Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas in a few years

• 26-11-2015 10:45PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭

Given the fact that so many people I talk to seem to be only getting/giving money for Christmas, the push to usher in the cashless society and the relentless pursuit of automation by an increasingly lazy populace here is what I predict Christmas to be like in a few years. In fact for some people are already celebrating Christmas in the way that I predict, but without the app. I am tempted to write this app myself as it's only a matter of time.

1) Gifts, instead of under the tree are given by bank transfer. People get sick of returning stuff and the hassle of ordering online

2) An app will appear that lets you organise a whole bunch of bank transfers for Christmas day (banks will soon process these on Christmas day as well)

3) Nobody aint got time for checking who these transfers came from, the app will match them up with your phone contacts.

4) People will get tired of manually selecting people to transfer money to and typing in the amount, app will show you commonly used contacts and offer common amounts for each one.

5) Instead of long lists of contacts the next version of the app just shows one number
    "You made €16.34 from Christmas this year"
    Parents, on the other hand will be used to seeing negative numbers upwards of a grand here. The breakdown of where the money went/came from will be hidden in some submenu

6) The people who made a profit from Christmas will have a wishlist saved, the app will order the most expensive presents it can afford from the Christmas profit and they'll be delivered by drone

7) People get tired of deciding who they'll transfer money to and will just give the app a budget. It will decide who to give money to and the amounts according to a combination of last year's figures, who they contact most frequently and how active that person was in liking the giver's posts on social media.

8) People who make a few too many consecutive losses with this app will get irate and uninstall it, instead donating their annual budget to the local cat rescue or a charity for bringing goats to Zambia

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

**** off to the Christmas Forum with your hard on and that shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

You got something s**t for Christmas last year I'm guessing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Your concept of Christmas is very different to mine.

Feck off with your presents, it is all about seeing family and friends.

Especially for those who may not have the chance to very often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭matchthis

LOUD NOISES

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Dave0301 wrote: »
    Your concept of Christmas is very different to mine.

Feck off with your presents, it is all about seeing family and friends.

Especially for those who may not have the chance to very often.

I concur, but the consumerist element rages on for many. I am only wanting to make it easier for them to wean off presents because only the people who make a profit from Christmas will get presents if my app becomes popular

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,742 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Given the fact that so many people I talk to seem to be only getting/giving money for Christmas, the push to usher in the cashless society and the relentless pursuit of automation by an increasingly lazy populace here is what I predict Christmas to be like in a few years. In fact for some people are already celebrating Christmas in the way that I predict, but without the app. I am tempted to write this app myself as it's only a matter of time.

1) Gifts, instead of under the tree are given by bank transfer. People get sick of returning stuff and the hassle of ordering online

2) An app will appear that lets you organise a whole bunch of bank transfers for Christmas day (banks will soon process these on Christmas day as well)

3) Nobody aint got time for checking who these transfers came from, the app will match them up with your phone contacts.

4) People will get tired of manually selecting people to transfer money to and typing in the amount, app will show you commonly used contacts and offer common amounts for each one.

5) Instead of long lists of contacts the next version of the app just shows one number
    "You made €16.34 from Christmas this year"
    Parents, on the other hand will be used to seeing negative numbers upwards of a grand here. The breakdown of where the money went/came from will be hidden in some submenu

6) The people who made a profit from Christmas will have a wishlist saved, the app will order the most expensive presents it can afford from the Christmas profit and they'll be delivered by drone

7) People get tired of deciding who they'll transfer money to and will just give the app a budget. It will decide who to give money to and the amounts according to a combination of last year's figures, who they contact most frequently and how active that person was in liking the giver's posts on social media.

8) People who make a few too many consecutive losses with this app will get irate and uninstall it, instead donating their annual budget to the local cat rescue or a charity for bringing goats to Zambia

This is a first.

Asking for the Cliffs of bullet points...