Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liability: EV Charging cable

• 24-11-2015 9:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭

I'm just opening this thread in reference to the question which was posted by a user in repsonse to the image of the i3 charging and it's pretty badly placed cable of the footpath.
    Spotted one the other day too.
    IMG_20151120_142518.jpg
    what would be the outcome if a child or an old person or a visually impaired person tripped over one of those charging cables. The one on the i3 is all over the gaff.

Can anyone answer the question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

There is a slight pattern in the footpath. If it was better highlighted you might possibly consider it a zone of some sort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Things are obviously different now, but if I tripped over that as a child my dad would tell me that hopefully i've learned my lesson and that I should watch where i'm going in future, possibly have to apologise to the car owner too :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Can't see the fuel flap type thing lasting too long in a city centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Speculating but I'd you would have to prove negligence on someone's part. The car owner should have taken reasonable measures to not impede the footpath by keeping the cable out of the way of a passing pedestrian. The pedestrian can also be proven to be negligent if for example there was a sign e.g. Slippery Floor, Beware Charging Cables and they ignored it etc. Each would have to prove they made best effort to avoid the situation and it was the fault of the other.

In this example, there doesn't seem to be anywhere to coil their cable, so you could probably impart some blame on the supplier of the charging unit / the council for the design of the area and some blame on the car owner for not being careful enough in lieu of this. That said, its not a good idea to coil electrical cables (Not such a big deal here as its not AC Current) There also doesn't seem to be a warning for the pedestrian of the potential dangers. We really do live in a litigious and cotton wool society at times :(

Suppose another good question is where can you toss the spare or excess cable to keep it out of the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭ofcork

Down the side by the kerb/under the car would keep it out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If someone tripped over the cable they'd probably fall over, get up, swear and carry on.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Could they not have kicked the cable down under the car? Pure lazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

On the other hand, this is Ireland, there are probably people hot footing it to this location as we speak, with the sole intention of finding that cable and tripping over it. Whose fault it is will be sorted out by the solicitor handling the claim...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Will they sue the post office too when they happen to walk into a postbox? Lamp post? Bruscar box?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

biko wrote: »
    If someone tripped over the cable they'd probably fall over, get up, swear and carry on.

Claims of whiplash, back pain, sleepless nights, loss of earnings, etc. Free money would be too hard to turn down.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

If I can't sleep over seeing that photo, do you think I'd get something out of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Some unruly youth would probably upload a video of them falling to Youtub for us all to enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

Can anyone direct me to this location and provide me with the name of a good 'no win no fee' lawyer please....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Things are obviously different now, but if I tripped over that as a child my dad would tell me that hopefully i've learned my lesson and that I should watch where i'm going in future, possibly have to apologise to the car owner too :pac:

Or if you were an obnoxious little cnut like me the yoke would be plugged out..:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

id be purposely looking out for them, handy 100k to be collected :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

id be purposely looking out for them, handy 100k to be collected :cool:

You could buy a proper Jag then..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

This is open for a fraudulent claim no doubt, but what about a genuine fall,visually impaired /blind person. The bollix in the i3could have easily fed the cable behind the near side wheels. Laziness at its best.