a Garda checkpoint and he asking me why I was driving an untaxed vehicle. Might something similar have happened here? Insurance disc could be in the post.

Would have had to have put it behind the old one twice.

I don't know, do you? Neither does the OP.

:rolleyes: There are none. Simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

Would have had to have put it behind the old one twice.

Or bought a years tax!! Not everyone buys 3 months at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

aido79 wrote: »
    What if she crashes into you or one of your family members or someone you know in the future with no tax or insurance? Are you going to assume that she will be willing to pay for any damage caused out of her own pocket? Report her. Personally I don't understand her logic in trying to get away with this because at some point it's going to bite her in the ass and may cost more than the cost of taxand insurance.
    What difference will having no tax make in that situation?

:rolleyes: There are none. Simples.

Santa is watching that eye rolling. You want to be sure you're on the good list don't you :D

Is this really your answer? :) (as in the disk is behind the out of date ones)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Or bought a years tax!! Not everyone buys 3 months at a time.

June 2013 is 2 and a half years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

So there's a simple explanation, like one disc behind the other or... something (I tend to leave my tax and insurance discs in the envelope on my passenger seat for at least a week before I remember to put them in .... 2.5 years, not so much) So in the fairly unlikely event that the Gardai or Revenue actually do call round to check, that's the end of that.

On the other hand if she's taking the piss she has to cough up.

It's up to the OP whether it's worth his time acting as community policeman, but he's hardly at fault either way. I would remind everyone that we live in a Republic, and thus we collectively consent to our laws and regulations through the democratic process, and there's no shame in actively supporting them if we so choose: we're not still supposedly resisting the agents of a rapacious foreign monarchy through our every action, and anyone who assists Her Maj in filling her Imperial coffers is a damned quisling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    What difference will having no tax make in that situation?

Possibly none but if she is insured(and just not displaying the disc) but driving an untaxed vehicle a situation could arise where the insurance company may say her insurance policy is void because the car wasn't legally supposed to be on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Possibly none but if she is insured(and just not displaying the disc) but driving an untaxed vehicle a situation could arise where the insurance company may say her insurance policy is void because the car wasn't legally supposed to be on the road.

What policy requires your car to be taxed though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Alan_007_

Doesn't matter in the slightest to whoever she hits. They'd have to pay out all 3rd party claims even if she was driving with no tax or NCT, bald tyres and 10 pints in her system. They might decide to chase her for the money, but that's of no concern to her victim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Sorry but I do have a license. A lot of learners drive alone. You can't have someone with you 24/7. My cousin has done it for 3 years and never been caught. Has she crashed ? No. Has she killed someone? No. Has she ran over someone? No.

It seems the rules of the road only apply to other people, and not the op.

Im sure this is the same busybody that posted the same thread a couple of months ago and also decided in that thread that it was fine for her to drive alone but others should be 100% law abiding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

June 2013 is 2 and a half years ago.

I was replying to the comment about the posters daughter putting it behind another disk and not noticing for 6 months. The post said she must have done it twice. I pointed out that wasn't necessarily true.

This is why multi quoting should be available on the mobile site!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Alan_007_

Im sure this is the same busybody that posted the same thread a couple of months ago and also decided in that thread that it was fine for her to drive alone but others should be 100% law abiding
    Yeah,but having no tax is far more dangerous than driving unaccompanied after only passing a multiple choice test!

Is anyone completely innocent of this? How many people giving out yards about politicians scamming , think they can opt out by not paying tax or feel they should be let off with various offences and gards are "being jobsworth cnuts" if they stop them? A huge amount of people are scamming at various levels but all share the common thought that what they are doing is ok but others of their choosing should be pulled up for it.

BTW op, a learners permit is not a drivers licence.

my point was and is basically, people in glass houses......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭ponzook

Do you look in your neighbours windows with binoculars?

I was replying to the comment about the posters daughter putting it behind another disk and not noticing for 6 months. The post said she must have done it twice. I pointed out that wasn't necessarily true.

This is why multi quoting should be available on the mobile site!!

My reading is that Atlantic dawn means that the person the OP is talking about would have had to have done that twice is a row , having taxed it for a year each time , not Maryann and her daughter.

pablo128 wrote: »
    It seems the rules of the road only apply to other people, and not the op.

If you read further down, you will see that I said a lot of people drive alone, but I do not. I never have drove the car alone since j got my permit.

I am also not the one who wrote about driving alone all the time. My cousin does it, but I never have.