Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New ESB connection

• 25-11-2015 2:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭

anyone know how much they were charged for there last ESB connection

Online they calculate the cost as 50% design cost. My shed is 20Meters from the nearest pole and I have the ducting buried in the ground at 600mm

Single phase with meter.

A domestic 12kv supple is now €1,975 up from €1500 approx. in October 2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

anyone know how much they were charged for there last ESB connection

Online they calculate the cost as 50% design cost. My shed is 20Meters from the nearest pole and I have the ducting buried in the ground at 600mm

Single phase with meter.

A domestic 12kv supple is now €1,975 up from €1500 approx. in October 2015

I think I paid around €1800 about 2 1/2 years ago. Needed three poles with that though so son't know how that may impact the overall price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Think there's a minimum charge of 1800.
    Make sure you have a rope in the duct and warning tape over it or they won't connect you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

td5man wrote: »
    Think there's a minimum charge of 1800.
    Make sure you have a rope in the duct and warning tape over it or they won't connect you.

trench is still open.

Plan on getting cobra reel to run the rope through it .

Is it black and yellow or red and white warning tape?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

trench is still open.

This is one tough job, I used bull wire meself over 60 yards a few years ago to push rope through. it was some craic.
    Theres an exact protocol to be followed where you get your electrician to sign off that you have done all the prep, he installs an agri cabinet box at location of thier choice etc etc. They are very strict on spec, and will just walk away if everything is not done perfectly. why not go for a 3kva connection lakill, it might be cheaper and will do grand for lights and the old powerwasher.

trench is still open.

Leads weight on a builders line before you bury it.
    Yellow and black electric cable /esb cable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Parishlad wrote: »
    I think I paid around €1800 about 2 1/2 years ago. Needed three poles with that though so son't know how that may impact the overall price.

Paid exactly the same 3 years ago.

td5man wrote: »
    Leads weight on a builders line before you bury it.
    Yellow and black electric cable /esb cable.

Yellow and black tape

Nettleman wrote: »
    This is one tough job, I used bull wire meself over 60 yards a few years ago to push rope through. it was some craic.
    Theres an exact protocol to be followed where you get your electrician to sign off that you have done all the prep, he installs an agri cabinet box at location of thier choice etc etc. They are very strict on spec, and will just walk away if everything is not done perfectly. why not go for a 3kva connection lakill, it might be cheaper and will do grand for lights and the old powerwasher.

need more than 3kv

cobra reel is a great job. used it to run cat10 and power cables to the gates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

trench is still open.

Connect domestic hoover one side with silage tape.
    And lenght of builders line with light plastic shopping bag tied on,and the hoover will suck it through.
    I've seen it work up to 700 meters and no sweat lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

farm 29kva 3300inc vat
    domestic 16kva 2400inc vat
    both last 3 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Grueller

Shove a 10mm rope into one end of the duct. Make sure the rope can run freely off of the reel/coil of rope.
    At the other end seal in the pipe of a good domestic hoover. This needs to be as airtight as possible. Turn on the hoover and the rope should run no problem. I have tried it twice and it has worked both times.

ye 16kv domestic is €1975 incl vat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

Could an ESB connection for a well be used to provide a few sockets for a small shed? (Light and the odd power tool?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭DirtyDiesels

paid 1800 in september, heard it went up 300 mid october for a 12kva agri connection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

worth pricing up a three-phase connection while yer at it - kind of thing you are better off looking at than looking for

same cost per unit afaik

you'd often get a good few tools, fans etc etc handy that are three-phase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 west79

I got my sheds connected about a month ago. The pole and transformer was about 30 meters away. Connection fee was €215.65

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

gctest50 wrote: »
    worth pricing up a three-phase connection while yer at it - kind of thing you are better off looking at than looking for

same cost per unit afaik

you'd often get a good few tools, fans etc etc handy that are three-phase

Local man enquired about the 3 phase lately as his supply is poor and wants to expand the parlour. As the nearest 3 ph line is over 2 miles away he was qouted in the region of €52K. They wont provide it unless you can justify your need for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭anfieldrd

Local man enquired about the 3 phase lately as his supply is poor and wants to expand the parlour. As the nearest 3 ph line is over 2 miles away he was qouted in the region of €52K. They wont provide it unless you can justify your need for it.

Looking at 3 phase for new parlour build for simple reason the nearest pole and line is 50 yards away but nearest transformer is about 300 yards away. You wouldn't be talking €52k for that distance but would it be nice to have it for the future if need be, if the price wasn't outrageous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

anfieldrd wrote: »
    Looking at 3 phase for new parlour build for simple reason the nearest pole and line is 50 yards away but nearest transformer is about 300 yards away. You wouldn't be talking €52k for that distance but would it be nice to have it for the future if need be, if the price wasn't outrageous.

Got 3 phase here for 4k, line passing by parlour. Replaced our own single phase transformer with a 3 phase one. Had to put up a new pole for transformer as old pole was two close to parlour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Milked out wrote: »
    Got 3 phase here for 4k, line passing by parlour. Replaced our own single phase transformer with a 3 phase one. Had to put up a new pole for transformer as old pole was two close to parlour.

Simillar here about 5 years ago ,3 phase in ,my own 50 kva transformer .including meter box ,ducting upgrade work to my own fuse board etc and esb work 4500 ..money v well spent

Milked out wrote:

That doesn't sound bad now, the single phase transformer is I suppose 300 yards away again, service pole in the yard then for the parlour at the minute so not sure what way it would work. ESB man supposed to call out soon enough to see what the best option would be.

anfieldrd wrote: »
    That doesn't sound bad now, the single phase transformer is I suppose 300 yards away again, service pole in the yard then for the parlour at the minute so not sure what way it would work. ESB man supposed to call out soon enough to see what the best option would be.

May be no harm to ask about a quote for the highest single phase you could get with a ct metre, i think thats what its called, electrician said lads that cant afford cost of 3 phase when too far from the line use that for more power. It would have been around 1500 cheaper but 3 phase was still the better option.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Simillar here about 5 years ago ,3 phase in ,my own 50 kva transformer .including meter box ,ducting upgrade work to my own fuse board etc and esb work 4500 ..money v well spent

Yeah makes sense going forward really. Unfortunately getting in the power will b e the cheapest part for me, power here comes into parlour then out to dwelling house and them thru to yard so will have a bit wiring to.do yet. With cable going to house too small. Parlour done so may work on the rest next year. Its gas how things change tho the father remembers the electricity coming to the place here and said the grandmother spent the next week scrubbing the house after lights were switched on as by candlelight she thought the place was spotless only for the bulbs to show her otherwise.

Milked out wrote:
    May be no harm to ask about a quote for the highest single phase you could get with a ct metre, i think thats what its called, electrician said lads that cant afford cost of 3 phase when too far from the line use that for more power. It would have been around 1500 cheaper but 3 phase was still the better option.

Got a quote of €2500 for the 3 phase, the higher single phase was coming in between 1800 and 2000 so it's a no brainer. Expected it to be much higher so happy enough.