Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poddle Park area - be careful

• 02-12-2015 7:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38

When I was cycling past Poddle park on the Kimmage Road this evening 3 or 4 kids threw a handful of rocks at me, they were hiding in the trees about half way along the park so they could run away on the path that leads through it. No harm done to me as they just hit my side and backpack.

Based on much cackling laughter I heard they were having fun so theres a chance they will do it again, so maybe keep an eye out around that area for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Have you called the guards? I hope noone got hurt. Little bollix...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭jober

Must be a common thing today I got the same cycling down the canal on the way home today near inchicore ,face full of stones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

That's local enough to me. I hope you called the Gardaí. That's dangerous behaviour to say the least.

I experienced similar behaviour coming back from Blessington earlier this year on the bends just before the Jobstown Inn. Little **** flinging large stones at cyclists on the N81. Thankfully they didn't hit me nor did they hit any of the numerous cars that were on the road. I stopped just after the Jobstown Inn and rang Tallaght Garda station who seemed to take my report seriously. It hasn't happened since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

crosstownk wrote: »
    That's local enough to me. I hope you called the Gardaí. That's dangerous behaviour to say the least.

I experienced similar behaviour coming back from Blessington earlier this year on the bends just before the Jobstown Inn. Little **** flinging large stones at cyclists on the N81. Thankfully they didn't hit me nor did they hit any of the numerous cars that were on the road. I stopped just after the Jobstown Inn and rang Tallaght Garda station who seemed to take my report seriously. It hasn't happened since.

Used to happen to the buses on the regular

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭nak

jober wrote: »
    Must be a common thing today I got the same cycling down the canal on the way home today near inchicore ,face full of stones

Happened to me too, was it beside the new flats? I didn't call the gardai as the kid that threw the stones was maybe 5 or 6. Weird one as I doubt they would throw stones if I was walking past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,852 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Used to happen to the buses on the regular

I was on a bus in Killinarden that was stoned. The kid that smashed the side window of the bus was barely more than a toddler. Bus stoning was a pretty frequent occurrence on that route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭onmebike

It's always something that I'd be worried about on a separated cycle path. I love the idea of the grand canal cycle route, but I'd always be worried about lads hiding and not having anywhere to go...or any witnesses.

nak wrote: »
    Happened to me too, was it beside the new flats? I didn't call the gardai as the kid that threw the stones was maybe 5 or 6. Weird one as I doubt they would throw stones if I was walking past.

That's the spot alright ,there was about 8 or 9 kids there at it,I warned a few people coming the opposite direction to be carefull

onmebike wrote: »
    It's always something that I'd be worried about on a separated cycle path. I love the idea of the grand canal cycle route, but I'd always be worried about lads hiding and not having anywhere to go...or any witnesses.

It usually not a bad cycle there apart from the killer swans that attack you in the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

onmebike wrote: »

In an ideal world the project would include a budget for dedicated bicycle Gardai on the path, or even Gardai on motocross bikes. I'm not optimistic though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

hardCopy wrote: »
    In an ideal world the project would include a budget for dedicated bicycle Gardai on the path, or even Gardai on motocross bikes. I'm not optimistic though.

In an ideal world the little cnuts wouldn't be there