Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish drinking

• 30-11-2015 11:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,481 ✭✭✭✭

is it just me or is the the interpretation of irish people drinking non stop, the 'first ones at the pub and the last ones' to leave a load ****e. Americans think were a load of drunks and drink the taps dry every nite, singing irish songs etc.

I say a few american tourists have fallen out of pubs because there great great great great great great great grandfather was from the town and they wanted to honnor him by drinking irish whiskey.

id say eastern europeans can drink serious amount of stuff and be slightly tipsy.

Americans seem to only drink lite beers /bottles in pubs if some american tv shows/movies are anything to go by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

PTH2009 wrote: »
    is it just me or is the the interpretation of irish people drinking non stop, the 'first ones at the pub and the last ones' to leave a load ****e. Americans think were a load of drunks and drink the taps dry every nite, singing irish songs etc.

I say a few american tourists have fallen out of pubs because there great great great great great great great grandfather was from the town and they wanted to honnor him by drinking irish whiskey.

id say eastern europeans can drink serious amount of stuff and be slightly tipsy.

Americans seem to only drink lite beers /bottles in pubs if some american tv shows/movies are anything to go by.

Sick of stereotypes.

*Lashes a load of stereotypes into post to make point.

Good job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Here we just call it 'drinkin''.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Ireland is only different to other EU/EZ area due to terrible licensing laws and operating times and the price of alcohol. All rapped up in a Government acting like the RCC on vice and virtue saying the place would explode if we acted like Germany.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

This just in: different people are able to drink different amounts of alcohol irrespective of their nationality.

In other shocking news: People dislike paying taxes and famous people are treated differently to the rest of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Ireland is only different to other EU/EZ area due to terrible licensing laws and operating times and the price of alcohol. All rapped up in a Government acting like the RCC on vice and virtue saying the place would explode if we acted like Germany.

That's true, usually it was Germany causing places to explode. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Yer Aul One

I know everyone is jumping on the stereotype parade but from my experience, people from outside the british isles are, on majority, more able to regulate their drinking so they are not falling around drunk at their work xmas parties.

Obviously exceptions apply for everything and people pointing that out is as silly as applying stereotypes in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm at MCarran Airport and I'm full as a monkey. Everybody else seems sober enough. Brits and all.

The PA announcer here is definitely Reba McIntyre. I'd put my house on it

Do not look after persons you do not know. Do not look after baggage that is not your own. What a voice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

The Indian and Filipino lads look at me as if I've grown a second head when I tell them I'm not going to Bahrain for the weekend, they get this confused look in their eyes and helplessly murmur "but you're Irish". They tend to walk away before I can upset their world view even more.

I was in a pub in town (Dublin town) on St. Patty's day, in the afternoon. There were a group of american college students beside us. The were playing poker, they mostly seemed like a nice bunch, except one of them. OHMYGOD I WANTED TO STAB HER IN THE EYEBALL WITH A PENCIL. She was loud, and obnoxious, and just horrible, and loud, I remember thinking "I bet they were planning a trip to Ireland and she heard about it and wasn't invited but went (LOUDLY) OH...M...G...Like. Seriously. That is the best idea EVAARR. I can't WAIT to come along."

Aaaanyways. They were playing poker. And she goes. OH MY GOD WE SHOULD PLAY IRISH POKER. IT'S LIKE, WHEN YOU LIKE LOSE, YOU HAVE TO DRINK A SHOT. You could see her friends thinking "Ok, maybe if we get her really drunk she'll fall asleep in a corner somewhere and shut the fcuk up". So in the end, the drunkest person in the pub, was an american, playing Irish poker.

I clearly didn't realise how much built up anger I had towards her >.>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I was in a pub in town (Dublin town) on St. Patty's day, in the afternoon. There were a group of american college students beside us. The were playing poker, they mostly seemed like a nice bunch, except one of them. OHMYGOD I WANTED TO STAB HER IN THE EYEBALL WITH A PENCIL. She was loud, and obnoxious, and just horrible, and loud, I remember thinking "I bet they were planning a trip to Ireland and she heard about it and wasn't invited but went (LOUDLY) OH...M...G...Like. Seriously. That is the best idea EVAARR. I can't WAIT to come along."

