Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the stupidest thing you have done/said?

• 05-12-2015 1:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭

...that makes you cringe and shudder now that you think back on it?

Come on, we have all been there, share.

I once, while on my phone to a friend, was in a state of panic searching the house looking for my phone. Eventually, I told my friend that I will be delayed meeting her as I couldn't find my phone anywhere. She said, "Have you tried your ear?..."

:eek::mad::o:rolleyes::(:eek::o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Once drove 40 miles back home to retrieve concert tickets that I'd left on the kitchen table.

They were etickets though and so a quick visit to an Internet cafe would have sufficed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Will you marry me.

Okay.

I once agreed to marry someone on the Internet in the mistaken belief that they had just proposed to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭FallSilently

The dumbest thing I have ever done is not getting here before NachoBusiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Okay.

I'm not doing it a third time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

How much for ten penny sweets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Just today or in general?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

How much for ten penny sweets
    10p each.

I wouldn't know where to start. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

There have been plenty, believe you me!

But I think (I hope) we can relate to:

In school *hand up in the air* "Miss! Miss! Miss! Mum! *cough*"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭CFlat

In and around 2005/6 I said to my then gf, well our house has now doubled in value since we bought it in 2001 and it's worth about 400,000 euro so by 2010, jaysus it could be worth 5 or 600,000...

I've been wrong a lot, but that's the wrongest I've ever been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

This one time .....at band camp....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

The good thing about being really awkward, shy and quiet is that my stupid thoughts have usually passed through several stages of overthinking before being verbalised. My stupid actions, on the other hand...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

I once agreed to marry someone on the Internet in the mistaken belief that they had just proposed to me.

This may interest you....https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Married_at_First_Sight_%28American_TV_series%29

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Done: trusted a liar

Said: walked into a post office and asked if they sell stamps :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Oh I just remembered another one:

I once walked into a Barber, sat down, she put robe around me, looked at me in the mirror and asked, "so what can I do for you?".

To which I replied, "can I have a haircut?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I worked in a drop in centre for homeless people a few years and we encouraged placements and volunteers to help clear the floor by asking service users to leave.

I didn't say it but a volunteer one evening shouted very loudly and clearly "c'mon folks , have you'se no homes to go to " ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,518 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Probably be easier to list the rare times I've actually done something sensible tbh, rather than try and think of the most stupid things I've ever said or done. I try and scrub those from my memory :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

Done: trusted a liar

Said: walked into a post office and asked if they sell stamps :o

well it would have been worse if you had asked the local butcher..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

In my last job there was a poster on the wall saying "Sometimes Mammy or Daddy is Mammy and Daddy" or words to that effect. Not realising it referred to single parents, I dumbly said to my co workers that I wondered if it was hard on kids growing up with a cross dresser for a parent .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,701 ✭✭✭storker

To a partially sighted chess player after nearly losing a game to him "I was really in trouble for a while; you played a blinder..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

I've often said very intelligent things to stupid people but I'm not sure if that's the same thing. Maybe you don't understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,679 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

i was a chipper one night and i asked for a bottle of coke but i didnt see the women put in next to me and then i asked 'can i have my coke' and she pointed at it lol

felt like such a tit and should of been ashamed of myself lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭sozbox

PTH2009 wrote: »
    felt like such a tit and should of been ashamed of myself lol

Oh yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

I went into work one morning and noticed a new lad there who was of African origin, so being the nice person I am I decided to approach him to introduce myself etc. ......... he looked at me blankly and replied "I've worked here for 3 months".

It's not often I feel awkward .........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Pissed on a Garda station window.
    Ate out a Chinese massage girl.
    Put a €50 bet on a draw in a rugby match.
    Almost became a Jehovah Witness out of politeness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Hammer89 wrote: »
    Ate out a Chinese massage girl.

Also known as a No.36 - A Spicebox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I had hair in mine.

Ah jeez.

/unsubscribes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Hammer89 wrote: »
    I had hair in mine.

Sure look, least you've something to floss the teeth with after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

"Cruais, I got engaged!!" (Shoving ring finger in my face)

Me: "Well done!"

I swear i didn't mean it in a bad way! It just flew out of my mouth!