Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vautour

• 03-12-2015 2:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭

Vaurour is 11/4 for the King george and 6/1 with PP for the gold cup,do people think he is a definate runner for the gold cup,the jlt was 2 mile 4 and ran away from them up the hill,ruby always says he will stay more,what scares me is he is 5/1 with everyone else except PP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Vaurour is 11/4 for the King george and 6/1 with PP for the gold cup,do people think he is a definate runner for the gold cup,the jlt was 2 mile 4 and ran away from them up the hill,ruby always says he will stay more,what scares me is he is 5/1 with everyone else except PP.

The prices are totally mental, whatever about the king george, id be steering clear of backing him for the gold cup yet as he no certainly to run.

I'm a huge fan of the horse, but unless he wins the King George handy you should be able to get a decent price on the day in the gold cup as its hugely open this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Huntley

He'll win the King George as long as it isn't heavy. The left handed/right handed stuff isn't worth even noting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭Wicklow Brave

There are so many variables that will decide where Vautour runs. Not only how the horse himself does in his own races like the King George, but it depends on other horses in the yard because Vautour is so versatile. A lot of it depends on how Un de Sceaux runs in the Dial-A-Bet/Tied Cottage and how Djakadam goes in the Lexus/Hennessy and to a lesser extent Don Poli, Sir Des Champs and even Valseur Lido. One permutation could be that Vautour wins the King George but UDS hasn't shown QMCC winning form and Djakadam wins Lexus/Hennessy, Vautour will run in the Champion Chase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

His own thread :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Forget about where he will turn up for a moment. But his performance in March was one of the most awesome performances over fences I have ever seen. He absolutely devoured the hill after pinging the last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Absolutely, and if you could get 6/1 with a run for the Gold Cup it would be one hell of an e/w bet, it's a very deep Gold Cup this year but this lad just looks so special he could devour the lot of them if on song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Looks like a Ryanair horse to me but 4/1 ante post for the Ryanair is too skinny if the Gold Cup is his target.

Any bookies offering a price on him to win 'any race in Cheltenham'?

danganabu wrote: »
    Any bookies offering a price on him to win 'any race in Cheltenham'?

3/1 with Paddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Jon Stark

Don Cossack has impressed me more, only question is whether Cheltenham is his type of course.

I'll be siding with him in the King George anyway.

Djakadam winning the John Durkan on Sunday makes you wonder if it might lessen the chances of Vautour turning up in the Gold Cup. It's unlikely that Rich Ricci would run two of his horses in the same race, given he could split them between the Ryanair and the Gold Cup, and having the extra benefit of Ruby riding both of them. I can't see Vautour running in the Champion Chase if Un De Sceaux is anywhere near the horse he was as a novice, and Ruby wouldn't want to have to choose between the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

danganabu wrote: »
    Absolutely, and if you could get 6/1 with a run for the Gold Cup it would be one hell of an e/w bet, it's a very deep Gold Cup this year but this lad just looks so special he could devour the lot of them if on song.

I can't think of a horse+race combo i'd like to go e/w less on. You'll never get "with a run" in any case.

No point backing anything in that race now. If Vatour or DC are beaten in the KG, then they may not go for it, or will be a way bigger price. If one of them wins the KG, the naysayers will still doubt stamina and in the most competitive GC in years, you'll still get 3/1+ on the day. No reward to backing anyone now. Overrounds throught the roof at the moment in that market too

Vautour will run in the QM (whether he wins KG or not). UDS won't train on, those APQS yokes usually peak at 7/8 and he doesn't exactly scream Kauto Star-like durability. Djakadam will go v close in the GC (I'd have him as fav actually). In Ruby's shoes- would I rather choice of V/UDS in the QM or V/D in the GC? I know which one I'd much prefer. V in the Ryanair extremely unlikely IMO. WPM wants QMs and GCs, and he'd look a complete moron if UDS/D/DP come 2nd in QM/GC while V wins Ryanair by half the track. Keeping V/UDS/DP apart as novices when all 3 were good things is v different to keeping them apart when none of them are good things (except V in Ryanair but theres not much difference in winning an Arkle v JLT compared to winning a QM v Ryanair, also I'd say their plan initially was V to be this year's GC horse but that was before Djakadam's mighty GC run and UDS looking rather fallible at Punchestown).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭lemush

Vautour will run in the QM (whether he wins KG or not).

Jaysus.

lemush wrote: »
    Jaysus.