Aaaanyways. They were playing poker. And she goes. OH MY GOD WE SHOULD PLAY IRISH POKER. IT'S LIKE, WHEN YOU LIKE LOSE, YOU HAVE TO DRINK A SHOT. You could see her friends thinking "Ok, maybe if we get her really drunk she'll fall asleep in a corner somewhere and shut the fcuk up". So in the end, the drunkest person in the pub, was an american, playing Irish poker.

I clearly didn't realise how much built up anger I had towards her >.>

Stopped readding at "St Patty's Day".

What Irish person calls it that?

murpho999 wrote: »
    Stopped readding at "St Patty's Day".

What Irish person calls it that?

It was a story about Americans.

Bet you didn't stop reading there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

You need to compare and contrast the, for example, East Texas interpretation with that commonly found in the Valley area of California. "Oh. My. GOD!! I've had two beers, where's my therapist!!" :pac:

And aside from knob students doing their "Totes Trolleyed And Having Bants!!" thing I don't think the Irish in general are as much martyrs for the porter as they used to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I was in Germany two weeks ago. Stayed at a hotel in a small town (about 10,000 people).

The bar shut at 11pm on Saturday night. When we got back to the hotel on Sunday night it was 8pm. The bar was closed by then too.

Is this normal for Germany?

Having said that, they had some really good deals in the shops for takeaway booze. Very good quality beer for about €10 (24 x 500ml bottles).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭random_guy

BattleCorp wrote: »
    I was in Germany two weeks ago. Stayed at a hotel in a small town (about 10,000 people).

The bar shut at 11pm on Saturday night. When we got back to the hotel on Sunday night it was 8pm. The bar was closed by then too.

Having said that, they had some really good deals in the shops for takeaway booze. Very good quality beer for about €10 (24 x 500ml bottles).

Depends on the town to be honest.
    Sometimes yes, sometimes no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,039 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Possible, yes.

A town of 20,000 here might have later bars and 2 niteclubs.

In Germany, you might have to look hard for a late bar in a town with similar population.

They drink much more at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,481 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

There is an Irish band that tours America called Celtic Thunder founded by Phil coulter and they make millions because of the Irish appeal. At one point one of the members was only 14 years of age

They sell out American arenas and even done a cruise and yet they don't play Ireland

Check them out on YouTube or spotify

They send out a positive Irish stereotype

The bar was closed by then too.

Well that is one of the charms of germany I think - and of open drink laws. One of my girlfriends is a translator and so we have spent quite some time in Germany. Big cities and small towns.

And it seems most places can simply shut when they like. And most people tend to shut their establishment at the time they are used to shutting it at. So if you go into a small town where most people are in bed by 10 - the locals tend to reflect that.

But I remember a time when I was in a small pub in a small town in bavaria - and it just so happened that an old friend of mine had travel plans that over lapped with that.

After ordering a few rounds I turned to the server and asked "when do you close" - and the reply was "Oh normally we would have been closed 2 hours ago - we just decided to stay open given how much you two have been drinking"

In my experience letting bars and clubs close when they want - rather than giving them a set early - or late - but fixed closing time - is generally the way to go. I think ultimately it would work in Ireland and England too. My main concern is the carnage that would be the transition period between now and then :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I tried to get others to join me in giving it up once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Geuze wrote: »
    Possible, yes.

A town of 20,000 here might have later bars and 2 niteclubs.

In Germany, you might have to look hard for a late bar in a town with similar population.

They drink much more at home.

Not really. Not the way people do here, anyway. But they do tend to start an evening a lot earlier. If you meet up for friends for an evening, you'd meet between 7pm and 8pm. 6pm if you're having a meal. So by 11pm, you've usually said all you wanted and heard all you wanted, so pubs closing at that time seems reasonable to most people. ;)

In my experience letting bars and clubs close when they want - rather than giving them a set early - or late - but fixed closing time - is generally the way to go. I think ultimately it would work in Ireland and England too. My main concern is the carnage that would be the transition period between now and then :)

In Germany, closing times differ from town to town, though. Some town councils will allow pubs and restaurants to close when they like, but some have imposed relatively strict laws.
    The town I'm from (70k inhabitants) forces pubs to close at 10pm on week nights, and midnight on Fridays and Saturdays.
    Berlin, on the other hand, has decided to not impose any closing times as far as I know. As has a small town not too far from my home town, which only has around 15k inhabitants, so they're drawing quite a bit of business in that way.
    Villages usually don't impose closing times at all, so that's where you'll find most nightclubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Shenshen wrote: »
    In Germany, closing times differ from town to town, though. Some town councils will allow pubs and restaurants to close when they like, but some have imposed relatively strict laws.
    The town I'm from (70k inhabitants) forces pubs to close at 10pm on week nights, and midnight on Fridays and Saturdays.
    Berlin, on the other hand, has decided to not impose any closing times as far as I know. As has a small town not too far from my home town, which only has around 15k inhabitants, so they're drawing quite a bit of business in that way.
    Villages usually don't impose closing times at all, so that's where you'll find most nightclubs.

