Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Average milk solids 2015

• 05-12-2015 11:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭

I am all most dry. just wondering what are the average milk solid per cow supply for 2015. i will start 459kg/ms per cow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

410kgMS last year, midget cows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

480 atm. Reckon we'll supply 490 at 5600l/cow and 800 kgs fed.
    Was 477 kgs last yr with 800 kgs fed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭stanflt

Won't do the 600kg will end up short by 3-4kg on 1,5ton meal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Should do close on 420 kgs here I think, on about 400kgs meal, stocked at 3.3 on mp, and over 30% heifers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

480 atm. Reckon we'll supply 490 at 5600l/cow and 800 kgs fed.
    Was 477 kgs last yr with 800 kgs fed

Wow. What fat/prot % is that working off? Sounds impressive
    Looking like 472kg here off 6060l, haven't totted up the nut dockets yet but should be around the 800 kgs also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

269 kg p. 312 kg f. 581 total. Delivered and get to calves. About one ton meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Where are ye getting the ms delivered figure from. Est around 500 this year up from 440ish last year. Around 800kg of meal. Have to sit down and properly allocate purchased concentrates. Ms for last year from teagasc analysis. This year best guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Where are ye getting the ms delivered figure from. Est around 500 this year up from 440ish last year. Around 800kg of meal. Have to sit down and properly allocate purchased concentrates. Ms for last year from teagasc analysis. This year best guess.

Litres collected multiply by 1.03 and multiply by percent fat plus percent protein divided by no. cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭stanflt

Co op figures divided by stock numbers from Icbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Litres collected multiply by 1.03 and multiply by percent fat plus percent protein divided by no. cows.

Yeah 504.something done that way. Hoping for decent lift next year. Brakes on for first three months this year, ten percent of the herd only came in in May and forty percent heifers. 600 would be a target we would be aiming at.

stanflt wrote: »
    Co op figures divided by stock numbers from Icbf

And no milk recording results please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Daniel1122

5275 litres supply to co.op at 3.82 pro and 4.64 Bfat
    459 kg feed 750kg of ration. Output per Ha will be just over 1300kg in the hold farm. Replacement are contract rear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

530/40 on 1250 kg meal with 33% heifers .circa 6900 ltrs delievered once cows dried of in 2 weeks time .aim is 8000 ltrs 600 kg solids and 1.5 tonne meal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Are lads using peak number of cows or average cow numbers? Sould be 480 per cow using peak numbers on 800kgs of meal were on track to do over 500 but milk has fell rapidily since we housed and ran out of baled ailage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Daniel1122

Average number of cow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Daniel1122 wrote: »
    Average number of cow

Should it not be max number milked?

I always thought it was the number of cows milked during the peak months.
    Or the number u give when ur father in law is asking "are u milking many cows now?"!!
    Some guys cow numbers fluctuate depending on the source of the question!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

The icbf co op report said 397 up to end sept.

Dont know how much since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

I always thought it was the number of cows milked during the peak months.
    Or the number u give when ur father in law is asking "are u milking many cows now?"!!
    Some guys cow numbers fluctuate depending on the source of the question!

I just say im milking them all.

Wow. What fat/prot % is that working off? Sounds impressive
    Looking like 472kg here off 6060l, haven't totted up the nut dockets yet but should be around the 800 kgs also

4.44% bf
    3.76% p

2014 av was
    4.22 bf
    I'm putting the jump in solids down to grass measuring. The genetics was always there

I'm using teagasc cost control planner.
    Input litres,solids and money etc and it has ms/cow on it for you.
    I was using av no milked. Is it supposed to be highest amount?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

mf240 wrote: »
    I just say im milking them all.

When I was working for farmers while in college if anyone ever asked 'what are x's cows milking' I always replied 'milk' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

444kgMS delivered here on the average cow numbers (about 430 based on max numbers), on about 800kg meal, SR 2.7, Maize silage bought in (roughly 500kgDM/cow) and about 1/4 of the grass silage bought in. Very average figures in comparison to many others here. Big issue is poor fertility, too many passengers as a result, the CI is still out at 410days. Grand for the big hitting milkers who will milk on, but too many younger poor milking cows who dry themselves off early, and end up dry for 4 or 5 months. I need to be alot more ruthless...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭degetme

351kg of milk solids up to end of Sept acc to icbf supplied to co-op. Add in then whatever the calves drank and yearlings drank due to quota last spring and milk lost on putting some cows on once a day last spring. Fed just under 500kg of meal to cows this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Prob 470 here back from 493 last year. Carried more carryovers and culls this year and July weather was reason for drop fed 1.4 tonne last year back to 1.1 tonne this year roughly haven't worked it out yet but maize bought in all the time.
    Hoping to pass 500 this coming year as will have less carryovers milking and culls will be sold straight off but extra heifers so will see how it pans out. A good spring could make all the difference oceans of grass outside just to get out and use it in feb. Here's hoping anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Midfield9

For icbf I'm fairly sure it's average numbers. Was 457 up to end of Sept. Should finish 570-580 I'd guess. On about 1.5 tonne of meal by year end. Maybe a little over that. Grow maize.Pleased enough considering what milk went to calves in the spring/ late calvers dried of early.