Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the suss? (Gus)

• 26-11-2015 12:35am
    Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,225 Mod ✭✭✭✭

And other obsolete slang you don't really hear much these days.

Does anyone still say 'get your shift'?
    I still say something or someone is sound but we used to say 'sound as a round pound you found on the ground'.
    Not heard anyone say anything was gas in a while.
    Going for a slash is another rare one.

Any from your area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Stall it.. "Stall it over ere". Not heard that one in a long time! (Thank f*ck) :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

'Hop on the bus, Gus' I've heard alright. Must have been some junkie somewhere.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,225 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

'Hop on the bus, Gus' I've heard alright. Must have been some junkie somewhere.

It's a Paul Simon lyric. Not so sure he is/was a junkie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

'Sound as a pound on a merry go round'
    'Whats going down'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

iamstop wrote: »
    It's a Paul Simon lyric. Not so sure he is/was a junkie.

Can you explain another reason why someone called Paul would ask people to call him Al?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭Totofan99

Can you explain another reason why someone called Paul would ask people to call him Al?

From Wikipedia:
    The names in the song came from an incident at a party that Simon went to with his then-wife Peggy Harper. French composer and conductor Pierre Boulez, who was attending the same party, mistakenly referred to Paul as "Al" and to Peggy as "Betty", inspiring Simon to write a song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

yonks
    been yonks since someone has said yonks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Sketch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

When we were younger, we never said "shift" or "snog". We would say "meet" so if Jane kissed John we would say "Jane met John". If she was seeing him then we would say "Jane is meeting John".

'Yer one is bleeding wet' indicating whether the indicated woman is attractive or not, haven't heard that in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

Doing a line with someone.
    Different meaning these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭The Mulk

"Ye little rooster"
    "Ye mad spoon"
    "Get out that garden"

Mostly late 90's early 00's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,809 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Is that the lamb chop without the burlesque sauce.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

"Any spons?" Can I borrow some money please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

"Got any odds?" - any spare change?
    "Rapid/Rappeh" - rather excellent
    "bet down" - Ugly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,736 ✭✭✭brevity

Rehab

"Shut up you rehab"

Don't really hear it any more. I think it has been replaced by retard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

Get outta that garden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

Get up the yard, there's a smell of Benjy of ya.....

Stall it.. "Stall it over ere". Not heard that one in a long time! (Thank f*ck) :P

I actually heard this yesterday for the first time in years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

"would you like me to lift my bag so you can sit down on the train/bus"

Scaldy

Big fcukin scaldy head on yer man
    Jesus that car is bleedin' scaldy

Scaldy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I still say slash sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

Is that you Axl?? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Jilty, as in something was rather good.

That was jilty out boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Grushie, then a Geansaí load of kids Pile up to get yer Odds

21/25

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,771 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Are ye wide?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,742 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

humberklog wrote: »
    Are ye wide?

Gates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,742 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Sickener.

Raaaagin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

I hear pretty much everything that's been said here on a regular basis...except shift I think that's a bogger term

Morto
    Scarlett
    both meaning embarrassed or embarrassing.

"Johno just gev Fredzer a rasher!"
    John took the sharp side of a ruler and skimmed it off Fred's arse while he wasn't looking.
    Metal rulers left a right sting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

uch wrote: »
    Grushie, then a Geansaí load of kids Pile up to get yer Odds

Its a gushie, not a grushie!!

Bags the arse of that can!

What you would say if you want someone to leave you a mouthful or two from a can of coke or beer or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

That particular word is still one I use frequently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,565 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

humberklog wrote: »
    Are ye wide?
    Are you Douglas Hyde? Malahide?
    Get the boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

I used to think that meant following the person very slowly, i.e. stalling.

"Can we not just walk at our regular pace?"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭chillin117

I miss Hippie talk/slang. If you had a chick, some bread (money) and a place to hang out then things were Really Mellow.
    Make Tracks (Split)....To Leave,
    Old Lady....Mother, Wife, Girlfriend.
    Far Out....Good, Cool Etc
    Nobody calls anyone ''Man'' anymore....Sad !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Scaldy

Big fcukin scaldy head on yer man
    Jesus that car is bleedin' scaldy

Scaldy
    My friends and I would use the word sclady on a daily basis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,909 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

A lad I used to know got the nickname 'Stall' because he used it so often, after escaping Dublin to live in my town. It wasn't used here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Dramatik

Jamaroochi.
    "Ye, just got here now, this place is bleedin' jamaroochi" - This place is very busy, there are a lot of people in this area.

Ston.
    "Gis a ston off dat" - Can I please have some of that, usually referring to a joint or can of cider.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Now she's suckin diesel

How's she cuttin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    I hear pretty much everything that's been said here on a regular basis...except shift I think that's a bogger term

Yeah, I hear almost all of them every day. All that dub slang is still used by chungwans and chungfeddas.

Rehab has become 'ya bleedin' handicap'. Much classier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 quarefarmers

Any yokes?
    Would you have any MDMA in tablet form that I could purchase from you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭chillin117

Any yokes?
    Would you have any MDMA in tablet form that I could purchase from you
    Ya Lookin ? I have some MDMA in tablet form that I am willing to sell to you !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Dramatik wrote: »
    Ston.
    "Gis a ston off dat" - Can I please have some of that, usually referring to a joint or can of cider.
    I understood "ston" to be short of "next on that" and said as "ston that" or just someone would say "ston it" if someone else looked like they were going to go for it next.

KungPao wrote: »
    "Got any odds?" - any spare change?
    If you said no some scumbags would say "fair search" meaning they actually wanted to search your pockets for smokes of money. An old term for scumbags like this was "flecks".

Hash was called "5 spot" or "a 10 spot" meaning a fiver or tenners worth.

iamstop wrote: »
    Morto
    Scarlett
    both meaning embarrassed or embarrassing.

"Johno just gev Fredzer a rasher!"
    John took the sharp side of a ruler and skimmed it off Fred's arse while he wasn't looking.
    Metal rulers left a right sting.

Sure I hear scarlett being used in that context all the time :p