Yeah I noticed this in Heidelberg couldnt get a drink anywhere after 12, but in Berlin, myself and the lads left the nightclub around 5.30am and the place was sill open!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

Honestly I have been out in plenty of european cities and I have seen loads of bladdered people late in the evening. Its not exclusively an Irish thing. I would say we are bad for doing it frequently though, like every weekend without fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭caille

You are right there, imitation, but, I don't know, there is something different about Irish drinking here and getting bladdered that makes me personally very uncomfortable.

I love a few drinks (a few glasses of wine or a few pints) but I have never been into getting really drunk, never been my thing. And I have always been harassed here about it (even by relatives and family). Like, wtf, I'm actually drinking but I am just not drinking enough or fast enough for them!!??! I refuse to drink more than I want to and it just goes down like a lead balloon.

However, when I have been abroad and out with friends and relatives who are not Irish (relatives are Irish-American and Italian-American), they completely accept my drinking even if they are getting plastered. I have never had drink forced on me, been called a dry ****e, told to hurry up with my pint etc. Not once! So I definitely think there is something very wrong in in Irish culture and drinking.

I am nearly 40 now and I have experienced this all the time, so nothing has changed in over 20 years. I am only comfortable now really going for a drink with my husband or the friends I have who drink like myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Ireland has more drunks per capita than people.

Could the main difference be that drinking in Ireland is done with the aim of getting drunk quickly, whereas in many other countries the socialising aspect and the taste of the drink is much more in the foreground?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Figbiscuithead

Apparently Southern European countries drink more than us per capita. I found a map similar to this a while ago...

http://www.indexmundi.com/blog/index.php/2013/04/29/alcohol-consumption-per-capita-by-country/

I think it's simply the case that we drink fast to get drunk in a shorter period of time whereas in Southern European, they pace themselves and do it throughout the day as well and eat while on the go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Figbiscuithead

Shenshen wrote: »
    Could the main difference be that drinking in Ireland is done with the aim of getting drunk quickly, whereas in many other countries the socialising aspect and the taste of the drink is much more in the foreground?

I'd say that's exactly it. We don't take eating as seriously as other countries, I don't think.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

This stereotype annoys me. Maybe it's my buzz from my breakfast beers wearing off and I'm getting grumpy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭caille

Well said, Shenshan, that's what I think it is, I feel I can be myself completely when out abroad and drink whatever I want, whereas in Ireland, no way, the antibiotics/feeling unwell/TOM(!!) excuses have had to be used when I'm out and sometimes now, I just don't go out particularly when its being advertised that everyone is on the lash tonight, Jesus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 FluffyMcCardy

The reality is that we Irish as a nation drink too much. That's an inescapable reality. Us and the British. But for some reason they've escaped the stereotype.

We have an unhealthy relationship with drink. The only way to change that is to change the culture which isn't going to happen soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

The reality is that we Irish as a nation drink too much. That's an inescapable reality. Us and the British. But for some reason they've escaped the stereotype.

We have an unhealthy relationship with drink. The only way to change that is to change the culture which isn't going to happen soon.

I'm not sure they've escaped it, the Lairy Violent Drunk Brit is a fairly recognised stereotype in Europe. However, they don't embrace the stereotype like Irish people seem to do: "Look how much I'm drinking! I'm mad and I'm Irish and I'm great craic! Do you dare me to drink that? Do you like me yet? Did I mention I'm Irish and maaaaaaaaaaaad'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

caille wrote: »
    I love a few drinks (a few glasses of wine or a few pints) but I have never been into getting really drunk, never been my thing. And I have always been harassed here about it (even by relatives and family). Like, wtf, I'm actually drinking but I am just not drinking enough or fast enough for them!!??!

Yep, I've found its often the case that if you only have a few then you're an even bigger dry shyte than if you don't drink at all.