Lol, Honestly I don't think how Vautour does in the KG influences where he runs at Cheltenham. The KG is not a trial for the GC, it is one of the biggest races in the sport alone and should be viewed in isolation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Charlie George

If Vautour wins the KG easily which i think he can,then he will have to go in the GC,it has been historically the route of winners of the KG,i know with Djakadam winning easily has thrown a spanner in the works but i'd say Richi will sooner have 2 great chances for the top prize than 1,winning 10 Ryanairs would do nothing for them.

UDS won't train on, those APQS yokes usually peak at 7/8.

There have been plenty of decent AQPS horses who trained on beyond their novice campaign. I wouldn't dismiss him because of that.

Not just that but also how he races, he takes a lot out of himself. You look at Vautour on his 171 rated JLT performance, he could be a 180+ animal. UDS on 168, I don't see him improving more than half a stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Clique

WPM wants QMs and GCs.

You spelt Mares Hurdles wrong :)

So hard to call anymore where anything goes with Mullins, he has so much talent and a pool of horse for most festival races its nearly unfair on the rest! Each year these debates rage on until the last week before Cheltenham but anyone backing anything now is mad IMO

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    I can't think of a horse+race combo i'd like to go e/w less on. You'll never get "with a run" in any case.

I don't think he will run in the GC but if he does he will not be 6/1, in fact as we stand today he is 4/1 in a number of places, the reason I would be interested in 6/1 with a run is because in order for him to run it would mean that Don Cossack has drifted massively or is a NR, people (including myself) have already alluded to it being a very deep GC which it is, but the reality is its a very deep Willie Mullins GC and whoever emerges as his No.1 will be a very short price. Think it will be Djakadam myself, buts that's for another thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭skippymac6

Yeah as people have mentioned before, although Willie loves a winner at Cheltenham (esp in the mares), he wouldn't "waste" an animal like Vautour on the Ryanair. He'd surely put two (non-giggy horses) in the QM or GC instead. Sure he has horses like VV-Magg, Mozoltav (if he runs well this weekend), Felix Yonger etc to aim at the Ryanair. He wants a few more championship races. He has only won the champion hurdle of the four big ones and Ricci has yet to taste glory in there. He's not throwing money at these guys to pick up Ryanair titles. I take the point about re-routing Annie Power to the mares last year but the world hurdle isn't held in the same mystique as the Qm or GC especially and RR had Faugheen for the champ hurdle anyway last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Willie (and RR) are desperate for a Gold Cup. While they may take gimmies in the form of mares hurdles, in those cases theyre only giving up a crack at a World Hurdle which is barely even a championship race to begin with. A huge amount of their top class recruits in recent years have been staying chasing "types" such as Faugheen, Annie Power, Pont Alexandre, Djakadam, Douvan, Mikael D'Hagunet, Champagne Fever etc. While some may have fallen short or been rerouted elsewhere, it wont stop them throwing mud at the wall with as many possible to try and win a GC. He'll go in mob handed this year to try and get the monkey off his back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭uxiant

Gigginstown will also go mob handed with Don Poli, Don Cossack and Road to Riches. That's some team.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Djakadam is Ricci's best shot at the GC IMO. Would love to see Vautour going 2 miles against UDS. One can dream!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

If they all make it in one piece which sadly is unlikely it will be the strongest Gold Cup of all time.

Coneygree
    Vautour
    Don Poli
    Don Cossack
    Djakadam
    Road To Riches
    Cue Card

Would be unmissable viewing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Charlie George

mdwexford wrote: »
    If they all make it in one piece which sadly is unlikely it will be the strongest Gold Cup of all time.

Coneygree
    Vautour
    Don Poli
    Don Cossack
    Djakadam
    Road To Riches
    Cue Card

Cue Card wont stay the gold cup,def.Ryanair for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

Coneygree
    Vautour
    Don Poli
    Don Cossack
    Djakadam
    Road To Riches
    Cue Card

Smad place and sir des champs not also rans either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Cue Card wont stay the gold cup,def.Ryanair for him.

I agree it won't see him at his best.

I do think they will take their shot at the Gold Cup though.

Smad Place could only manage 8th last year although he may have improved since.

2 years injured for SDC and he will be 10 in March, can't see him threatening.
    He was certainly a very good horse at his peak though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

I agree it won't see him at his best.

I do think they will take their shot at the Gold Cup though.

Smad Place could only manage 8th last year although he may have improved since.

2 years injured for SDC and he will be 10 in March, can't see him threatening.
    He was certainly a very good horse at his peak though.

Smad place has certainly improved with the wind op, his jumping was phenomenal last day out and thats what its all about, he's right there imo.

SDC is wait and see

Its a hell of a race when you can consider bobs worth, conti, lord windemere also rans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 pmb79

The King George and Lexus look like being serious renewals too. There will be a big crowd in Leopardstown on the 28th.